Runnerz... #3, All about running...

Johannbeckham
post Oct 21 2009, 10:13 AM

78 posts

hi guys! newbie runner here (I think I'm more of a "jogger" than a runner) hehehe. I registered for the Mizuno run long time back when it first open, but unfortunately, I book a flight to Singapore this comin Sat so I say good bye to this run. too bad.
Anyway, I'm excited for Penang Marathon next month. That definitely I will not miss. It's my first time running Penang Marathon. Hopefully, I'll be able to finish that 21k run.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 21 2009, 04:44 PM

78 posts

Klang? I think about seafood more when I hear about Klang than running hehe
Johannbeckham
post Oct 21 2009, 05:08 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 21 2009, 04:47 PM)
hahaha klang is famous for pork food not seafood  doh.gif
oops, my info is wrong again... now its so obvious that I'm not local.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 21 2009, 05:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(euphoria88 @ Oct 21 2009, 05:13 PM)
you're not? where r u from? haha.
Seafood is Pulau Ketam there, Port Klang, but majority Klang is pork kut teh biggrin.gif
Philippines smile.gif
Johannbeckham
post Oct 21 2009, 07:10 PM

78 posts

anyone here joining Penang Marathon (Nov) and Singapore Marathon (Dec)? I'm joining both of this marathon, hope to see some of you there.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 12:01 PM

78 posts

Guys, has anyone use Runner's Sports watch (e.g Garmin Forerunner, etc) here? Is it really essential to improve your run? Is it easy to learn?
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 01:57 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Oct 22 2009, 01:11 PM)
What distance are you doing? The time is only two weeks apart.
I'm running 21k for Penang and 42k for Singapore. Yeah it's 2 weeks apart. I hope I can have enough rest for my legs to run Full Marathon in SG. It's my first time also to run 42k. Die lah rclxub.gif
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 02:03 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 22 2009, 01:31 PM)
It depends on quite a lot of factors, like goal, budget, features, etc.

If U just wanna run for fun, not training etc, a simple sports watch with a stopwatch will do. This will enable U to keep the time ran on Ur favorite route, & if U run the same route everytime, U'll be able to tell whether U've improved simply by clocking a better time.

But if U wanna know how much effort U've put into Ur run, how much calories U've burned, if Ur training to achieve a specific goal, then U might wanna consider a watch with heart rate monitor feature. There are complicated ones, as well as simple ones. Well-known heart rate monitors like Polar, Timex, Mio, even Garmin, they have several models to suit different needs. Some models just display heart rate readouts. Some models allow U to set lower & upper limits so U can set Ur target training zone.

The ultimate ones of course have so many features that might not be that useful to casual runners (unless U have the budget, of course). These can record Ur workouts & allow U to analyze so many things. Some can also measure the distance U've run, some can also record mileage for particular shoes Ur using.

When I started running I just used a simple Timex 1440 sportswatch. After about a year, when I started entering races, I bought the Timex Fitness HRM. Now that I wanna go faster in races (plus the fact that the Timex is no longer reliable), I use Polar RS300x SD.

The device itself won't make U go faster. But the way U use it, U can train more effectively when U know how hard exactly Ur running. U can follow a training program & prevent from going too hard on easy days, too easy on hard days. U can learn to push Urself, discover the limits of Ur body. I can go on & on about this, but in the end, it depends on Ur running goal.

I think ccube uses Garmin, I think FR60 (right, ccube ?). Garmin Forerunner 405 also is am advanced model, uses GPS to measure distances.
Cool. Thnks for the info. Very well said. I would like to consider having one once I've proven to myself that this is the path that I want to take (Again, I'm just person who just want to have some sort of exercise aside from going to gym. Im still not sure if running will be my lifestyle for life). I think after running Penang&Singapore Marathon, then I will know.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 02:14 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Oct 22 2009, 01:58 PM)
Johannbeckham: Well... Just don't pressure yourself too much. It's your first time. Enjoy it and soak up the experience. All the best.
Thanks phoenix for the encouragement. Yeah, I have no pressure at all for all I'm thinking is that I'm just running for myself and not competing against anyone (I dun think its impossible for me to win against all those Kenyan's Running Cyborgs out there. They're born to be runners). At the end of the day, I just want to have a fitter body and a healthy lifestyle, that's all. For me finishing 21k for KL Marathon last June, 11K Siemens Run, 21k Adidas King of the Road last Aug, 21k Penang Marathon next month and hopefully finishing 42k Singapore Marathon this December is such a great achievement already. It's a great improvement from just simply running 5k runs last year. I'm just 29 and I know I still have more races to go.

By the way guys, I've found this site runnersworld.com to be very helpful. I got a lot of tips on how to train. Now I'm following this training program here The Rookie Marathon Training Program and I'm on my 10th week already. Do you have any other resource for training plans except for what's there in Runnersworld?

Added on October 22, 2009, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 22 2009, 02:09 PM)
Hi bro, the nike+ sportband is also a great cheap alternative.
Besides the usual heart rate, distance, calories etc you can also upload your run data into your pc to check your progress and to plan your exercises.
And don't worry about the sensor like i mentioned in my post earlier, u don't need nike shoes for it.
You can just attach it to the shoes ur currently using.
And best of all, it's RM229.
Pretty cheap for something that can track your running distance.

Watch:

Sensor:
whoa! This is kinda cheap. I check for Forerunner 50 watch + heart-rate monitor and it's cause more than RM500. THis is the way to go man. Where can I buy this stuff? Has anyone ever tried using this?

This post has been edited by Johannbeckham: Oct 22 2009, 02:20 PM
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 02:54 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(steveysl @ Oct 22 2009, 02:50 PM)
runnersworld has lots of info. you can also try this http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/index.html

all the best in your races.
thanks dude! The site looks neat.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 22 2009, 03:23 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 22 2009, 03:16 PM)
Most training programs I've seen only specify the distance or time U have to run, plus at what pace. They dun put there how hard U have to run, in terms of heart rate la. So, actually, U'll do just fine with Nike Sportsband.

I also check out these sites : Cool Running and Active.com Running microsite.
Im just curious, is there such a website where they give free training plan for marathons that does not just have distance, pace or time you have to run but also the intensity of the run in terms of heart rate? It is really cool if there is such so that if ever I consider buying Garmin Forerunner watches, I can better maximize it's full capacity.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 23 2009, 08:04 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 22 2009, 11:09 PM)
No man...didn't register and never ever raced in my life before.
And 1 hour 5min is super slow lol. Read online that normal guys usually run 10k's at 45 min.  sweat.gif
And the wave run isn't like my normal running which is quite flat.
It's really hilly. Slopes here and there.
I dun run 10k in 45 mins sweat.gif . Definitely more than that (1 hour i think) rclxub.gif . Still I think I'm still normal. Those who run 42k in less than 2 hours 10mins I think is not normal for only few people can really run that fast rclxms.gif
Johannbeckham
post Oct 23 2009, 03:27 PM

78 posts

Guys, I want to ask for advice/tips with regards to the best way of loosing weight while training for marathon without starving yourself or any crash diet (because we need to eat appropriately while we're training right?cause we need food to fuel our body for this kind of sport). See, I'm 173cm, 85kg and I think my weight is really wearing me down running for long runs. I think it is my weight that causes the side of knees to hurt during long runs. Tonight I plan to run 11k from my place in Sec 14 then Jalan University all the way to Jalan Gasing, PJ Hilton and back to my place. Hopefully I will be able to finish the run without hurting my knees again.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 26 2009, 10:08 AM

78 posts

congratulations to all of y'all who finish the race. Too bad, I was not able to join this run coz I was in Singapore last weekend. I just hope to see some of you guys for Penang Marathon.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 26 2009, 11:15 PM

78 posts

Guys, Anyone here joining 42k in Singapore Marathon. As the days go by I feel more anxious for I know I still lack training and it's too late now (been very busy in the past few months). But Anyway I'll still try my very best, since my only goal is to finish the race (hopefully not crawling but running). If anyone of you training for Singapore Marathon, where are you guys usually running? Because I usually run alone in my area in PJ (Sec 14 area). I wish to run with anyone training for 42k so that i somehow have an idea.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 27 2009, 11:37 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 10:54 AM)
@Johannbeckham
Where do run in PJ Sec 14?
I am frm SS2 PJ, My runs norm take me to JayaOne, DutchLady, DUMC biggrin.gif

We could meet up smile.gif

Anyone else frm PJ area?
Yes, Tonight around 08:00PM I plan to run from my place in Sec 14/1 (You know where Millenium Tower Condo is?)going to Jaya One all the way to Jalan Gasing, PJ Hilton and back to my place.

Anyone else from PJ area here?
Johannbeckham
post Oct 27 2009, 02:19 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 12:43 PM)
harlo

hmm.gif won't be able to join you today if your starting at 8pm today sad.gif
brick training for me today (if the weather is good)

Run  -5km
Bike -34km
Run  -4km

Join me? hehe brows.gif
tak boleh... i dun have a bike yet. tri-bike is so expensive.
Johannbeckham
post Oct 28 2009, 09:36 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Oct 28 2009, 09:16 AM)
hey there...yeah ill be going for the 42km Marathon in Singapore...but im from Penang,
just came back after the TNF 50KM duo, gosh legs are in a world of pain, never knew trail running can be fun yet so challenging, Ccube taikor! ran 50KM my gawd i dont know howd u managed to do it man...superman notworthy.gif

my next runs are Penang Bridge 21KM  and Singapore Mara hope to do better than my previous time of 4:57 for Sundown

good to see so many posts biggrin.gif
hi triple02~ Yeah, Im also running Penang 21k ang Singapore 42k. 50kmtrail running?Wow, I wish I could do that too.
Johannbeckham
post Nov 16 2009, 02:57 PM

78 posts

hope to see some of you in Penang this weekend.
Johannbeckham
post Nov 24 2009, 11:45 AM

78 posts

hi guys! I also run 21k Penang Bridge Marathon last Sunday. Oh man, i didn't have enough sleep (only 2 hours I think) coz we did alot of stuff when i came sat afternoon from KL and sleep late on Sat. It's was fun yet a boring run for me coz in the bridge there's not much to see, only people running, the road and the street lights that's all. Too bad, i didn't bring any mp3 player to keep me entertained while running.

0.0546sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:56 AM