thinking of running 1/2 M for SG. anyone?
Runnerz... #3, All about running...
Jul 15 2009, 02:40 PM
300 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Seremban |
thinking of running 1/2 M for SG. anyone?
Jul 15 2009, 05:48 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jul 15 2009, 05:51 PM
3,300 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 15 2009, 05:48 PM) I totally agree. Thank God, I was able to experience my FIRST half marathon there. Really, it was a wonderful experience.Running in the middle of Singapore city. 100% traffic closure. Fast and efficient race management.. |
Jul 15 2009, 06:09 PM
2,529 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kota D'sara |
I hear ASICS. Haha... Sorry, was busy and not able to online the whole day till evening.
scoop7: You got PM! |
Jul 15 2009, 06:22 PM
See I told you scoop!
Enjoy hahahaha |
Jul 15 2009, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jul 15 2009, 05:51 PM) I totally agree. Thank God, I was able to experience my FIRST half marathon there. Really, it was a wonderful experience. never run in SG... Running in the middle of Singapore city. 100% traffic closure. Fast and efficient race management.. it would me my 1st oversea marathon... |
Jul 15 2009, 07:14 PM
1,074 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Ampang, Selangor, MY |
Jul 15 2009, 08:20 PM
5,612 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
i was told 10k will be damn congested in SCSM. 60k target. Maybe slightly less than half of them in 10k....
in our disgraceful SCKLM, we have 4k+ only........can picture the crowd |
Jul 15 2009, 08:44 PM
Jul 15 2009, 11:42 PM
wonder should i target full marathon for SG.
Jul 16 2009, 12:19 AM
sigh....
now still can not register online... sigh... wasted my waiting effort!!! sigh... |
Jul 16 2009, 01:56 AM
Jul 16 2009, 05:53 AM
222 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Runnerz, do you think it's advisable for me to go for my first full marathon debut at SCSM when the max I can go at my comfortable pace now is only <15km?
It's less than 5 months away but almost another 30 km to gain is the main question that's playing in my head. What do u guys think? Just do it? |
Jul 16 2009, 08:53 AM
try a 21K first then go for the full.
I have registered 21k for BIM. now thinking should I go for SCSM for full. first got to go back to training first. |
Jul 16 2009, 08:58 AM
222 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jul 16 2009, 09:23 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
@shahwan86
You'll be able to run it. Will you be able to recover from it? (especially when you hv such small window from end of puasa month to the marathon day itself) I ran my first half mara 3 weeks before running my full marathon. I was able to finish it but I'm hving such a hard time recovering from it. The finisher tshirt sucks also. Haih Running half for SG. Aim for sub-2:45 |
Jul 16 2009, 09:42 AM
shahwan86, Syd G is right. PBIM and SCSM is just 2 weeks apart, so you might not have enough time to recover. My plan is run BIM (Borneo Int) half, which already reg. Now is the SCSM, still thinking to do half or full.
My friend doing full for both. so, have running partner. |
Jul 16 2009, 09:51 AM
270 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
BIM is more costly than SCSM right? Gian nak lari full la. Despite being a turtle, I don't mind doing it again. After all, I'm not gonna do SCKLM 2010
Jul 16 2009, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(shahwan86 @ Jul 16 2009, 05:53 AM) Runnerz, do you think it's advisable for me to go for my first full marathon debut at SCSM when the max I can go at my comfortable pace now is only <15km? Shah,It's less than 5 months away but almost another 30 km to gain is the main question that's playing in my head. What do u guys think? Just do it? 4 months shud be sufficient to build up ur endurance. But the only problem for you is the puasa month break, that will disrupt ur training. If u can hack it, then just aim for completion of the run with no timing in mind. Taking into consideration ur endurance level is low ie <15k. Aug - Sept: Base training ie make sure u can clock weekly mileage of 30k-40k. And Sat/Sun will be a longer run of 15k to 20k Oct - Nov: Your weekly mileage shud be hitting 40k to 50k. Sat/Sun LSD shud be alternating between 25k, 28k and 30k+ This is a very tight program bcos you dont have a base foundation and the puasa month will disrupt ur training. if u think u can hack it, i will draw out a more detail prg for you to follow. |
Jul 16 2009, 11:40 AM
2,715 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: The backyards of boleh land |
did anyone manage to register for the SG mara yet? my kan cheong friends so kiasu wana register scared no place...
CCube going for the full mara in Singapore? nice and easy training plan you posted man...im at least targetting to complete the Singapore Marathon around 4.00-4.15 since its a pretty flat terrain lots of speedwork and tempo and LSD ahead... |
| Change to: | 0.0277sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:17 PM |