Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
siaukia
Oct 5 2009, 12:54 AM
i'm looking forward to purchase a new 15" mbp soon, you think it's a good time? should i wait? and on the other hand, what shop do you guys recommend for my purchase?
my first purchase on my mb is at the shop @ ikano, since during that time i still remember whole msia out of stock during cny hahaha
siaukia
Oct 5 2009, 08:33 AM
well thanks but it certainly would be fking frustrating if the update is more than software based, if its software based then we can easily change it, but if it's like hardware jump.... power pc --> intel this 1 i think sure throw the mb from 9th floor
siaukia
Oct 5 2009, 09:47 AM
well, i never fancy the design since i have always preferred the older titanium-ish look. but well looking at this, i can hold off until early of nov to see if there is any refresh on the mbp line.
But of course, there's been a heavy speculation on refresh for mb, new look?
siaukia
Oct 5 2009, 05:04 PM
well that's pretty cool discussion we had here, it'll be either this week or 2 week later i'll get it then  though i'm still pretty skeptical about the corei7 damn
siaukia
Oct 16 2009, 08:42 AM
woo hoo got my 15" 2.8mbp yesterday while shopping with my gf  the screen's friggin big, got used to my white mb already. did some 144mb update, took quite long on the rm66 package stimx found out it's really stupid that you need to logout/login to enable performance mode while adapter is plugged in.
siaukia
Oct 20 2009, 11:40 AM
was trying out dota with my mbp yesterady, the palm rest got so fooking hot after a while sigh. and it's only 1 session
siaukia
Oct 20 2009, 02:17 PM
that means there is no way to overcome this without any 3rd party cooling?
siaukia
Mar 29 2010, 04:11 PM
hmm, what is the max ram i can upgrade for my mbp 15" ?? currently i have 4gb in the machine
siaukia
Mar 29 2010, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Mar 29 2010, 04:20 PM) Which model? There are easily 7 revision of MBP 15". end-2009 models lol i didn't know there's so many revision
siaukia
Mar 29 2010, 06:38 PM
sigh, i realized that in order to upgrade to 8gb ram, i need to “throw” away the stock 2gb x 2 since there's only 2 slot
siaukia
Mar 29 2010, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Mar 29 2010, 07:53 PM) Don't forget 4GB stick is ain't cheap. But it's cheaper already, used to be RM1k+  well yeah, if I’m convinced that if 8gb ram performance is much better than 4gb, with the right price, would sell it off but it seems like on snow leopard, even on this machine, i didn't really feel as if i'm on a high end machine, at certain point, running more than 2 - 3 programs, it'll start to be sluggish already
siaukia
Mar 29 2010, 10:55 PM
firefox and itunes, even on idle with 3 tabs, 28 threads?
siaukia
Apr 8 2010, 09:58 PM
eh eh, want to ask if you guys know whats wrong with my macbook? (early 2006) it keeps shutting down without reason suddenly
since around end of last year, been using it as a cpu only (connecting the macbook to an external monitor, the macbook itself is closed) what's happening ar? I tried opening the top case and flow away the dust, after a while the problem came back again.
at first i suspected it would be the snowleopard causing the problem since the macbook runs fine on leopard without any hiccup at all. any suggestions?
siaukia
Apr 8 2010, 10:26 PM
thanks for the suggestion, will try it later since have not tried looking at istat yet
but any other reason? i had changed the 'bengkak' battery last few month also.
siaukia
Apr 10 2010, 01:41 AM
Hi there, did some test using istat as suggested, seems like the fan kaput?
When starting up for 1 minute 9:12PM [attachmentid=1520193] [attachmentid=1520196]
After running disk utility 9:38PM [attachmentid=1520198] [attachmentid=1520200]
Do you think I can get it fixed with a fee at apple shop like machines? the acpp gone case
Added on April 10, 2010, 1:42 amand yes, the macbook did shutdown by itself after a while
This post has been edited by siaukia: Apr 10 2010, 01:42 AM
siaukia
Apr 10 2010, 11:22 AM
wowdamn, thanks man, i still dare to open it up for few times, almost roast the procs