As a Muslim, it is WAJIB for us to seek halalness in things that we consume. Sadly this is not a fully islamic world, thus instead of relying on a halal sign, I agree with what Syd G had comment above.
We need to read the content of the product before we consume them. Nevertheless don't assume something is haram or feel was-was if the product does not have a halal sign. It might be of vegetable origins
Whey Izzit Halal !, 100% Whey Gold Standard