Runnerz... #3, All about running...

satsugai
post Aug 10 2009, 12:08 PM

303 posts

wazzaaaaaa runners

im on the last phase of quitting smoking(one cig a day/every few days) gonna go full quit now. been exercising and what not trying to improve my cardio fitness lvls iuh and in the process of losing weight as well, down to 77 from 110 last year.

so yeah, right now i can only jog for about 10-15 minutes tops without stopping before i feel like dying. so yeah, what should i do so that i can join my first half marathon next year, soemtime around june(and does that seem like a realistic goal?) or hopefully sooner.

satsugai
post Aug 10 2009, 01:13 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 10 2009, 12:13 PM)
No worries, if u can look also for the previous threads, lotsa lotsa info
Well, slow n steady..
And you may want to try like slowly adding 5mins like every week? Next yr June? pretty realistic and even if you were to aim for a run this yr.. why nt?
hoping to join this in november, meh first 10k

http://www.starttofinish.com.au/default.as...tdisplay&id=686

does anyone know any training method to follow?
satsugai
post Aug 10 2009, 03:33 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 10 2009, 03:22 PM)
As long as it works tongue.gif

btw, me cycle lots nw too.. u still cycle? looking into triathlons smile.gif?
Why not? This november? lotsa time for u to prepare.. try this training programme

Mon -3km
Tues-4km
Wed-5km
Thurs-REST/ Cross Train
Fri- REST/ Cross Train
Sat-LSD -8km? 9km?
Sun-REST

*You don't hv to run all the way, just run as much as you can then walk to complete the distance..as you improve, run the whole distance

I am sure by Nov you would breeze through the 10km run smile.gif
Believe it or nt its easier then it looks
i have time to do treadmill training only, and gotta pair it with doing weights for 5 days and 2-3 days hiit for 10 minutes as im trying to lose weight/body fat(plateauing now ><")

btw, what exactly is cross training?

ouh and ran 20 minutes on the treadmill for the first time today AND DIDNT FEEL LIKE SHIT AT THE END 8D, ffs, not smoking makes A LOT of difference.......... XD
satsugai
post Aug 11 2009, 02:29 PM

303 posts

using the asics gel 150-tr, my first pair of expensive shoes XD
bought the gel kayano 15 for my brother, f***ing expensive ><" tried it on, very comfy, lol.

probably gonna go for saucony or brooks for my next shoe, saucony can get for bout 70-100 aud here. how much is it in msia?
satsugai
post Dec 21 2009, 10:30 AM

303 posts

why is it that my back or my left side always cramps up after 5-8 minutes of running, its such a pain in the ass cos it doesnt even stop after i slow down for a bit and i end up getting of the treadmill and just doing the elliptical ><"

so yeah, any idea why? i really wanna be able to run in marathons someday, but my body keeps sabo'ing me ><"

and my calves are kinda effed up now, probably cos my old jogigng shoe was due for a change but i kept on wearing it, got a new un now though, could also be cos of my sitting posture..... hmmmm

graaaaah

satsugai
post Feb 12 2010, 04:03 PM

303 posts

How long did it take u guys to build up to a marathon, right now I could probably do a slow and rly tiring 5k onleh, marathons seem so...... Insane

0.0418sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:43 AM