tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 09:13 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@zc_squash,
I believe nokia2003 has given U his reply. I'm not fully experiencing by 3G services until recently so I will need a couple of months to be able to determine 'fair' usage tongue.gif but U can take nokia2003's usage as your guide biggrin.gif

And.. to the forummer I commented on the iData 1 plan, sorry I overlooked - there's no contract on that one so it's really the same price as the Hotlink plan biggrin.gif

leecwai
post Jul 16 2009, 09:17 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jul 16 2009, 08:56 PM)
@tinkerbell

Just a thought really wink.gif I... ermm... actually haven't have my phone yet sad.gif My friend is only coming back this Saturday so... It's a black 16gb though!

Anyway do you happen to know how much is the rate for data usage if i'm on iValue 50 plan? I don't really know if I need the extra iData plan or not. After all, on my old iPhone I don't have GPS and surfing on the EDGE network is a bit too slow so I've never used it. I also turned off Push notification on my old iPhone.

Having said that, I am not too sure how much is enough for data usage. Would appreciate if you can share some of your experience!
Just to share my data usage :

I am currently using Digi Unlimited Data on my Iphone 2G. My data activities are
1) Working days internet tethering on OSK sites only.
2) Email fetch every 15 mins for Gmail and Yahoo
3) Daily once upto twice checking for update on Cydia
4) IM chat through internet tethering - but chat time not frequent
5) Occasionally 4 -5 times/month App update through Appstore
5) And lately enabled push notification (last 1 week) for my IM.

With the mentioned activity, my data usage recorded upto 800MB. I believe it might shoot up to 1GB if I have push notification on for 24/7.
Because currently i set it to turn off push notification after 4 hrs.

I also booked my Iphone 3GS. Now in dilemma whether I should take prepaid, then sign up with maxis unlimited data plan or celcom unlimited plan..., or to take up Maxis ivalue 2 plan. rclxub.gif

Really scare the ivalue plan of 1GB data won't be sufficient if I started to use GPS.... sweat.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 09:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@leecwai,
Thank U for the clarification on usage - I hope the rest of the forummers are clear now *smiles* U sure use your iPhone 2G v well and I'm v sure U will enjoy your experience with the iPhone v much better with ur brand new i3GS biggrin.gif

No one can tell U which is the most suitable plan because only U know what your needs are but basically I find the iValue plans cut throat plans tongue.gif
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:34 PM

367 posts

My data usage :

I have been using iValue 100 since march with iPhone 3G. I only activate 3G when i am away from my desk, lunch, after office hour, and weekend. this is because i have wifi connection at office and Home.

My 3G data activities are
1) GPS during weekend explore new places - avg. 2 hours p/week tongue.gif
2) Email fetch every 1 hour for Gmail, Yahoo & hotmail - avg 2 hrs/day ( i dont usually receive large email or attachment)
3) Push mail for Office - exchange and MobileMe - avg 2 hrs/day
4) Internet Access, Apps store browing - avg 2 hr/day
5) IM chat (WIth push notificaton) 24 hours online , chating - avg 2 hr/day
6) RSS news feeder - i subscripberd 15 news feeder - avg 1 hr/day

After 4 months, my average is 350MB per/mth. i have been using it extreme careful due to "Maxis" has no way for us (and themselves) to check usage (only way is to keep track from iphone ourself). So i try to connect to wifi most of the time smile.gif

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 09:43 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 09:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vui_msia,
Er.. just to check; how much of the (1)-(6) are done via Wifi? Any possibility of gauging actual 3G data ? Or is the above actual 3G data? tongue.gif
leecwai
post Jul 16 2009, 09:39 PM

233 posts

The only advantages for unlimited data is you don't have to worry about Maxis sending you a big Angpow at the end of the month, and best of all no need to keep an eye on the data usage at all.
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 09:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@leecwai,
Yeah sort off but that 'unlimited' is capped at 3GB yeah? biggrin.gif
leecwai
post Jul 16 2009, 09:42 PM

233 posts

I think for vui_msia the data usage will be quite high if he doesn't has any wifi to cover during office hour.

1GB should be a comfortable range if no youtube viewing....

This post has been edited by leecwai: Jul 16 2009, 09:43 PM
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:45 PM

367 posts

@leecwai

yeah, iPhone alrady part of my life.. lol commincation, news readers, Timetable, alarm, reminder...

@Tink

Sorry, it was a bit confusing. Just updated the post.

well, yeah,, these are 3G data, when i have no wifi.

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 09:45 PM
^prion^
post Jul 16 2009, 09:46 PM

33 posts

standard warranty for iphone should be 1 year.
If i subscribe to any 24 months plan, anyone knows whether the warranty will be extended to cover that period.. ie 24 months?
nokia2003
post Jul 16 2009, 09:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Jul 16 2009, 09:46 PM)
standard warranty for iphone should be 1 year.
If i subscribe to any 24 months plan, anyone knows whether the warranty will be extended to cover that period.. ie 24 months?
at the moment, there is no ACPP for the iPhone., to extend the warranty beyond a year,

ACPP for the iPhone is only available to countries, in which the retail apple store has officially step its foot in that said country (for example australia)
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:48 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(leecwai @ Jul 16 2009, 09:39 PM)
The only advantages for unlimited data is you don't have to worry about Maxis sending you a big Angpow at the end of the month, and best of all no need to keep an eye on the data usage at all.
yeah, my colleague who bought iphone 2G earlier didnt aware of that, end up with RM250 for the bills.. normal usage before get his iphone was RM30 . lol
^prion^
post Jul 16 2009, 09:49 PM

33 posts

thanks for reply.
this means maxis does not have the obligation for warranty 2 years even though its contract 2 years with them.
hmmm....
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 10:15 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vui_msia,
I just checked the bill on my Maxis, other than them billing me RM99 for the Unlimited plan, they don't even give a mere indication of how much data was used! #$$^^& so I'm gonna need to figure out how to get that information; I can't be requesting for it every month right?! iSh.. maybe ask my Insider if he can do it for me biggrin.gif

@^prion^,
Don't think there'll be an extended warranty period for the iPhones unless Apple introduces the ACPP through Maxis.

@leecwai,
I don't think Celcom's coverage will be a problem. As to their speed, probably same as Maxis *shrugs* Well U could check with forummers using Celcom (ahem: stringfellow)

@k3v1n,
Er.. U take total value mah. Sorry but I didn't study the SingTel plans. Can't comment but don't just look at the price U need to pay for the phone, look at the total price. Also, the exchange rate makes a lot of difference.

@jonest,
Cannot.. ACPP for iPhones are limited to local warranty.
jonest
post Jul 16 2009, 10:26 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 10:15 PM)
@vui_msia,
I just checked the bill on my Maxis, other than them billing me RM99 for the Unlimited plan, they don't even give a mere indication of how much data was used! #$$^^& so I'm gonna need to figure out how to get that information; I can't be requesting for it every month right?! iSh.. maybe ask my Insider if he can do it for me biggrin.gif
I believe u can check it online, google maxis broadband....
click here: Maxis Broadband

This post has been edited by jonest: Jul 16 2009, 10:33 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 10:41 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jonest,
Ahh.. thanks but I've never successfully logged on and contacted Maxis several times on this matter to no avail. I finally gave up and always contacted them by phone when I needed information. Anyhow I thought that would only access our Online Bill Statement - the information in terms of data usage is not even shown in the bill so I doubt it'll be shown on that website either !
jonest
post Jul 16 2009, 10:45 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 10:41 PM)
@jonest,
Ahh.. thanks but I've never successfully logged on and contacted Maxis several times on this matter to no avail.  I finally gave up and always contacted them by phone when I needed information.  Anyhow I thought that would only access our Online Bill Statement - the information in terms of data usage is not even shown in the bill so I doubt it'll be shown on that website either !
I used to use their mobile broadband, online will tell u ur usage!!! thumbup.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 10:48 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jonest,
Oh.. so by hook or by crook I need to get Maxis to troubleshoot until I can log in?! Ugh.. I oredi tried like so many times.. oK.. I'll try again.. thanks for the info but I think I'll still check with Maxis Insider if he can get it for me easily, if he can then muahaha I get him to give me lah smile.gif
zc_squash
post Jul 16 2009, 11:16 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jul 16 2009, 09:10 PM)
i will answer this part for the last time as i'm pretty sure this has been repeated a few times. anyway regulars can quote my example and the provided website, should anyone stumbles upon another similar question.
Thanks Nokia wink.gif The site that you mentioned is helpful. I usually do search around a bit before asking but alas, I fall into the i-lazy-to-search trap too sometimes. Apologies! Anyway it's good to hear what others say about their data usage smile.gif

Cheers!

p/s: Just sold off my iPhone and miss it right away. Was trying to look for a meaning of a word just now only to realize I don't have my phone with me...and hence, without my dictionary. Sigh sad.gif
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 11:24 PM

367 posts

@tink..

yep, they r stupid... makesure you have itemise billing activated. even though it is free and ONLY way to know your usage. but they don't activate it by default.

when you have itemise billing activated, it will show a lum sum figure in your phone bill eg... how many MB have you use, how much it costs based on normal charges per KB.. then it will display all data charges waived

Added on July 16, 2009, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(alanelf @ Jul 16 2009, 11:20 PM)
lolz the unlimited is the iData3 3gb plan lo.... coz you wont use up to 3gb wan....their speed is so slow
lol, may be first 3GB is 3G speed, then after that is EDGE speed..

hm.. you guys aware that one of the new features in 3GS is support 7.2Mpbs 3G speed. wondering when Maxis will upgrade it .... our neighbor singtel already have that upgraded for 3GS blink.gif

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 11:27 PM

128 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:47 PM