Windows Vista Upgrade to Windows 7 Registration, Registration, Order Status, Problems etc

FarCry3r
post Aug 20 2009, 04:24 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Aug 20 2009, 04:20 PM)
well the more economical way is to get yourself a copy of genuine Vista now and upgrade to Windows 7 later on
and chances are you won't need Professional because there's no point to switch back to Vista???
I'll recommend Windows 7 Ultimate for the XP virtualisation instead of Professional
just my 2 cents
Windows XP Mode (and Windows Virtual PC) is available for Windows 7 Ultimate, Enterprise and Professional. So there's no need to shell out extra money to buy the more expensive Windows 7 Ultimate.
FarCry3r
post Aug 21 2009, 08:18 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Aug 20 2009, 10:20 PM)
hmm if u're talking about Vista Business OEM then ask the retailer first before buying
I think the upgrade should be registered at the Windows 7 website but there are some batches of serial number that are produced before the qualifying date for upgrade
Microsoft could have barred it from getting the upgrade regardless of the date of purchase
I suggest the best way is to confirm with Microsoft first
better safe than sorry
That's true, so to be safe, if you're going to get free Windows 7 upgrade, get it with OEM laptop/desktop as a package.
FarCry3r
post Aug 24 2009, 08:13 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Aug 21 2009, 01:20 PM)
I have just read from the official Windows 7 site that you are still required to show your proof of purchase eventhough the product code is valid. So there might be a chance that the upgrade is available for product codes released before June 29. But pls check with Microsoft Malaysia just to be sure
No you won't. You're required to show the proof of purchase because Microsoft will need to verify that you bought Windows Vista on or after June 29 (or whatever the date is). If not, why would they want a proof of purchase at all?
FarCry3r
post Aug 26 2009, 02:53 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Aug 26 2009, 02:44 PM)
Microsoft will only ship out the upgrade DVD when Win7 is officially luanched, and they'll only charge on you when they ship. They are not suppose to take your money first and wait for the launching because if any hiccups they have to refund. But remember, I don't think they will ship out all upgrade disc on 22/10. The actual shipment date remains unknown.
What I have in my mind is quite different. Redmond will sent the upgrade disc to local Microsoft office in each country, and on 22/10/2009, it'll be sent through courier. But that's my idea smile.gif Probably it'll just remain an idea.
FarCry3r
post Aug 31 2009, 06:40 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Aug 31 2009, 11:11 AM)
actually all models with an OEM Vista pre-installed 26th June 2009 and afterward will be eligible for the upgrade
it's just some latest models carry the sticker that says it's automatically eligible and some don't

and it's not totally free btw
u'll still need to pay a nominal shipping fees
Corrected smile.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Aug 31 2009, 06:41 PM
FarCry3r
post Oct 27 2009, 07:07 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Oct 26 2009, 12:40 AM)
About the Dell situation, anyone kind enough to update how to order shipping & whether shipping is charged/FOC
I can confirm that the Windows 7 upgrade kit is FOC. You just need to login to your account, fill the info regarding your tag etc, and just checkout and print the confirmation order. Yay! Save me RM60+

Added on October 27, 2009, 7:12 am
QUOTE(Xehanort @ Oct 26 2009, 07:49 PM)
so means every upgrade kits of all brand comes with both 32 bit & 64 bit??
If you saw his post, it's Windows 7 retail, not OEM, that's why it have both 32-bit and 64-bit disc. Even when I order my upgrade disc from Dell, it only give me 64-bit Windows 7 Upgrade.

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Oct 27 2009, 07:12 AM
FarCry3r
post Oct 27 2009, 01:45 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Oct 27 2009, 09:56 AM)
thanks for ur info
mine is 32bit
it is a bit strange, in dell support site, they dun state win7 32bit under OS option
[attachmentid=1273853]
Perhaps a bug? Or Dell want to push users to 64-bit? I don't know. Better ask Dell yourself.
FarCry3r
post Oct 28 2009, 01:38 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Oct 28 2009, 12:39 PM)
I Ordered mine on 10/23/2009 and the Estimated Ship Date 11/13/2009 from DELL
Looks like who's ordered the upgrade kit after 25th October will get it on 13rd December, and that includes me sad.gif
FarCry3r
post Oct 28 2009, 02:17 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Oct 28 2009, 02:14 PM)
u mean november 13 right? sweat.gif
now all we need to do is just wait & backup biggrin.gif
Well, you got yours on 26/11/2009 right?
FarCry3r
post Oct 29 2009, 11:30 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

Just checked mine, changed to 31/10/2009. Damn! That's Saturday, hope the courier will do Saturday delivery blush.gif

Added on October 29, 2009, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(Xehanort @ Oct 29 2009, 08:19 PM)
mine change from 26/11 to 29/10
nice!!!!!
So have you received your upgrade kit?

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Oct 29 2009, 11:32 PM
FarCry3r
post Oct 30 2009, 08:58 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Oct 30 2009, 08:23 AM)
Normally courier service will do delivery on Saturday because they don't want to maintain extra storage.

Anyway, my wife got her upgrade disk yesterday from Acer, distributed by Acer Singapore, order was made in August.
Well, let wait and see tomorrow. *crossing fingers* blush.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Oct 30 2009, 08:59 AM
FarCry3r
post Oct 31 2009, 08:41 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(CyberSpank @ Oct 31 2009, 02:04 AM)
nope..
that not what i mean...
try click post at wares-bb in my previous post...
is it retail version?
if i download it..
it is the same with upgrade pack...
click this link..
Please ask somewhere else if you want help with pirated software installation. And don't forget to read LYN R&R.
FarCry3r
post Oct 31 2009, 05:38 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Oct 31 2009, 12:02 PM)
I'm not sure ...
I think dont hv ... Bcoz my sister said with 2 disc inside...
I'm waiting my brother helping get the photo of it. But they at Muar right now >.<
Can you ask them if I could see what's inside? I'm at Muar, and I could snap a picture too drool.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 1 2009, 02:20 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 1 2009, 02:13 PM)

here it's ...
why i can not attach photo ??

Hmm ... hp package kinda nice ... but cost extra ??
Fancy packaging, but the disc looks like crap! I hate OEM discs! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Nov 1 2009, 02:40 PM
FarCry3r
post Nov 1 2009, 02:42 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 1 2009, 02:22 PM)
yup ....
wadnering why dont hv OEM disc ??
Hmm .. Hp didnt provide OEM disc de >.<
hehe .. then the disc can be use din my other pC ??  brows.gif
Edited the mispelled word. I hate OEM discs provided with OEM like Dell/HP/Compaq/Acer/Sony/Lenovo etc. But with the standalone OEM version you buy on computer shop, it looks better, with holographic stuff etc. That way you feel more like owning an original stuff.
FarCry3r
post Nov 1 2009, 03:30 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 1 2009, 03:00 PM)
Those upgrade kit from OEM comes with two DVDs, one is the Win7 itself the other is the manufacturer software upgrade + drvier for that particular manufacturer. At least Acer one is like that. My wife laptop (Acer 4736G) is done upgrade. Everythig works fine except have to manual disable the windows firewall to do windows update and download ANYTHING from Microsoft. Damn, the stupid Windows firewall blocking the windows itself problem is not solved at all.
Really? I never had that problem, my Windows Firewall always turned on and I can get updates from Microsoft Updates anytime I want.

Added on November 1, 2009, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(Xehanort @ Nov 1 2009, 03:12 PM)
anyone here waiting for dell win7 upgrade dvd?
mine estimated shipping date is 29 Nov >.< and i havent got my tracking number
I'm still waiting wave.gif Mine was estimated to be shipped on 31/10/2009, but hey, it's not arrived yet! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Nov 1 2009, 03:33 PM
FarCry3r
post Nov 2 2009, 02:58 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(zombieleex @ Nov 2 2009, 02:31 PM)
I should be getting my Win7 last week, as my estimated ship date is on 26/10/2009, stated at the Win7.dell.com etc. Yet, i received NTH from Dell, not even any confirmation E MAIL or ANNOUNCEMENT e mail~

Jesus, when i will get mine win7?
I tried asking from a Dell chat person, and they ask me to call Dell Customer Service at 1-800-880-301. I tried to call, but it seems all operators are busy (which reminds me of Screamyx). yawn.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 2 2009, 05:07 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 2 2009, 05:01 PM)
got another email today

Dear Customer,

We have processed your order and is now with our forwarder. We will be sending you auto tracking info via email soon. Thank you for contacting us and let us know if there are any queries.

-----------------------------

guys, can i sell it to my friend instead? can he use it?
No he can't. The disc should be usable on your OEM laptop/desktop only.
FarCry3r
post Nov 2 2009, 06:28 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Nov 2 2009, 05:42 PM)
Mine the same too,
Received email from DELL and checked shipping status at Dell website

Estimated Ship Date : 10/28/2009
Actual Ship Date : 2/11/2009
Shipper : DGM  (i think this is S'pore company)

They give the tracking number, but i can't check. Cuz this DGM don have online tracking service.. Correct me if i'm wrong...
Wow! You still OK la got shipper name and status, mine still empty. cry.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 2 2009, 09:35 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Nov 2 2009, 07:43 PM)
i also just received dell email
also 2/11 shipped
Mine which should be shipped 31/10/2009 is not here yet, so I doubt you guys will get it anytime soon. sad.gif

0.0198sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:49 AM