Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?

calvin_ng
post Feb 3 2010, 05:35 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

well they said the fix the battery (meter) reporting problem hahaha more accurate battery reading but did not touch on the issue,,, fishy...

aniways just TURN OFF PUSH and all will be fine

I have by Bluetooth on, my Location Service on and my Wifi is on!!! just turn off bladi PUSH and set fetch to 1 hour... It can last me whole day!!!

calvin_ng
post Feb 5 2010, 09:21 AM

1,583 posts

Hmm.... 3.1.3 did not solve battery problem... I feel not much difference also....

yes Wifi can sometime suck up alot of battery... but for me I have chargers stand by...

My car I used Griffin Power Jolt, pretty good it even charge my phone when I use GPS and 3G together... the power jolt has enough power to power all this stuff and charge your battery...

My office I have a apple adapter usb (free when I purchase my ipod touch) and home is my iphone charger adapter...

I charge my phone whenever I have to keep it at 100% (dont worry charging li-ion will not damage your phone as I did it to my ipod touch and it has been 3 years note great but still good, only HEAT will damage your battery) furthermore 3rd party replacement for iphone battery only RM150 smile.gif ok for me!!!

and with PUSH mail turn off, I do not even need a backup phone with me smile.gif can last me whole day and more tongue.gif

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Feb 5 2010, 09:23 AM
calvin_ng
post Feb 9 2010, 09:50 AM

1,583 posts

For OS3 the main culprit is the push email, I have notice by turning it off and set to fetch it can improve battery life by more than twice

also set your screen brightness to 1/3 of the slider and set auto brightness on as when you are outside at lease you can see your screen hehehe

I left by bluetooth and wifi on all the time 3g too

so far can last me 1 whole day

I also charge my phone when I got the chance like in car, office just plug it in it won't spoiled the battery.
calvin_ng
post Feb 9 2010, 01:28 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Feb 9 2010, 12:40 PM)
u turn off push email also the email app will somehow magically run on the background..stupid apple
it run on bg cause of fetch unless you set to manual laa or force quit the app lor
calvin_ng
post Feb 9 2010, 11:05 PM

1,583 posts

It may spoil your mac battery, although mac is sleeping it still runs and by putting it inside the back pack may generate some heat... And li-ion are sensitive to heat... Not such a great idea but can try and if the bat survive do let me know hhehehe
calvin_ng
post Feb 10 2010, 01:09 PM

1,583 posts

Yeap cause of heat and potentially may spoiled the bat
calvin_ng
post Feb 11 2010, 05:41 PM

1,583 posts

Hmm... check your cable too smile.gif