9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

astria
post Aug 4 2009, 05:20 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

they use freedos can drive down the cost wat...

juz prepare extra budget for OEM Vista...
astria
post Aug 4 2009, 06:07 PM

22,158 posts

nah, the Win7 disc will be mailed to u, not download...
astria
post Aug 4 2009, 06:45 PM

22,158 posts

well, isn't it why it's called RC in the first place??? Released Candidate... means it's not the final one...

u think MS will be so smart to provide a free OS for everyone to download and use???
astria
post Aug 5 2009, 06:41 AM

22,158 posts

undervolting = reducing the voltage for that particular multiplier
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 03:37 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 6 2009, 05:36 PM)
The 15 does have a better processor as 3DM06 is very CPU dependant, and it costs RM800 more. You get what you pay
bro, mind contributing here???

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1109389
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 07:15 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 6 2009, 09:10 PM)
So which means the difference between both cards isn't that much?

Yeah bro, waiting for your benchmarks smile.gif
can't really read the Overall score, cuz CPU plays a part in it...

the SM2.0 and SM3.0 score will tell us sth though...
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 07:18 PM

22,158 posts

my experience with Win7 on computers with HD4000 cards is that the driver dun seem to be fully developed yet...

that's the main reason y i am still staying with Vista...
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 08:29 PM

22,158 posts

omg... u guys got VIA HD codec instead of Realtek one??? shocking.gif
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 08:34 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 6 2009, 10:32 PM)
Why so surprised? It got VIA chip inside so why install Realtek driver?
cuz Realtek codec SUCKS

VIA ones are better...

my laptop cost me so much also come with Realtek only... vmad.gif
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 08:36 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(samliang @ Aug 6 2009, 10:35 PM)
guyz wanna ask something here

1. Nvidia Geforce G102M 512MB VRAM
2. ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570 with 512MB VRAM

which one is better?
of cuz HD4570...

Added on August 6, 2009, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 6 2009, 10:34 PM)

Oh I thought its the opposite, how suck is it? The driver? Compatibility?
more of the sound quality...

it's popular mainly becuz it's cheap... and when it's cheap, there goes the quality...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 6 2009, 08:38 PM
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 08:58 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(samliang @ Aug 6 2009, 10:51 PM)
hmm just to compare between K50AB and K50IN

dunno which one is better ?
Ab for games...

In for no games...

QUOTE(skye @ Aug 6 2009, 10:54 PM)
Hmm.....I realize that I maybe have install both Realtek and VIA HD.....gonna check it right now  sweat.gif
it's Realtek NIC that u ve installed??? that's the LAN...
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 09:24 PM

22,158 posts

Native IDE problem again???

go BIOS and change it...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 6 2009, 09:24 PM
astria
post Aug 7 2009, 07:38 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(flamemepls @ Aug 7 2009, 04:23 AM)
I'm still having my doubts on the Athlon X2...
Will it like over heat and will the extra heat like...
Shorten the notebook's life span???
I want it to last 3 years at least...
Also...
Is there really a difference between the K50IN and K50AB in terms of performance???
One proc's better and one's rather inferior...
But the G102 kinda sucky and the 4570's awesome!!!
Damn it...
My head!!! rclxub.gif
nah, Athlon x2 is not inferior....

when comes to number crunching, AMD is sure to lose... but in real world use, AMD CPU are much more responsive...
astria
post Aug 7 2009, 09:34 AM

22,158 posts

that's the problem with using a 8 yr old OS on a new computer...

try hunt for the drivers 1 by 1 from the hardware maker website instead of Asus...
astria
post Aug 8 2009, 08:06 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 8 2009, 04:58 AM)
haiz.. yeah.. going to adi.. have to wait till da end of the month oni can go back to get vista cd.. dang.. anyone come up with any solution?

the drivers cd dont let me install at all.. it says its meant for vista oni.. dang..
there's not really a solution... u can shoot a email to AMD and ask though... laugh.gif

pretty bad experience with HD4000 GPU on Win7... tried and tested with a few guys who own HD4650 (BenQ S57) and HD4570 (Studio 15)... only 1 guy so far managed to use the GPU properly in Win7 (HP dv6), which i ve no idea how he did it...

so for this 2-3mths, stick with Vista first...

hopefully things will change with RTM...
astria
post Aug 9 2009, 09:59 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 9 2009, 11:58 AM)
If you don't mod the Catalyst driver it won't install anything at all because its not supported

Uninstall previous driver, restart and install new one
Catalyst for Win7 works for Vista...
astria
post Aug 9 2009, 01:03 PM

22,158 posts

DX updated???
astria
post Aug 9 2009, 01:28 PM

22,158 posts

so wat??? it may lack some DX9 and DX10 components, which u can get only thru update...

having DX11 doesn't mean u ve everything... it merely means, this machine is DX11 capable... dun forget u re having a DX10.1 GPU also...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 9 2009, 01:29 PM
astria
post Aug 9 2009, 02:38 PM

22,158 posts

DX10's main improvement is on the background...

try running a multiplayer game of Crysis... u'll see the difference straight away on the server... DX10 requires much less resources than DX9...

as for DX11, the main foucs is not graphic again... the focus is on DirectX Compute, which is to improve the efficiency on the use of GPU for non-3D apps... such as video trans-coding, HD video acceleration...

who knows, maybe even Windows can be accelerated with the use if GPU??? laugh.gif

and as a matter of fact, GPU tends to stay ahead of games... DX10 was an exception though... Crysis was ready long before we even have a DX10 card in the market...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 9 2009, 02:41 PM
astria
post Aug 9 2009, 04:34 PM

22,158 posts

that's ATi CCC u re talking abt...

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:41 AM