Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?

tzxsean
post Jun 9 2011, 03:21 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

URGENT!!

anyone with iPhone battery drain
try and dl free app called Netstat

and check for the sockets (active=green, inactive=red)
I had those sockets with over 14k hours duration

i had a feeling these are the culprit

can someone check back with me?
tzxsean
post Jun 9 2011, 09:43 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

yes..tat 1

i got over 14k hours

i duno how I got it

ppl said push.apple.com socket is from app store

so sign it out would be saving battery drain?

but I'm so stunned when I saw other 14k hours ++ duration things

but I dont know wads that and how to remove
tzxsean
post Jun 9 2011, 12:17 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

yea... my fren only got iPhone for 1 year and a half
but got around 600 days of connection
tzxsean
post Jun 26 2011, 01:58 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jun 25 2011, 01:56 AM)
now i found out another issue. My 3GS battery percentage can drop easily in a glimpse. For example the battery showing 90% when i was in a springboard, it can drop to 85% after i change the track from ipod. huh?? what is this man???
yes i had the same issue

sometimes i had 100% then if i open 1 program

immediately drop around 5-10%

i've no idea

and there are people already saying there's a buggy code

in latest iOS that "enable" apps continue to work in background

even after we terminate it already

smtg like tat
tzxsean
post Jul 9 2011, 05:49 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

my battery is so bad that
now I cant on my phone
when it's just right below 20% even i'm charging it using wall's
tzxsean
post Jul 16 2011, 11:37 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

let's see if iOS 4.3.4 helps in reducing/fixing battery problems
tzxsean
post Jul 16 2011, 10:01 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(zaxwin @ Jul 16 2011, 08:49 PM)
i found out that recently my battery drain very fast, previously it was still normal once i upgrade to ios 4.3.3.i encountered this problem two days ago,is there something wrong with my battery?
almost all facing this problem since 4.3

but some can solve it via some changes in settings

but not mine

for the tweaks u can go google it smile.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 03:33 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jgfs @ Jul 21 2011, 02:52 AM)
My 3GS suddenly shuts down when the battery is around 30-40%. Only happens when I'm using something, eg. Safari, apps. Anyone experienced this? It started when I updated to 4.3.3. No problems with 4.2.1
mine even classic 80% around oso can auto shut down
and when i use
can direct reduce 10-20% battery level

im planning to get new battery
kinda like dying

had no problems before 4.3
working gd in 4.2.1
after 4.3
all the nightmares came

tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 06:07 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jgfs @ Jul 21 2011, 06:05 PM)
Sean also facing the same problem? Dunno whether to change battery or buy an external batt. But the problem only occurs when I'm using apps. Maybe wait till I go overseas then go to an Apple store and ask them to check. If got problem then I'll probably change it.
yes
i already changed the battery just now
going to use for few days
and see if the problems occurs
if happened to me when I safari /fb/ game/ beejive/ twitter/whatsapp
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2011, 09:00 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jgfs @ Jul 21 2011, 08:40 PM)
Where did you change it? How much?
Penang, for RM95
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 10:09 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(boblp @ Jul 22 2011, 12:22 AM)
hows the result?

i encountered the same problem.. but i think mine are more weird... after sync.. my battery works ok.. normal lor.. can use for the whole day.. but if i didnt sync it for quite some time.. the battery will act funny.. half day almost finish.. thats weird rite.. haha
QUOTE(jgfs @ Jul 22 2011, 01:37 AM)
Yea, I searched already. Yezhacolic is charging around rm90 I think. But not sure about the quality. It will cost $80-90 in North America though. Waiting for Sean to give comments on the battery. From what boblp said, I'm not that confident in the quality.
so far quite gd
can definitely use the phone every function ( haven try GPS)
at battery % where I've long din reach b4
feel so satisfied laugh.gif

will try to calibrate it later
then monitor the usage
tzxsean
post Jul 22 2011, 06:59 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2011, 02:57 PM)
Good to hear that. When I read your post, I knew already that it cannot be 4.3.3. It has to be the battery.
erm
my iPhone 3GS only have 1 and half year life
but since last year dec or earlier
if not mistaken
after 4.2.1
my battery is getting bad (not yet worse)
and still not enough 1 year
only will auto off around 20% or sometimes lesser a lil bit
but wont auto off when using apps
canot remember until which version
really canot use my phone to the full potential at hall
or even half
charged 100% and use within4 hours
already auto restart when i surfing or using fb
with no notifications rclxub.gif

btw just now tried to calibrate my phone
auto turned off after down to 1%
i charged a while then it shows charging with 5% battery

p/s: I noticed it charge up very fast
now already 70% within 1 hour or 1 hour and little more

last time need charge around 3-4 hours only can get 100%

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jul 22 2011, 07:59 PM
tzxsean
post Aug 19 2011, 07:35 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(-j-t- @ Aug 19 2011, 06:09 PM)
well dude i have turn off everything and get the fact that when u lock your phone.. the only things that running is standby time but hey, my usage time rolling together..

thats the problem
sign out from app store via settings?

disable ping for iTunes
tzxsean
post Aug 25 2011, 11:56 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

i think smtg is wrong with my battery again

now draining at slightly faster pace compared to 1st few weeks i replaced it

and i din change any settings as well

any idea what happened?
tzxsean
post Aug 25 2011, 12:40 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:01 PM)
do u install any apps or games recently??try to uninstall it n observe the battery drain..  hmm.gif
not been syncing lately ... so i din dl anything unsure.gif
tzxsean
post Aug 25 2011, 01:13 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 25 2011, 01:10 PM)
have try reset the phone??have done a full cycle usage??  hmm.gif
just calibrate few days ago...

reset as in hard reset ? no haven done that
tzxsean
post Aug 25 2011, 04:33 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

i just reseted my phone
i think i found the problem

somehow the usage time is same with standby time again

i wonder what triggered this?
tzxsean
post Aug 25 2011, 04:54 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 25 2011, 04:40 PM)
looks like its a bug mate..BTW tr to calibrate the battery again n see whether the problem same or not...1 more thing turn off ur notifications mate...it might be the culprit of this problem...  hmm.gif
i think this happens randomly
i guess I should monitor the usage and standby time more often
tzxsean
post Aug 26 2011, 09:23 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Japp @ Aug 26 2011, 05:05 PM)
geezzz ,  out of sudden standby time = usage time. I tried to solve this problem by choosing "Reset all settings" and the problem will temporary solve, but the problem will be back after 2 days , not sure i already reset my phone for how many times d , maybe more than 100times, do let me know if there is any better solution, Thanks.
try reboot it
it's a random incident
i oso experienced it too....
tzxsean
post Aug 28 2011, 04:40 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 28 2011, 11:36 AM)
agree...it should be bugs problem but yet they didnt know which jb tools cause to this issue... nod.gif
i think facebook app might be the culprit

just now went out after 1 hour after full charged

and I only use whatsapp and fb

however after a while my battery kinds of like draining faster

thou I cant check the usage time because I only turn on notification after some usage after 100%

0.0402sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:04 AM