129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

aizad02
post Aug 13 2009, 09:20 AM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

just an add up to shoguniphicus reply. IMO, if u're into designing and printing it's better to get an imac.but if mobility is ur big concern,perhaps a 13" would be better,coz for 15" the prob is,first the weight.second is the size itself.if u're looking to use a dual screen with an lcd screen,what's important is the max resolution ur mac can go to.that will determine the quality of the picture on the lcd later on.btw, my personal opinion,9400m already enuff for normal use,unless u're going to use ur mac for video editting, then will u need the 9600gt.
daydreaming
post Aug 13 2009, 09:40 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:20 AM)
Thanks aizad. the reason I'm going for macbook is because i don have a laptop (after changing company. LOL). Imac is good but it's due for a refresh soon. These 2 reasons made me opt for mbp smile.gif

i actually haven't try 9400 before but my current desktop pc (4 yrs old), i'm using it only for GIMP. but of coz, when starcraft II comes out, would love to play it on the mac. :| that's about it. no video editing for me jst yet.

for the ext display resolution, apple says 9400 can go up to 2560 by 1600 which is way sufficient for me.

so conclusion, i plan to use it for
----> software development (no database/server intensive stuff), simple animation (flash. i'm a flex fella), digital painting and comics, business stuff (iwork / ms office) and starcraft II (this one, i've been waiting for many years even though i'm not a pc gamer anymore).

that's all tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Aug 13 2009, 10:25 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i second that the 9400M can handle the tasks u wanna do. abt starcraft2... so far blizzard always launch games that scale to slower hardware well, so no worries.

the applecare warranty you can get it anytime within the 1st year of ur mac, so u can save up on that later. i hope the difference of rm400 isn't that hard to save up in 12 months.

also, factor in some money to spend on protection accessories n such
daydreaming
post Aug 13 2009, 10:37 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 13 2009, 10:25 AM)
i second that the 9400M can handle the tasks u wanna do. abt starcraft2... so far blizzard always launch games that scale to slower hardware well, so no worries.

the applecare warranty you can get it anytime within the 1st year of ur mac, so u can save up on that later. i hope the difference of rm400 isn't that hard to save up in 12 months.

also, factor in some money to spend on protection accessories n such
the apple care for 13 inch is RM 800+ and 15 inch is RM 1100+. Only Imac is RM 400-500+.
protection accessories? u mean like sleeve, keyboard protector etc?

i plan to get lcd, wireless keyboard and mouse and the DVI port.
llsphinxll
post Aug 13 2009, 11:49 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

whoa bro. firstly congratulation on making your first step into the mac world. biggrin.gif haha.
if you were to ask me i think you shud get the 15" mbp. mayb even the entry level of the 15" bcos like you said, you dont need a dedicated graphic card.

it might b abit more expensive than the 13" one but its one go. and you can enjoy 15" for the whole time you use the mbp. rather than havin the 13" and den after using it for awhile, you wanna add another lcd. that wud pretty much sum up to the same thing.

oh well, just my opinion. cheers! biggrin.gif
daydreaming
post Aug 13 2009, 11:56 AM

555 posts

actually my main concern is the apple care price. 800 vs 1200. thats quite a big difference u know. the 400 extra can actually be used for a new lcd
Masamune
post Aug 13 2009, 11:59 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

I pair my 13" MB with a Dell 22 inch monitor..
It also depends on the type of monitor u pair with..
My dell is a IPS Panel so the colour and quality is great..
Just my 2 cents..
shoguniphicus
post Aug 13 2009, 12:04 PM

428 posts

@daydreaming,
You are a Flex developer? Hey, I am as well! For programming, I love big screen! Big screens means easier debugging and coding.
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2009, 12:06 PM

2,642 posts

if you're designer, serious about your job, Eizo LCD is way to go
else get 15" MBP without the front reflector glass, the color will be very nice then

Added on August 13, 2009, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 12 2009, 12:21 PM)
Hmm...matte display?

I am wondering, will it affects the quality of the image? Better? Same?

Check this out:

http://store.apple.com/my/configure/MB986ZP/A?mco=NjcxMTU2MA

MacBook Pro 15-inch Antiglare Widescreen Display [Add RM 184.00]
it's better, less reflection, as i see on my fren 17 MBP

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Aug 13 2009, 12:08 PM
shoguniphicus
post Aug 13 2009, 12:43 PM

428 posts

Yes, get Matte display if your living area/working place has some lights that are wrongly placed. It will create quite an annoyance when the glossy screen reflects even the tiniest light.

Still, if you have a room with correctly placed lights and ambient lighting. No problem.

Added on August 13, 2009, 12:46 pmToo bad they are now charging extra for the Matte. When I bought mine, it came with no extra charge.

This post has been edited by shoguniphicus: Aug 13 2009, 12:46 PM
th3_glove20
post Aug 13 2009, 01:05 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 13 2009, 01:16 AM)
at home, plug.. outside, fully on battery.. there's no point leaving the power on whole night if the battery is full. i believe it wont charged.
me too home-plug all the time when im out full batt...
but my main concern is if i leave the power off at nite, when the next day i power on the MBP will be 99% and it will auto charge again...in other words the batt is charging again n again without using it...
*sori if my description isn't too good* flex.gif
daydreaming
post Aug 13 2009, 01:34 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Aug 13 2009, 12:04 PM)
@daydreaming,
You are a Flex developer? Hey, I am as well! For programming, I love big screen! Big screens means easier debugging and coding.
yeap yeap. but its for fun only. i did it once in a proof-of-concept to demo to client. thats it. tongue.gif not many companies dare to use it, not in corporate world. it's fun.

and i understand big screen = good. for drawing purpose, it's even better with big screen smile.gif

actually i more or less have decided on mbp 13 5.5k version due to few reasons:
- cheaper apple care (rm400 cheaper)
- i don need discrete card (yet)
- i plan to use an external lcd (even though i got very limited desk space in my room). so even 15 inch, i might still got ext. might as well save it.

so i can save up the money to get wireless keyboard, might mouse (from lelong maybe) and a good lcd monitor.

but hor, which LCD is good for MBP? any discussion topic? i din buy pc for 4-5 yrs already, kinda outdated about all those dvi thingy.

and with the external lcd, i think i shouldn't worry bout the glossy screen. 1 more reason for 13 inch. when traveling, i'll b glad enuf that i have a light and less bulky laptop to carry tongue.gif

now...i shall wait for 1 more month for snow leopard..... hopefully it'll be released in the beginning of sept
MetalZone
post Aug 13 2009, 03:40 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Aug 13 2009, 09:07 AM)
-I believe you can get a DVI/Mini DVI to VGA converter, no problem there. Where do you get the idea that an external large screen will heat up GC?
I'm not sure what you mean here, but in case, note that the MiniDisplay Port to DVI convertor from Apple outputs only the digital signal, a.k.a. DVI-I. You need DVI-D which has an analog signal as well to be able to convert to VGA. So if you try to plug in a commonly available DVI-D to VGA convertor into Apple's MiniDisplay Port to DVI-I converter you will get no signal.
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2009, 06:09 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Aug 13 2009, 12:43 PM)
Yes, get Matte display if your living area/working place has some lights that are wrongly placed. It will create quite an annoyance when the glossy screen reflects even the tiniest light.

Still, if you have a room with correctly placed lights and ambient lighting. No problem.

Added on August 13, 2009, 12:46 pmToo bad they are now charging extra for the Matte. When I bought mine, it came with no extra charge.
actually it's still not matte screen, dont take it wrongly
it's just remove the glare layer
shoguniphicus
post Aug 13 2009, 07:51 PM

428 posts

Hahaa.. may be I am a bit ancient.
I thought matte is the same as anti-glare. Which is without the glossiness?

Have they only change the word from Matte to Anti-glare?
cRazYee
post Aug 13 2009, 09:04 PM

2,642 posts

well, the screen itself is still glossy like macbook air
like i said, the glare layer is another glass on the top of your screen
shumaky
post Aug 14 2009, 03:31 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Wow, AppleCare for the MBP is real expensive.. RM900+.. but its 3yrs for peace of mind.
daydreaming
post Aug 14 2009, 07:46 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Aug 14 2009, 03:31 AM)
Wow, AppleCare for the MBP is real expensive.. RM900+.. but its 3yrs for peace of mind.
that's for mbp 13 smile.gif 15 inch n above ---> 1.2k
jinaun
post Aug 14 2009, 08:38 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

it extends another 2 years ontop of your current one

for about RM400 per year.. i think its ok lah for notebook of this class

This post has been edited by jinaun: Aug 14 2009, 08:38 AM
th3_glove20
post Aug 14 2009, 11:26 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

to all the sifus...im still able to get a proper downloader for rapidshare...advise pls...

129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:48 AM