Battery Drain/Usage on iPhone 2G/3G/3GS/4, What to do? How? Solution?
Jon Cache
Aug 26 2009, 04:51 PM
Gyver, I think we know how to turn off the push function. But seriously, this has got to be a firmware problem. Most of the phones were fine before the update.
Whats the point of buying a smartphone if we have to turn off all the services? All the suggestions only point to turning this off, turning that off which really defeats the purpose. I don't know how you guys can accept buying a phone that markets itself as a do-it-everything phone which after you purchase, you are suggested not to use any of that. Maybe we shouldn't even turn on the phone, just let it sit in our pockets to look pretty.
I had a iPhone 3G and had most services turned on, the phone could at least last me for a day. Ever since I got the 3GS, the battery has been horrible. Even with everything turned off, the phone is depleting 1% every minute, for just sitting there with the screen locked.
I've restored the phone, redownload the firmware and reinstalling, create a new profile for the phone and nothing worked. It must be the 3.0.1 firmware.
Jon Cache
Aug 26 2009, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(geo-milano @ Aug 26 2009, 07:03 PM) Even someone had said FW3.1 will update about battery, but don't expect too much on it. It might nothing different after upgrade. The battery of i3gs basically is same with i3g. However, due to upgrade hardware on i3gs, and it need more energy to support those new hardware spec, so it is normal battery drain faster than i3g. You can tahan until 2 days, actually not bad already. Whether the battery is the same or not, should not be a concern for customers like us. They have marketed the battery life everywhere and now it seems to fall so short of it. I'm quite disappointed by Apple. You may be right that due to the upgrade of hardware, the battery might drain faster, but let's not forget the OS is also upgraded, which can also manage power more efficiently and effectively. Just like Windows and Mac, why is it both machines have similar hardware but Mac can run it better and with less problems?
Jon Cache
Aug 28 2009, 08:06 AM
Update:
I found that if the signal is stronger, the battery life improves dramatically. I switched out my sim card today to a different carrier and my battery life was back to normal.
Jon Cache
Aug 28 2009, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Aug 28 2009, 02:16 PM) That's not likely. Even with Airplane mode on for the whole time, it still drains at the same rate with the same usage. It IS possible. Its like having to shout louder to someone far away as oppose to talking to someone just beside you. It is a very logical theory.
Jon Cache
Aug 30 2009, 09:08 AM
I turn Location Services On, Push, and 3G on. My battery can last me for at least 1.5 days. It used to suck, but changing the carrier solved it for me.
Anyway, you can leave the iPhone charged for as long as 1-4 days. The battery doesn't overcharge. This is why all the speakers for iPods and iPhones provide charging capability, so they can sit there for a long time.
Jon Cache
Aug 30 2009, 11:30 PM
He probably doesn't use his phone as heavily as us which explains the long standby time versus usage time.
Anyhow, I wonder why would ppl always wait till their battery is flat before charging? It wastes a cycle of the battery life.
Jon Cache
Aug 31 2009, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Aug 31 2009, 07:25 AM) it's never a waste of cycle. if say u r a heavy user, and u have used ur phone till its battery shows 50% and u charge it till 100% and again u use it till it shows 50% and u charge another time to 100%. this is equivalent to using the phone till it goes flat and charge it till 100%. both are considered as one cycle. i believe it's explained in the iphone online manual. Thats exactly what I meant what. But so many people are waiting till its empty before charging. It would waste a cycle cos they get the chance to charge but they dont http://www.apple.com/batteries/This post has been edited by Jon Cache: Aug 31 2009, 02:12 PM
Jon Cache
Aug 31 2009, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(fuiyo @ Aug 31 2009, 09:29 PM) the reason why new 3G S are facing short battery lives are because they are new After using for some time it will be better. That can't be right. We don't hear many stories of new iPods having problems like that do we? Nor the new Macs. It can't be just because they are new.