Runnerz... #3, All about running...

bubb13s
post Jul 19 2009, 11:54 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jul 19 2009, 10:11 PM)
Congrats bubbles smile.gif

Yea I went to the clock tower area to lepak around 6.00am.. I did a slow jog from BA to DM to warm up. Nvm la. hehe

I didnt know got goodie bag. Dapat whitening lotion.  sweat.gif
@metalfreak
thanks thanks! thumbup.gif

u dapat lotion? i think u got the women's goodie bag.

@syd,
thanks alot for running with me. the psycho-ing does help!
now my hips are screaming...my knees are abit sore. icon_question.gif
bubb13s
post Jul 20 2009, 01:17 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 20 2009, 09:52 AM)
Congrats to those who ran Siemens Run yday.  It was indeed a very well organised race especially for the Pom Pom gals who gave me extra booster for the final push.

SHAPE Run, we all from LYN gotta gather together and take a picture, what do u think.  Maybe we can park at the carpark next to the Palace Of Justice, and meet at a specific time.  Be early so that there is more time for us to lepak and sembang.  Deal??

Anyone still giving away or selling SHAPE Run bib (mens), plz let me know.
good idea wor....deal la!

QUOTE(whoopsydaisy @ Jul 20 2009, 10:27 AM)
Hi Everyone! I had a great time at Siemens too. I'm pretty much a newbie runner, but I do try my best wink.gif. Just started running early this year. I did the Dream Run and I'm quite happy that I ran (or shuffled more like it) the whole way, imagine.. i couldnt even last a continous 5 mins on the treadmill 6 months ago. Looking forward to Shape 5K, and fingers crossed, I'm hoping to do my virgin 10K in SG Marathon.

Hey.. don't you guys just lurve the milo vans. I wish I could have a whole tray of those cold milo cups to myself..

Ohhh congrats to bubbles on her 1st 10K. Can't wait for my turn.
thanks thanks!
i also just started serious running abt 2 mths ago. when i first started...i could only manage abt 10 steps (my bf tells me that) and i'm outta breath! sweat.gif sweat.gif but that was like abt 1 1/2 years ago la.
come lets meet up. i'm doing shape 5k too. (registered too early...now kenot change distance. lols) my first 10k ended with a blast. u'll do just fine in your 10k.
aiming to do penang 1/2 mara. icon_rolleyes.gif

i got epic picture le. ugly sial!
bubb13s
post Jul 26 2009, 02:34 AM

339 posts

@syd
i was so thirsty before the run. when i reached the water station oni...took 3 cups...and felt bloated. so hard to run after that. but i think now i recall...i started sweating after the water.
i even had so much time to play games with the mix fm crew. won a shoe bag and a crocs keychain. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
bubb13s
post Jul 29 2009, 10:37 AM

339 posts

@syd
i just love online registration and payments. dun have to travel so far just to sign up and pay. like my shape run...additional rm2 i get the correct running vest. brows.gif
i maybe opting for the additional courier service for penang mara. so dun have to last min collect bibs. wub.gif

good to hear that the adidas running vest is of good quality unlike the reebok for scklm and shape. naik bulu very fast after abit of friction.
damn...shape run sg gets nike running vest!

This post has been edited by bubb13s: Jul 29 2009, 10:43 AM
bubb13s
post Jul 29 2009, 10:47 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Jul 29 2009, 10:43 AM)
Which brings me to the question, how do I do about with it? I might want to do that also
i've not registered for the penang mara yet. i know for a fact that they have that option la.
its stated in their official website. it should be part of the registration form maybe? to those who have registered may shed some light on this?
bubb13s
post Jul 30 2009, 10:15 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 30 2009, 09:43 AM)
Registered for SG Marathon w00t - running half only this time cause I want to run 30k @ GE30k next year.
congrats on your registration rclxms.gif i aiming to go sg marathon next year. time to save up funds.
we sama sama go next year k?
bubb13s
post Aug 3 2009, 09:53 AM

339 posts

@syd

ur hubby very sweet le.
wat was your timing?how can no water and no milo wan...aiyo...
bubb13s
post Aug 3 2009, 10:37 AM

339 posts

seriously...wats with the race organizers le...always no water wan.
on another note...i seriously feel that race organizers should serve water at the venue before the runs start too.
bubb13s
post Aug 4 2009, 03:55 PM

339 posts

@syd,
wanna ask u ar...the siemens voucher ur hubby used to buy his pair of crocs can be used to purchase any crocs from the store or on selected models only?

i tot of buying one to replace my current pair...soles are gone edi.
bubb13s
post Aug 4 2009, 05:09 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 4 2009, 04:12 PM)

Here in LYN, the LYN Street Mart section, most crocs are sold for close too, more then 50% of the retail prices..
too many sellers edi. i sked not ori la...defects la...seller kena tipu by middle man/distributor etc etc.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 4 2009, 05:00 PM)
Any models @ certain crocs stores only. Diff distributors owns diff stores.

He bought @ 1utama. Old Wing.
good to know that its for any model. thanks!
bubb13s
post Aug 5 2009, 09:35 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Aug 5 2009, 09:04 AM)
beginning of the bridge to the toll where we do the U-turn is oredi ard 11km.  To and Fro is 22km.  From QBM to the bridge is ard 1.5km (x2) = 3km.  In total is 25km.  So its not an easy run, therefore gotta pace urself out.
25km??? habis lor this time...i tot 21km oni. have to train gile gile this time. not sure if i can make it through the last 4km within the 3hr time limit. i'm feeling sked now.
bubb13s
post Aug 17 2009, 10:24 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 17 2009, 09:29 AM)
Fun run before puasa smile.gif
got back home with sore back and sore legs. cry.gif
i think i've learned my lesson. no lifting 1 day before run. sweat.gif
after raya lets go again.... brows.gif
bubb13s
post Sep 3 2009, 10:03 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Sep 2 2009, 09:41 PM)
as i am a vegetarian, i do make sure i have the right & sufficient amount of supplements.  Multi-Vit is a must for me.  Calcium + Magnesium and D.  Vit C.  Plant based glucosamine for me.  Iron supplements.  Chlorophyll + Ribose to cleanse my system and provide energy.

NUUN to replenish salt and electrolytes after workout.

Endurox for recovery.

Started on 2XU compression for muscle recovery during sleep and training.
ccube,
where u buy those plant based glucosamine and wat brand ar?
bubb13s
post Oct 13 2009, 10:34 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 13 2009, 10:25 AM)
Sunday. Mari mari. The more the merrier.

Added on October 13, 2009, 10:27 amOh btw, according to the map, the route is actually 11km.

http://www.pacesetters.com.my/mizuno_map.htm
wat time running? tot wanna go collect race kit this sunday at bkt aman.
bubb13s
post Oct 13 2009, 10:58 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 13 2009, 10:39 AM)
Collected last week after Centro Run. Dunno what time yet, but most prolly you can still collect after our run. Last Sunday they opened till 11am something cause the queue was very long.
ok cool.let me know wat time u running.
bubb13s
post Oct 27 2009, 05:50 PM

339 posts

i'm training for my upcoming 1/2 mara. due to my laziness i've just started training.
i'm wondering if power gels are really necessary? cos its quite expensive la. sad.gif
any good substitute for power gels that are cheaper or just as good?

suggestions needed.
bubb13s
post Oct 27 2009, 06:08 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 05:56 PM)
I would say take the distance bit by bit.. train slowly..
It depends on what sorta distance you are running, if you are running below 15km for your LSD you do not need the gels..
Most of us here run 20km for training on Sats without gel, but we do take a water break at the 10km mark..
We have been running for quite a bit though..

Hw do u feel after a 10km run?
What abt a 15km run?
Here you go again??!!
No obvious difference? where are you quoting this from? where is proof?
i've not done any lsd more than 15km. this weekend plan to do 15km.
well....after a 10km run...i still feel ok(can still walk around). probably cos i've not tried going more than that.
15km? this weekend run edi then i'll know how i feel. whistling.gif

bubb13s
post Oct 27 2009, 06:20 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 06:14 PM)
hmm.gif hv you done at least 15km?
so ur max is a 10km?
i would ask for you to definitely try and run 15km..
if possible try and do even up to 17/18km ..you'll then knw what sorta distance you'll be running..

Might i ask what half marathon event are you training for?
If it's the Penang bridge.. i heard the half is 25km? unlike the usual 21km
yeah...my max so far is ard 10km oni. i know i should have trained more.
and yeah...pbim 1/2 mara. i know i'm doomed.
so i guess i do not really need those exp gels eh?
bubb13s
post Oct 27 2009, 06:25 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 06:22 PM)
haha biggrin.gif for your training no.. but for the event, you might want to consume some
as far as your training goes, try and run further distances starting nw.. u hv like a month left brows.gif ??
ahha...ok since training no need hor...then do u think during event day if i take some...will have any side effect? i takut lau sai and etc le....esp body not used to stuff like this. wats ur take on this?
yah...gonna run further and further. tongue.gif and yes...i only have 25 days more. sweat.gif sweat.gif
bubb13s
post Oct 28 2009, 10:49 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 06:33 PM)
thumbup.gif
My view is during training no need is coz you should see how you feel during the run purely without help..
and besides running without gel allows for you to train better (the logic of, if u can do without gel imagine what you can do with gel)
but yes, if ur afraid of lau sai go ahead and try.. there is no harm..
you also hv to take into acc. what gel suits you best? there are diff gels out there so you oso hv to try try sad.gif
Many suffer when they take the norm POWER GEL, but I hv no issues (touch wood tongue.gif), many have also claim that POWER GEL is nt the best out there..
If you go through the previous pages or to ccube's blog and phoenix's blog.. you can find out more there biggrin.gif

o, and besides power gels there is endurox!!
thanks for ur input. so i guess i'll just run without it on race day. since i'm new to this...dunno wats good etc, i'll just try these gels in other runs la...not for the upcoming one. i'm not aiming for a superb timing...just aim to finish it only. smile.gif

QUOTE(ccube @ Oct 27 2009, 06:47 PM)
D U R I A N ............ rclxm9.gif

seriously...how much durian u eat? everytime oso i hear u makan durian wan.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 27 2009, 09:31 PM)
Wrong person. More like.. 38minute tongue.gif
Important important to at least bring own water. No 7-eleven to buy drinks from sad.gif.

I read some runners drank water inside sponge bucket.

Euw
yeah...bring own water. i'm ain't drinking from the sponge bucket! thats so disgusting.

@tenno: superb idea of cloud9 and choki choki wub.gif . maybe will carry some on tht day.

0.0478sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:33 PM