181 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V19, There's still few beasts hiding...

cloudwan
post Jul 21 2009, 01:48 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

Anyone going for a cheapo AM3 Sempron Single Core?? laugh.gif

AMD Preps First AM3-based Sempron Processors
AMD is preparing its first set of Sempron processors based on the DDR3 supportive AM3 package. The first one, codenamed "Sargas" is a single-core chip that comes across as a single-core variant of the Athlon II X2 "Regor". It features a broad 3.6 GT/s HyperTransport 3.0 system interface, 128 KB of L1 and 1 MB of L2 cache, a dual-channel DDR2/DDR3 memory interface, an up-to-date AMD feature and instruction-set including AMD64, SSE4A, and AMD-V.

Sargas is built on Global Foundries' 45 nm SOI process, and has an operating voltage range of 0.85 ~ 1.35 V. The first SKU based on this core is the Sempron X1 140 (model: SDX140HBGQBOX). It has a clock speed of 2.70 GHz, and a bus multiplier of 13.5x. At that speed, its TDP is rated at 45W. It will be available towards the end of this week, priced around 35 Euro.

Sauce

bobiac
post Jul 21 2009, 02:02 AM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

woah single core budget proc.
hehe.
who can guess the price?
antonio
post Jul 21 2009, 02:14 AM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(bobiac @ Jul 21 2009, 02:02 AM)
woah single core budget proc.
hehe.
who can guess the price?
Around RM135....probably hmm.gif
strife_personified
post Jul 21 2009, 02:22 AM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

hoho, based on Regor. imagine if you could unlock it from x1 to x4 XD XD
bobiac
post Jul 21 2009, 02:58 AM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

QUOTE(strife_personified @ Jul 21 2009, 02:22 AM)
wth x1 to x4.
im sure all grab. haha
verdict
post Jul 21 2009, 03:55 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 21 2009, 02:48 AM)
Anyone going for a cheapo AM3 Sempron Single Core?? laugh.gif

nice item there!

imagine this proc combo with LN2!

Kaw2 OC...surely for fun! wub.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Jul 21 2009, 03:56 AM
ah_khoo
post Jul 21 2009, 09:18 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jul 20 2009, 10:54 PM)
Even 8 hours of stressing the proc alone wont give you stableproof system. If your apps arent responding you might wanna check out other things like ram timing, or most probably vcore tak cukup lorr.

An SS consisting of CPUZ cpu tab and memory would be good tho.

p/s : Long time didnt post here tho, looks like u guys have alot of new toys to play, me stick to the old 3800+ F3 only.
gotta agree w/ that bro. prime doesn't necessarily guarantee total stability, but it'll give u some idea how stable d overclocked setup is. nod.gif

u stick to 3800+ f3 only meh? tongue.gif

i thought ur on e8400 which is doin 4.0GHz atm, could be even higher as d result is not a finished product yet... brows.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 20 2009, 10:56 PM)
New target achieve.. looks like it will stay 1.088v @ 3.0Ghz

[attachmentid=1090212]
as usual, great job sis... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 21 2009, 01:36 AM)
Miahaha, been busy ah bro these few days, went balik kampung for the weekend then have to hantar my youngest bro to KL for his Diploma studies in ASWARA KL.. :/sweat:
Tired as hell.. :/lol:
I don't think i can help u much with DDR3 tweaking coz still learning as u are, besides i haven't tested tweaking the ram too much coz still learning about my cpu limitation :/sweat:
Sori bro/sis...
i see... thoght u were bz hangin out w ya chick until forget to give help ledi... tongue.gif

what a gud brother u r... biggrin.gif

sesame learnin loh... ddr3 sure something new to us... sweat.gif
hoho, based on Regor. imagine if you could unlock it from x1 to x4
if that's doable amd is shootin themselves at their own feet... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 21 2009, 09:28 AM
8tvt
post Jul 21 2009, 09:18 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

got amd-v weird n nice..
-pWs-
post Jul 21 2009, 09:30 AM

8,545 posts

Sure o not? drool.gif drool.gif

-pWs-
8tvt
post Jul 21 2009, 09:40 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

should pII 250 - X2
ah_khoo
post Jul 21 2009, 09:48 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

d board sure like to overvolt at some stage... sad.gif

would like to keep d volt down a 'lil but not now perhaps, i'll be damn happy if it can do 3.5GHz @ 1.328v, just like what dfi managed to do. nod.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 21 2009, 09:48 AM
duncan880409
post Jul 21 2009, 10:14 AM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

ok, straight to the point, now i heard that AMD phenom II X2 550 BE can be unlock its 3rd and 4th core.... ok, now problem come, in my list,
i am gonna choosing AMD Phenom II X2 550 BE processor with one of this 3 motherboard,
i)Biostar TA790GX A3+
ii)Gigabyte GA-MA790GPT-UD3H
iii)Asus M4A78T-E
i firstly choose biostar as my first choice, but i have read through that biostar already change thier bios, which now cannot use the ACC, if we want to use that, have to use modded BIOS, which mean need to flash it my own, i dont want to take the risk. This has cause me to take 2 more choice, (gigabyte and asus) which dont want to change thier bios, and i heard still able to do ACC which stock BIOS. but now, i heard that there are only certain batch of processor can done that, now i am blur. please advice, thanks, by the way, from the top 3 motherboard i mention, you can choose the best for me? and if your choice are not in the list, you can suggest your own, but i know that u surely know, from the 3 motherboard above, i want a CFX, DDR3 motherboard.
and if i wanna overclock, can i use stock cooler? i heard that 550BE can bring to 3.8Ghz easily with stock..
and overclocking RAM, need performance RAM or value RAM ?
p/s i am noob in AMD system, as this is my first set AMD, and i never overclock before
guide me? thanks

ah_khoo
post Jul 21 2009, 10:35 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

as mentioned bro, there's no guarantee in unlockin but gettin d same batch like those proven batch definitely boost up d possibility of havin a healthy unlockable cores. smile.gif

if $$$ is a concern, biostar is d only choice, i doubt that asus/gigabyte gonna cost < RM500. when d diff is about RM150 or above, it's obvious to me which i'd go for if i'm on tight budget. mind not bout d latest bios can't unlock cores coz there will always be beta bioses provided in forums like xs & bbs. nod.gif

i won't say there'll be totally no side effect after unlockin, but as long as ur runnin 'em w acceptable volt for 24/7, d unlocked cores should be able to last as long as d others. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 21 2009, 10:42 AM
duncan880409
post Jul 21 2009, 10:40 AM

Like Working in My Lab ^^
3,700 posts

among the three board 2 of them i know the price,
Biostar is <RM500
Asus is +-RM500
Gigabyte not sure, will ask today
ok, what the batch that CAN unlocked the core well, i mean already proven well
ventrilocks
post Jul 21 2009, 10:41 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 21 2009, 09:18 AM)
gotta agree w/ that bro. prime doesn't necessarily guarantee total stability, but it'll give u some idea how stable d overclocked setup is.  nod.gif
even with stock speed n stock voltage can freeze! sweat.gif
n thats wat happen to me..but it freeze 1 sec only..dunno why..anyone hv any idea?

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jul 21 2009, 10:14 AM)
ok, straight to the point, now i heard that AMD phenom II X2 550 BE can be unlock its 3rd and 4th core.... ok, now problem come, in my list,
i am gonna choosing AMD Phenom II X2 550 BE processor with one of this 3 motherboard,
i)Biostar TA790GX A3+
ii)Gigabyte GA-MA790GPT-UD3H
iii)Asus M4A78T-E
i firstly choose biostar as my first choice, but i have read through that biostar already change thier bios, which now cannot use the ACC, if we want to use that, have to use modded BIOS, which mean need to flash it my own, i dont want to take the risk. This has cause me to take 2 more choice, (gigabyte and asus) which dont want to change thier bios, and i heard still able to do ACC which stock BIOS. but now, i heard that there are only certain batch of processor can done that, now i am blur. please advice, thanks, by the way, from the top 3 motherboard i mention, you can choose the best for me? and if your choice are not in the list, you can suggest your own, but i know that u surely know, from the 3 motherboard above, i want a CFX, DDR3 motherboard.
and if i wanna overclock, can i use stock cooler? i heard that 550BE can bring to 3.8Ghz easily with stock..
and overclocking RAM, need performance RAM or value RAM ?
p/s i am noob in AMD system, as this is my first set AMD, and i never overclock before
guide me? thanks
the 3 mobo is good already..i would choose which mobo has more phase power design..
for proc u need to google which batch can unlock sucessfully..
can use stock cooler..but not recommended when u unlock..coz u cant monitor the temperature..
for RAM it is ur preferences..if wanna OC more performance RAM to go..
ah_khoo
post Jul 21 2009, 10:48 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jul 21 2009, 10:40 AM)
among the three board 2 of them i know the price,
Biostar is <RM500
Asus is +-RM500
Gigabyte not sure, will ask today
ok, what the batch that CAN unlocked the core well, i mean already proven well
biostar > kit_kit sellin @ RM355
asus + giga sure > RM500

go figures... laugh.gif

list of batch can be found HERE

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jul 21 2009, 10:41 AM)
even with stock speed n stock voltage can freeze! sweat.gif
n thats wat happen to me..but it freeze 1 sec only..dunno why..anyone hv any idea?
the 3 mobo is good already..i would choose which mobo has more phase power design..
for proc u need to google which batch can unlock sucessfully..
can use stock cooler..but not recommended when u unlock..coz u cant monitor the temperature..
for RAM it is ur preferences..if wanna OC more performance RAM to go..
freeze for 1 sec & ok again could be i/o issue. but if it's not givin any instablilty shouldn't be a problem no? unsure.gif

yup, d more power phase d merrier but it spells more $$$ as well. whistling.gif

for more bout power phases u can read d slides here:

http://forums.vr-zone.com/ban-leong-virtua...est-survey.html

seems like asus is bashin giga "indirectly"... tongue.gif

ah_khoo 59
kuntawakaw 56
ventrilocks 52
bobiac 50

gotta stop postin for today... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jul 21 2009, 10:58 AM
ventrilocks
post Jul 21 2009, 11:08 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 21 2009, 10:48 AM)
biostar > kit_kit sellin @ RM355
asus + giga sure > RM500

go figures...  laugh.gif

list of batch can be found HERE
freeze for 1 sec & ok again could be i/o issue. but if it's not givin any instablilty shouldn't be a problem no?  unsure.gif

yup, d more power phase d merrier but it spells more $$$ as well.  whistling.gif

for more bout power phases u can read d slides here:

http://forums.vr-zone.com/ban-leong-virtua...est-survey.html

seems like asus is bashin giga "indirectly"...  tongue.gif
wat is i/o?input/output?
if freeze means it is unstable rite? unsure.gif
TSAMDAthlon
post Jul 21 2009, 11:27 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

AMD Sempron is based on Regor?..Which Regor is X2..so mostly it can unlock to X2 only lor..not X4..Cos X4 is Propus tongue.gif
But still..i was hoping AMD would release an AMD Sempron X2 @RM135 but with 1MB Cache.(512KBx2)..That would be an awesome chip drool.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 21 2009, 11:47 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 21 2009, 11:27 AM)
AMD Sempron is based on Regor?..Which Regor is X2..so mostly it can unlock to X2 only lor..not X4..Cos X4 is Propus tongue.gif
But still..i was hoping AMD would release an AMD Sempron X2 @RM135 but with 1MB Cache.(512KBx2)..That would be an awesome chip drool.gif
Yup should be the X2 not X4 smile.gif
Check back whut i post ah, it already stated that it would come with 128kb L1 cache and 1mb L2 cache.
So theoratically it could be an X2 with disable core.. hmm.gif
strife_personified
post Jul 21 2009, 01:24 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 21 2009, 11:27 AM)
But them Regor's are the ones we're unlocking to X4s aint it? wink.gif But in all seriousness I doubt it too, knowing AMD they'll likely be doing something like laser cutting or whatnot to ensure it wont be unlockable, or these are chips that the other 3 cores are so screwed that even if you do unlock them there's no way in hell they'll be stable tongue.gif

181 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:47 AM