ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

suadrif
post Sep 4 2009, 12:03 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 3 2009, 11:41 PM)
just got mine from lowyat

k40ab 2nd generation with the sticker 20 % cooler (dont know whether they really change the cooler inside or just add the sticker) rm 2020 without free gift...come with asus bag and mouse

install vista ultimate...and install all the drivers from the asus cd..all no problem..never install srs and other webcam software..coz it's useless for me.

all FN key working...and the power express auto detect and user select is working..bios set to power express .

idling temperature after 15 mins 77 Celcius

play street fighter 4 temperature goes up to 90 C..never stress it with PI..so dont know what the max temperature..

have a feeling this laptop only last 1 year then condemn coz of the heat.
Overall...good gaming laptop...speaker not good altho says altec lansing..sounds too soft....nowadays all laptop speaker not good already... quality build..so so ...compared to old asus f80q...
u use the driver provided in the Asus CD right?
u install graphic card driver without modded?
your display is ATI 3200 or ATI 4570?
RoxyGal
post Sep 4 2009, 02:08 AM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 4 2009, 12:03 AM)
u use the driver provided in the Asus CD right?
u install graphic card driver without modded?
your display is ATI 3200 or ATI 4570?
yes without modded....dont wanna mod it coz the hazzle of driver bug just because extra few fps juice and vista optimze startup without CCC and ATI tools.

display? can set or it will auto set..

when on battery if will auto set to 3200 before asking you to press ok...on power will be 4570.

can also manually select it also.

so my Asus ati driver consider bug free coz i just bought it yesterday. Latest K40AB with 20% cooler sticker.

lchan
post Sep 4 2009, 10:29 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(lchan @ Aug 20 2009, 10:02 AM)
btw..anyone have problems with the battery?..mines is charging only up to 98%. Was 100% when i first got it....a couple of days later its 99% and now 98%. Do i need to calibrate the battery in bios? bloody hell...RM2k laptop is really RM2k....hahaha
Celaka,...my laptop battery stop chargin at 97% and says unable to charge. At this rate i keep on calibrating the battery, 100% will actually mean 10% in real battery power. Never seen a battery dying to damn fast.
shockk
post Sep 4 2009, 10:45 AM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 4 2009, 02:08 AM)
yes without modded....dont wanna mod it coz the hazzle of driver bug just because extra few fps juice and vista optimze startup without CCC and ATI tools.

display? can set or it will auto set..

when on battery if will auto set to 3200 before asking you to press ok...on power will be 4570.

can also manually select it also.

so my Asus ati driver consider bug free coz i just bought it yesterday. Latest K40AB with 20% cooler sticker.
hmm so with this so-called 20% cooler thing, what is ur lowest temp?

With my K50AB, i can hit 36 deg celcius when idling inside air-con room, and another forumer also managed to hit 36 deg celcius when idling in non-a/c room. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lchan @ Sep 4 2009, 10:29 AM)
Celaka,...my laptop battery stop chargin at 97% and says unable to charge. At this rate i keep on calibrating the battery, 100% will actually mean 10% in real battery power. Never seen a battery dying to damn fast.
i never encountered this problem before. maybe u got a lemon unit?
reloaded
post Sep 4 2009, 12:15 PM

92 posts

Anyone have seen the 17 inch (K70AB) version of this laptop?

I'm in urgent need of one...
suadrif
post Sep 4 2009, 12:26 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(lchan @ Sep 4 2009, 10:29 AM)
bro
if i not mistaken, Asus K40AB got 1year warranty for batery and charger.
see here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=98&t=931928
QUOTE(hikari85 @ Feb 10 2009, 08:46 PM)

ASUS K40AB ----- RM2099
CPU & Chipset : AMD Athlon X2 QL64 2.1GHz
Display : 14" LED
Operating System : Free Dos
Memory : 2GB (DDR2 800 x 1)
Graphic : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570, with 512MB VRAM
Wireless Data Network : 802.11 b/g
Bluetooth : No
Storage : 320G 5400 SATA
Camera : 1.3M Pixel
Audio : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC / Stereo speaker / Mic
Optical Drive : DVD-S-Multi
Storage Cards : 8 in 1 card reader
Finger Print  : No
Warranty : 2 Years Global / Battery + Adapter 12 Months
=======================================================================================
QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 4 2009, 10:45 AM)
hmm so with this so-called 20% cooler thing, what is ur lowest temp?

With my K50AB, i can hit 36 deg celcius when idling inside air-con room, and another forumer also managed to hit 36 deg celcius when idling in non-a/c room. biggrin.gif
i never encountered this problem before. maybe u got a lemon unit?
is the sticker show something like this?
FEEL THE COMFORT - 25% COOLER THAN BODY TEMPERATURE
if yes, then suppose mine also same like you.
hohoho
but why other user have to mod their driver but u dont?
different driver ah?
Phantom_KiD
post Sep 4 2009, 12:41 PM

133 posts

didnt he use vista? mine also vista n ok without modded driver...

mine oso got the FEEL THE COMFORT sticker...kekeke brows.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 12:55 pmso sad...juz read about AMD new laptop processor... AMD turion II,turion II ultra,Athlon II...huhuhu...why...why!!!!!!! cry.gif

This post has been edited by Phantom_KiD: Sep 4 2009, 12:55 PM
xKAIZERUx
post Sep 4 2009, 02:55 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

yup, i've hit 36c no ac, just open the back cover and rise the laptop few cm. the arm rest is cool, but warning, the below side is hot when you dont open up the cover.

It is hot when its in game, but normal surfing, movie, ms words the laptop keeps cool.

====

I've managed to install MS Virtual PC 2007, and I can enable the Virtualization. I though someone said that the diff with turion is virtualization part and P-State right?

This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Sep 4 2009, 02:56 PM
User_Xp
post Sep 4 2009, 02:58 PM

973 posts

even my lappy when idle only never reach below 50`C cry.gif
RoxyGal
post Sep 4 2009, 05:03 PM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Sep 4 2009, 02:55 PM)
yup, i've hit 36c no ac, just open the back cover and rise the laptop few cm. the arm rest is cool, but warning, the below side is hot when you dont open up the cover.

It is hot when its in game, but normal surfing, movie, ms words the laptop keeps cool.
====

I've managed to install MS Virtual PC 2007, and I can enable the Virtualization. I though someone said that the diff with turion is virtualization part and P-State right?

there is one problem with k40ab... some user gets auto fan adjust......some get full blast fan even when it's cool

so urs the fan running max or auto?

shockk
post Sep 4 2009, 05:14 PM

11,882 posts

I can choose when to use Auto-Fan control and when to use Max-Fan speed. Max fan speed really rocks as even the top part of the laptop doesn't feel hot anymore. biggrin.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 4 2009, 12:26 PM)
bro
if i not mistaken, Asus K40AB got 1year warranty for batery and charger.
see here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=98&t=931928
=======================================================================================
is the sticker show something like this?
FEEL THE COMFORT - 25% COOLER THAN BODY TEMPERATURE
if yes, then suppose mine also same like you.
hohoho
but why other user have to mod their driver but u dont?
different driver ah?
i didn't mod driver. using the driver downloaded from AMD/Ati website as shown in Najmods first post here.

QUOTE(Phantom_KiD @ Sep 4 2009, 12:41 PM)
didnt he use vista? mine also vista n ok without modded driver...

mine oso got the FEEL THE COMFORT sticker...kekeke  brows.gif

Added on September 4, 2009, 12:55 pmso sad...juz read about AMD new laptop processor... AMD turion II,turion II ultra,Athlon II...huhuhu...why...why!!!!!!! cry.gif
im using Vista 64. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: Sep 4 2009, 05:17 PM
suadrif
post Sep 4 2009, 08:37 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 4 2009, 05:14 PM)
I can choose when to use Auto-Fan control and when to use Max-Fan speed. Max fan speed really rocks as even the top part of the laptop doesn't feel hot anymore. biggrin.gif
how it done?
xKAIZERUx
post Sep 4 2009, 11:21 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 4 2009, 05:03 PM)
there is one problem with k40ab... some user gets auto fan adjust......some get full blast fan even when it's cool

so urs the fan running max or auto?
random, sometime it gets really hot but the fan just keeps it pace. sometime, the fan just hardworking all of the sudden. and that time, the 36c one, the fan blows non stop even when i didnt do anything. sweat.gif
Muhammad Syukri
post Sep 5 2009, 02:06 AM

821 posts

my fan doesnt blow up when im on gaming 89c more worse...lol.
shockk
post Sep 5 2009, 09:22 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 4 2009, 08:37 PM)
how it done?
you can refer back my earlier post in this thread. i'm actually exploiting a bug in the system. really love to run at 36 deg celcius. furthermore, the fan at full speed is not that loud compared to some laptops on full fan speed. biggrin.gif
cokehau
post Sep 5 2009, 12:51 PM

175 posts

jus get this lappies from my mum...

i installed crysis warhead and it detected and set my setting to mainstream...its a bit laggy, so i change it back evrything to low. quite smooth in minimum setting...
karkadeeh
post Sep 5 2009, 02:34 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 5 2009, 09:22 AM)
you can refer back my earlier post in this thread. i'm actually exploiting a bug in the system. really love to run at 36 deg celcius. furthermore, the fan at full speed is not that loud compared to some laptops on full fan speed. biggrin.gif
how to exploit?
Phantom_KiD
post Sep 5 2009, 06:46 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 5 2009, 09:22 AM)
can u please tell me which page??

xKAIZERUx
post Sep 5 2009, 07:52 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

sleeping or hibernate doesnt do that to me. i wonder how you do that?

i was wondering, why the K40 n K50 have so many bug and hardware glitch? Some have brightness prob, some have fan prob, some have sound prob.

is other series like F-series and U-series have this kind of prob? haha....
Batusai
post Sep 5 2009, 11:13 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

hmmm... seems weird.. after installing vista on my k50.. everest dont detect the GPU temperature.. and CPUID dont detect anything at all.. feels so weird..

and i cant seem to find whats shockk said in modifying the fan speed.. looked back a few pages but nothing. so... can u just tell us?

Added on September 5, 2009, 11:13 pmi guess im just gonna reformat again.. and move to win7 rtm..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Sep 5 2009, 11:13 PM

125 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:44 PM