[Mini Review and Testing]Aerocool Iceland, How well does it perform?

TSx-1o8-x
post Jul 11 2009, 09:10 AM, updated 17y ago

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

Aerocool Iceland Water Cooling Kit

Introduction
Aerocool has finally released a water cooling kit that is affordable and is the first to use a combination of column heat pipe technology in their water block called the Ice Freezer. The water cooling kit comes with an UV reactive water block, UV reactive reservoir, a pump that is capable of pumping 500l/hr with a life span of up to 70,000 hours and a radiator fitted with a 12cm blue LED fan.
The Aerocool Iceland is available in Lowyat for a price of RM150

Features

Specification

The Water Cooling Kit

How the box looks like

The WC kit

The base of the water block. The base is actually smooth although the surrounding looks rough

The reservoir and pump are combined

The radiator

This is how the blue LED fan looks like when its turned on in the dark. Actual color is slightly greenish blue.
TSx-1o8-x
post Jul 11 2009, 09:10 AM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

Installation

There are two systems used in the test.

The first system is an Intel Pentium Dual Core which previously was using Xigmatek Achilles S-1284 equipped with one delta 12cm fan that has a rating of 83cfm. I had the original Aerocool fans removed and replaced them with 2 delta fans rated @ 83cfm on a push and pull configuration as shown below. The casing used is Raidmax O2

The second system is an Intel Core 2 Quad which previously was using ThermalRight IFX-14 equipped with three sanyo denki san ace 12cm fan that has a rating of 103cfm each. I had the original Aerocool fans removed and replaced them with 2 sanyo denki san ace fans on a push and pull configuration as shown below. The casing used is Cooler Master HAF 932

There were some issues installing the wc kit on the first system. After installing the water block onto the processor, I was going to fix it onto the casing, and while doing so, I find it weird that my motherboard couldn't lay flat onto the motherboard tray. I took it up and looked behind, and I found out the screws that is used to bolt the water block to the backplate is too long. I had to loosen it if I were to make the motherboard fit into the motherboard tray with no issues. This is because the casing has no retaining holes, as shown below

The only way I could install the motherboard onto the tray was by loosening the screws. Surprisingly, the water block is still held tight. However is also the fear of the screws touching the motherboard tray, and possibly short circuiting the processor, thus I used a simple method of using loy tape to cover the metal backplate and screws

The second system had no issues with the installation, due to its large internal area and there's a retaining hole at the back of the motherboard, allowing the screws to protrude out

The Testbed
System 1:
CPU: Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200
Motherboard: Asus P5K Pro
RAM: 2x2GB Corsair XMS2
GPU: PowerColor HD4670 512MB DDR3
PSU: Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 460W
Stress Software: LinX - Simply Linpack 2048MB, 3 Runs
Temperature Monitoring Software: RealTemp, SpeedFan

System 2:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650
Motherboard: Asus P5Q3
RAM: 2x2GB Kingston KVR1333
GPU: PowerColor HD4670 512MB DDR3
PSU: FSP Everest 80 PLUS 600W
Stress Software: LinX - Simply Linpack 2048MB, 3 Runs
Temperature Monitoring Software: RealTemp, SpeedFan

Setup
There will be 2 tests done for each system. Both tests are run in overclocked state.
System 1 will first run @ 3.2GHz, 1.15000v, and then overclocked further to 3.8GHz, 1.32500v, using both Xigmatek Achilles S-1284 and Aerocool Iceland.
System 2 will first run @ 3.6GHz, 1.17500v, and then overclocked further to 4.0GHz, 1.31250v, using both ThermalRight IFX-14 and Aerocool Iceland.

Results

System 1: Test 1

System 1: Test 2

System 2: Test 1

System 2: Test 2

Conclusion

Aerocool Iceland performed rather well when compared to Xigmatek Achilles. It's cheap price of around RM150 makes it a true competitor against one of our favorite heatsinks. Sadly though, when against a high end heatsink like the IFX-14, the difference is rather apparent. 3c to 5c may not sound much, but this little of a difference is what makes a cooler extremely expensive or cheap. When used on a highly clocked quad core processor, the heatsink is unable to cope with the heat produced from the processor. But hey, what do you expect from a RM150 all-in-one water cooling kit?

I would recommend this cooler to those that don't really clock their processor to a very high state. One of the main factors is its cheap price, and secondly, it would look nice in your rig, provided you have UV CCFL or LED biggrin.gif

Last but not least, thank you to Alexes for selling this wonderful wc kit to me, and thanks for viewing biggrin.gif

PS: sorry for the bad pic quality... i know i suck at taking pics >"<

This post has been edited by x-1o8-x: Jul 11 2009, 09:11 AM
-pWs-
post Jul 11 2009, 09:25 AM

8,545 posts

It seems like this WC cannot really tame the temp when loaded. hmm.gif
But after all, a nice n cheap WC. smile.gif

-pWs-
TSx-1o8-x
post Jul 11 2009, 09:58 AM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jul 11 2009, 09:25 AM)
It seems like this WC cannot really tame the temp when loaded. hmm.gif
But after all, a nice n cheap WC. smile.gif

-pWs-
its a cheap wc afterall... but linx 2gb is stressing way beyond normal circumstances sweat.gif
real world load temp should be 7~9c lower than above value biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by x-1o8-x: Jul 11 2009, 10:08 AM
POKAUS
post Jul 11 2009, 04:00 PM

182 posts

cheap..but hot temp on load.. sweat.gif
OC4/3
post Jul 11 2009, 04:42 PM

4,746 posts

Hahha.......Cheap WC getting butt raped by heatsink kaw kaw laugh.gif
See,guys told you guys that cheap WC usually is bad and really bad biggrin.gif
cinbao
post Jul 12 2009, 03:37 AM

380 posts

Pros : Cheap, silent compare with high speed fan air cooling, cool look.

Cons : Alluminium Base Water Block, Small Radiator size, 120mm fans low CFM, all kill the performance.
myee
post Jul 21 2009, 08:57 AM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

if change the small radiator size to a biggest one such as product from swifttech which selling by bro clawhammer...the result is it will be a better?
phat_mcjack
post Jul 21 2009, 09:23 AM

683 posts

i was thinkinh of doing dis too...but suddeny d problem arise.....the barbs must be same size???wats d size for dis aerocool wc???
sorry but very new to wc system....can any1 help to clear me out and cheer me pls??
myee
post Jul 21 2009, 10:54 AM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

Wow that means if i wanna extend to use the GPU Wc...the barb oso must be the problem?
keeting89
post Jul 21 2009, 11:04 AM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

btw.. the Qually control by aerocool make them lost customers..
doob
post Jul 21 2009, 11:00 PM

[S]ingle[A]vailable[D]esperate
853 posts

is it worth to buy or not??
coz i only use stock cooling
apihblind
post Jul 21 2009, 11:42 PM

308 posts

aww its hella cheap meh??
may this fix into normal ATX casing??despite the itching installation on the 1st system but u manage to make it wok rite??.Wanna try this kit if possible XP
myee
post Jul 21 2009, 11:48 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

well the price is RM150, normal using is worth to buy but if u wanna look for oc purpose the get ur self a COOLIT ready made WC oso with price at RM350.00...
apihblind
post Jul 22 2009, 12:48 AM

308 posts

yeap,not OC so much my amd blackie at 3.0 oni with C/M sphere i think dis will serve well thumbup.gif ,opss seing the siggy u using it now drool.gif
TSx-1o8-x
post Jul 22 2009, 08:50 AM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(apihblind @ Jul 21 2009, 11:42 PM)
aww its hella cheap meh??
may this fix into normal ATX casing??despite the itching installation on the 1st system but u manage to make it wok rite??.Wanna try this kit if possible XP
yerp... it works... still tight although i've loosen up the screws alot smile.gif
keeting89
post Jul 22 2009, 09:32 AM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

Btw if u using WC there are no good in air flow inside the rig wor..
coz the pipe attached from the processor to the sink there..
lichyetan
post Jul 22 2009, 10:23 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(myee @ Jul 21 2009, 08:57 AM)
if change the small radiator size to a biggest one such as product from swifttech which selling by bro clawhammer...the result is it will be a better?
i guess there will be some improvement with 3x120mm or 2x120mm radiator, even with other brand of 120mm radiator, there will still be improvement.

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Jul 21 2009, 09:23 AM)
i was thinkinh of doing dis too...but suddeny d problem arise.....the barbs must be same size???wats d size for dis aerocool wc???
sorry but very new to wc system....can any1 help to clear me out and cheer me pls??
measure the tubing size (inner diameter) of ur tubings. if 3/8 ID then just grab the 3/8 OD barbs for the tubings, i think the aerocool iceland are 3/8 ID tubing size if not remember wrongly, read in somewhere b4. definitely not 1/2 ID tubings from the look. most wc component out there are G 1/4" threaded, exclude thermaltake i am saying swiftech, black-ice etc...

QUOTE(myee @ Jul 21 2009, 10:54 AM)
Wow that means if i wanna extend to use the GPU Wc...the barb oso must be the problem?
barb shouldnt be a problem, just get the correct size, u can grab any 3rd party block, as long as u got the correct barb tht support the correct tubings size. U can seek out lotsa forumer here as i see quite a lot of ppl selling wc accessories nowadays.

QUOTE(keeting89 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:32 AM)
Btw if u using WC there are no good in air flow inside the rig wor..
coz the pipe attached from the processor to the sink there..
The cooling around the proc will affected, as no airflow from the waterblock. I mean if using air cooling, ur PWM will be cooled by air exhausted from the heastsink, on water cooling components around the waterblock have no airflow.

@x-1o8-x
u still running this WC setup in ur rig ? or revert back to high end air cooling with those monster fans ady ... ? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Jul 22 2009, 10:29 AM
TSx-1o8-x
post Jul 22 2009, 01:37 PM

Prosekaist
1,250 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jul 22 2009, 10:23 AM)
@x-1o8-x
u still running this WC setup in ur rig ? or revert back to high end air cooling with those monster fans ady ... ?  laugh.gif
revert balik to air cooling la @@... but right now running passive... fans turned on only when i wan oc biggrin.gif

0.0209sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:08 AM