Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?
eugenechiuu
Aug 25 2009, 09:33 PM
Can anyone confirm with me whether turning ON the alarm would drain battery faster?? Cause normally throughout my whole sleep, the battery would drain ~1-2% only... But if I use a Wakeup alarm.. The battery would drain ~3-4%...
Oh yea and another thing... I've been diff things about Auto brightness ON n OFF to save battery... I think having it ON saves more battery.... What do other ppl think??
This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Aug 25 2009, 11:08 PM
eugenechiuu
Aug 26 2009, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Aug 26 2009, 09:40 AM) i think apple is upgrading their FW regarding battery drain. Maybe they will release it in FW 3.1....FW3.0.1 show nothing much in battery improvement....may be a bit kot...still my i3gs can stand one to two days till full drain. but drain faster than my i3g 3GS drains faster than 3G??? Seriously?? Is it under diff settings and Firmware?
eugenechiuu
Aug 27 2009, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Aug 27 2009, 11:19 AM) my 3GS can last for 3 - 4 days. Normal call & sms usage. A bit of wifi usage. That's all. wow.. tat's really good.... how often do u call n sms in a day??
eugenechiuu
Aug 27 2009, 08:15 PM
Ermm.. Can I ask whether it's bad for the iPhone's battery to charge overnight? Cause I often do that and am wondering whether it would affect the battery life in the future?
eugenechiuu
Sep 10 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(vanimon @ Sep 10 2009, 10:10 PM) Hmmm. I did not jailbreak my phone. I use it for a LOT of sales calls, in one day roughly 5 - 6 hours usage and maybe once in a while 3G is turned on to use the Maps feature to find my way around a new area. So far, my phone needs a recharge every 2nd day. By the 2nd day, it's hovering about 9% - 11% thereabouts. I have turned off location service, 3g, emails etc. I only turn them on when required.  wow.. I thought that's really good battery life? 2 days with total of 10-12 hours talk time.. That's really quite good.. I dun think I ever have usage of even 7 hours each charge..
eugenechiuu
Sep 11 2009, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(cool_evo7 @ Sep 11 2009, 02:34 PM) i just fully charged 100% then i reboot my iphone.... after the reboot i realise that the battery drop 7% within 1 minutes... so weird... Hmm.. Did you unplug immediately after full charging ur phone? Actually the battery percentage on the iPhone is not that accurate in truth... it's not necessary full eventhough the percentage says so, so what I always do is continue charging for a while more even when it has reached 100%..
eugenechiuu
Sep 12 2009, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(lucas_lik @ Sep 12 2009, 01:23 PM) yeah.. same feeling. The battery can last longer a bit after upgrade to 3.1 Would more ppl who upgraded to 3.1 clarify on this? I've been googling forums regarding battery life on 3.1, all I could see r mixed comment of better and worse... Regarding standby times, I am on 3.0.1 and would only have 0-1% drained throughout my sleep.. Settings with everything off of course.. So I doubt it's an improvement in 3.1...
eugenechiuu
Oct 23 2009, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(fx2800 @ Oct 23 2009, 08:29 AM) will turning off the Auto Brightness help to save battery life? leave that on... Turning off Auto Brightness would make ur screen the same bright all the time, auto brightness adjusts ur screen brightness according to ur lighting conditions n make it less bright sometimes..
eugenechiuu
Nov 12 2009, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 5 2009, 12:48 PM) finally found a way to disable cellular internet access but still able to receive/send mms! y is my iphone jb always in the Usage part is empty ? ---- ----  it happens when u installed smth from Cydia n respring ur phone...
eugenechiuu
Nov 19 2009, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 18 2009, 01:17 PM) mine is also the no. 3 Usage - 1hour 1min Standby - 2hours 35mins already 91% lol  I thought that's normal? U have like 1 hours usage and only 9% is used.. Normally a full charge will get only you around 6 hours usage n around 1 day++ hours of standby with push off...
eugenechiuu
Nov 20 2009, 07:34 PM
Guys, I have a question.. I am currently using iPhone 3GS JB'ed... I found out 1 of the causes of my battery draining very fast is because of the processes running in the background.. For example, after I checked mail n closed it, I still the mail process in the SB Settings, why is it so? And the iPod process is always on although I never turned it on... This is not good.. It's been draining my battery faster these days...