Proton Savvy or Perodua Viva a better buy?, Problems/Suggestions about the two cars.
Jul 4 2009, 07:50 PM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
97 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Shah Alam |
I'm wondering which car is a better buy...So far i searched in the internet and it seems that the Savvy is a better buy because of the bigger engine and better handling...so any other things i should know? Like how much to maintain each car and also what is the difference between the Lite, Medium and Highline version of the Savvy?
Jul 4 2009, 08:29 PM
186 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: klang |
savvy service every 10k km.
lite = no power window, no foglamp, no sportrim, only black & white color. medium = power window, foglamp, 14" sportrim, no abs, no airbag high = power window, foglamp, 15" sportrim, abs, airbag |
Jul 4 2009, 09:01 PM
104 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
proton savvy....i am using it
what i like bout savvy 1. jimat minyak ( my average FC is 14km/l eventho i always step on the gas pedal hard and this is mostly city driving) 2. handling....love it. very stable eventho i am speeding at 170kmh. very responsive in city driving. 3. speed.....as i said earlier, it can reach 170kmh and the steering still not so vibrate (my only mod is K&N drop in air filter) 4. AMT......the feeling of changing the gear on your own is the best and yet still can drive in auto mode...to drive in manual or auto, the choice is up to you coz amt has both if i really going to change car later, these are what i'm going to miss the most from my savvy cons: i'll be very honest 1. problems...problems.....since mine is amt, got few problems such as sensor spoilt but i think the latest batch of savvy will not have much problems compared to earlier batch like mine. coz i think the latest one, the type of certain parts are difference alredy 2. the look? i think this is the matter of personal preferrence. as for me, i'm fine with the look and love it. |
Jul 4 2009, 10:26 PM
829 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: ☆柔弗洲 to 沙巴★ Status: Dori Dori |
I like the Viva's 90 degree open doors feature.
Jul 4 2009, 11:41 PM
1,116 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: SP,KL |
dun buy savvy AMT...manual ok...
i duno abt now la... mine was old batch.... jz changed.... the gear box really vampire changing the hydraulic pump nit 4k++ then sumore cannot guarantee no problem.... |
Jul 5 2009, 12:00 AM
727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Jul 4 2009, 11:41 PM) dun buy savvy AMT...manual ok... 4k??like change engine already.couple of friends of mine had problems with their amt too.manual should be okay,and better than vivai duno abt now la... mine was old batch.... jz changed.... the gear box really vampire changing the hydraulic pump nit 4k++ then sumore cannot guarantee no problem.... |
Jul 5 2009, 02:44 AM
2,844 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Yeah my colleague's AMT Savvy also had problems with the gearbox. But he said the manual should be okay.
Jul 5 2009, 03:00 AM
4,688 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://127.0.0.1 |
QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Jul 4 2009, 11:41 PM) dun buy savvy AMT...manual ok... 4k?i duno abt now la... mine was old batch.... jz changed.... the gear box really vampire changing the hydraulic pump nit 4k++ then sumore cannot guarantee no problem.... better off finding a Toyota Starlet Glanza halfcut and put into ur savvy mate. costs around that too. find auto halfcut if u don't fancy manual |
Jul 5 2009, 05:20 AM
178 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Viva anytime. Cheap n reliable to maintain. I must agree that savvy has got better handling, but it's not reliable at all.
Seen many savvy waiting for rescue at road sides. If final choice is still savvy, take the manual. AMT gives u more |
Jul 5 2009, 08:25 AM
259 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
i can recommend Viva.. Viva 1.0 is the best so far..
why? Saves almost everything.. the FC.. 24.5km/liter (based on the way u drive)..but as claimed by Perodua its suposed to be 18.7lkm/liter.. easy to maneuver fun to drive cheap for maintenance spare parts easy to obtain Savvy? i have tested once.. no offense.. the steering seems to be a bit stiff.. gearbox? dont even ask.. handling i can give it high scores.. but if u get a viva u need to tweak the system a bit.. (not more then 1k to spend.. basic mods) moral of the story.. go for viva.. haha..! |
Jul 5 2009, 10:36 AM
6,724 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Petaling |
dont forget to add one more thing for viva, in case of accident, ur survival rate is much lower than savvy in same collision condition
Jul 5 2009, 12:47 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Personally, I see Savvy as a more value-for-money car for younger people. Viva's more suited for older people in my opinion as the fun factor isn't really there.
Jul 5 2009, 02:34 PM
1,116 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: SP,KL |
QUOTE(icyd @ Jul 5 2009, 01:00 AM) 4k??like change engine already.couple of friends of mine had problems with their amt too.manual should be okay,and better than viva QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jul 5 2009, 04:00 AM) 4k? Ya....better off finding a Toyota Starlet Glanza halfcut and put into ur savvy mate. costs around that too. find auto halfcut if u don't fancy manual duno PESC got cannon me a not la... but i change car rather than changing the hydraulic pump... honestly, savvy is a good ride.... i still like it now.... if the gearbox no problem.... manual is good... fc is good.... when petrol is 1.80 per litre, the FC is 11 cents/ km |
Jul 5 2009, 02:46 PM
4,688 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://127.0.0.1 |
QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Jul 5 2009, 02:34 PM) Ya.... yeah, FC is good, and performance oso good. seen my friend outrun a satria neo 1.6, some honda city VTECs, wira 1.5 etc.. pretty good engine i'd say.duno PESC got cannon me a not la... but i change car rather than changing the hydraulic pump... honestly, savvy is a good ride.... i still like it now.... if the gearbox no problem.... manual is good... fc is good.... when petrol is 1.80 per litre, the FC is 11 cents/ km just that when it's made by proton, u know lah, problems will surface here and there.. |
Jul 5 2009, 02:50 PM
2,841 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
count my vote for savvy....
Jul 5 2009, 11:24 PM
104 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Jul 5 2009, 08:25 AM) i can recommend Viva.. Viva 1.0 is the best so far.. i would rather drive a stiff but very stable steering during those high speed driving than a not so stiff but wobbling/swaying/not stable steering in the same condition....juz my 2 cents why? Saves almost everything.. the FC.. 24.5km/liter (based on the way u drive)..but as claimed by Perodua its suposed to be 18.7lkm/liter.. easy to maneuver fun to drive cheap for maintenance spare parts easy to obtain Savvy? i have tested once.. no offense.. the steering seems to be a bit stiff.. gearbox? dont even ask.. handling i can give it high scores.. but if u get a viva u need to tweak the system a bit.. (not more then 1k to spend.. basic mods) moral of the story.. go for viva.. haha..! |
Jul 6 2009, 09:37 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Go for Savvy Manual. I drive one.
I've test drive 4 VIVAs(660, 880, 1.0 Manual And Auto) and 3 Savvy (2 Manual and 1 AMT) before i made my decision. Why i chose Savvy over Viva (1) More powerful engine. (2) Savvy's 4 cylinders engine vs Viva's 3 cylinders engine...the 3 cylinder vibrates like a motorbike when idle. Yuck. (3) Savvy's Handling like perfect. (4) Savvy has Power Steering. VIVA only have this in the 1.0 model if i'm not wrong. (5) Viva's has 'twitchy' gearstick (like toys). Savvy's gearstick feels solid and expensive. (6) Viva's cheap interior..even for the Premium...at 4xk at that time, better buy Myvi. (7) Savvy is stable at high speed. Try that with a VIVA...better not...don't feel safe at all. Overall Savvy has much much plus point than VIVA. The only possible pro of VIVA over Savvy is probably re-sale value due to the bad reputation and perception of Proton. It's funny how a crap car like VIVA can sell so much when there's better option around. But i seriously recommend against the Savvy AMT version...it's great drive, but once you got problems with the robotic clutch...you better go buy another car! Added on July 6, 2009, 9:46 am QUOTE(ilyas_jamal @ Jul 5 2009, 08:25 AM) Savvy? i have tested once.. no offense.. the steering seems to be a bit stiff.. gearbox? dont even ask.. handling i can give it high scores.. but if u get a viva u need to tweak the system a bit.. (not more then 1k to spend.. basic mods) The Savvy's power steering is hydraulic power steering. It is much more steady and precise while preventing oversteering. Unlike VIVA, turn a bit like the whole car go one side...dangerous at high speed. And the gearbox is solid but if you're use to driving kei cars like VIVA then you might have problem adjusting.And remember, VIVA only have power steering in the 1.0 models...try with 3 adults in a 660 model wtih no power steering. Turning from a standstill traffic light is so freaking heavy! And no matter how much you tweak the VIVA, you ain't gonna get Lotus style handling... This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 6 2009, 09:54 AM |
Jul 6 2009, 09:47 AM
224 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Around JB |
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jul 5 2009, 10:36 AM) dont forget to add one more thing for viva, in case of accident, ur survival rate is much lower than savvy in same collision condition Very very agree... I bump 2 times on other people car but my car is ok not even have a dent on it... but the car i bump hehe dent and scratch... Not only safety you can save the repair fee alot too.... |
Jul 6 2009, 11:11 AM
According to Motor Trader the May 2009 car sales statistics show that a lot of people are still buying Viva, even though so many people in LYN don't like it. The Savvy is not even in the top 50 list. I think it's because many people are now picking Saga over Savvy and Viva.
Jul 6 2009, 11:25 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
hmmmm, after all based on my experience drive these 2 cars.. savvy and viva 1.0 cc, i'll go for savvy...
come on... honestly, savvy have more big cc and bigger space rather than produa viva.. and some more, savvy have better handling and response... about the problemo, every cars have problemo.. and as u all KNOW, proton cars is really known for 'buy-and-have-trouble-car' .. hikhik.. but, if u asked me for these 2... i will go for savvy... the gearbox is so cool for sepang track! p/s: actually, if u add in myvi, i definitely go for myvi. PERIOD!!! afterall the price range are on same level... myvi, no hassle, no problem, fuel economy, big and no headache after bought! Added on July 6, 2009, 11:29 am QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 6 2009, 11:11 AM) According to Motor Trader the May 2009 car sales statistics show that a lot of people are still buying Viva, even though so many people in LYN don't like it. The Savvy is not even in the top 50 list. I think it's because many people are now picking Saga over Savvy and Viva. ya laaa, that is true, viva subliminal... ekekekekek ... saga BLM also best buy car... ok laa.. i test drive my friend car... AT car, smooth n steady...p/s: honestly, myvi have better engine response than this BLM... my 2 cent This post has been edited by consonar: Jul 6 2009, 11:29 AM |
Jul 6 2009, 12:08 PM
136 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Sandakan |
I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence
Jul 6 2009, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Jul 6 2009, 12:08 PM) I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence Just 2 questions. Which Proton model (and year) u drove and have you own another different brand of car for nearly the same duration(years)? Did you know VIVA has so many issues with the brake problem initially? (Now i'm not sure). And for 40k....hell i'll buy a Persona or Myvi or BLM...so many choices. |
Jul 6 2009, 04:35 PM
Jul 6 2009, 08:32 PM
Jul 28 2009, 10:20 PM
117 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Sandakan, Sabah |
im looking for Savvy... but all of my frens said that their part is very expensive...
i choose savvy manual bcos powerful n low fuel consumption...mmost importantly, 2nd hand price is cheap.. any savvy's owner to share with us? |
Jul 28 2009, 10:54 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Savvy...very nice....
Jul 29 2009, 12:01 AM
66 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
both car also forget it
viva is so overprice and savvy maintenance will cost you a bomb in the long run |
Jul 29 2009, 12:31 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Savvy get the manual transmission, the maintenace myth is on the AMT only.
Jul 29 2009, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(kingsing84 @ Jul 28 2009, 10:20 PM) im looking for Savvy... but all of my frens said that their part is very expensive... What expensive...just stay away from the AMT version and you'll be fine. Savvy maintenance is every 10k or 6 months...cheaper than Perodua which is 5k or 3 months. (If you are getting 2nd hand, just follow the mileage).i choose savvy manual bcos powerful n low fuel consumption...mmost importantly, 2nd hand price is cheap.. any savvy's owner to share with us? Using a Savvy for 2 years now...only small small problems only. Savvy > Viva anyday. Today my friend who drives a Toyota innova sit in my car with 4 of us inside, going up the LDP Motorola flyover. He was suprised that the Savvy is so powerful. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 29 2009, 05:18 PM) Today my friend who drives a Toyota innova sit in my car with 4 of us inside, going up the LDP Motorola flyover. He was suprised that the Savvy is so powerful. Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:33 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM) Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. Prolly due to the engine and also the gearbox that made it's price higher. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM) Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. Automatic is for sissies who can't drive. Real Men drive Manual. Anyway, kingsing is looking for a Manual. Yeah it cost more than a Saga. It also sucks less fuel than a Campro 1.3 while giving more power. Popular? Who cares. Just because it's popular doesn't means it's better. If go by popular, Myvi will be best car in Malaysia. Kingsing: If you're around KL/PJ. Take the potential Savvy to RS Auto for a check up before you buy. They're Savvy expert. This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM |
Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 29 2009, 05:37 PM) Automatic is for sissies who can't drive. Real Men drive Manual. Anyway, kingsing is looking for a Manual. Yeah it cost more than a Saga. It also sucks less fuel than a Campro 1.3 while giving more power. Real Men Drive Motorbikes Without Helmets Popular? Who cares. Just because it's popular doesn't means it's better. If go by popular, Myvi will be best car in Malaysia. Automatic is for sissies, but many people who buy small cars are girls. So they're losing out on the female demographic. Popular who cares? Proton cares lor haha. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:52 PM
Jul 29 2009, 05:57 PM
Jul 30 2009, 09:23 AM
1,863 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Savvy
+ fun factor + handling & stability + solid drive + smoother engine (4 cycl vs 3 cycl) - Proton reputation - Renault sourced engine - subjective looks - resale value - AMT maintenence Viva + resale value + slightly better maintenence - handling (its a city car) - loan interest Both cars r very frugal on fc in their respectable class (different cc), so no point comparing which in better in this segment. Fittingquality r also down to earth for both. |
Jul 30 2009, 09:57 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
My Savvy manual has reached mileage 150k. For the past 5 years it travels 96-100km per day. Currently much less as I moved to another place nearer to the workplace.
Currently spent about rm100-150 ke service change at 10k using semi-synth oil. Change front wheel 3 times (botak + puncture). Change ignition coil once (rm400). at the moment touch wood. Internals sounds ok no new krik-krik sound, and everything seems to be in one piece still. Viva at 30k already mau runtuh with rattling sounds at any speed. The semi-autobox is reliable if you know how to drive them. Meaning that to change gear you will need to ease off on the gas just like changing a manual. |
Jul 30 2009, 11:04 AM
biggie: You own both a Savvy and a Viva?
Jul 30 2009, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(biggie @ Jul 30 2009, 09:57 AM) My Savvy manual has reached mileage 150k. For the past 5 years it travels 96-100km per day. Currently much less as I moved to another place nearer to the workplace. May i ask where u change the ignition coil? Proton SC or outside? And at roughly how many km you change it? Thanks.Currently spent about rm100-150 ke service change at 10k using semi-synth oil. Change front wheel 3 times (botak + puncture). Change ignition coil once (rm400). at the moment touch wood. Internals sounds ok no new krik-krik sound, and everything seems to be in one piece still. Viva at 30k already mau runtuh with rattling sounds at any speed. The semi-autobox is reliable if you know how to drive them. Meaning that to change gear you will need to ease off on the gas just like changing a manual. |
Aug 11 2009, 02:01 AM
70 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:08 PM) I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence im driving my aunt's 9yo wira 1.5m... basically not much problems, except those well-known problems like jarum-jarum's (fuel indicator etc) loh... what else? basically everything is great i would say. no offense too~ ^^ btw, im too thinking whether to get a viva or savvy for myself... since that wira belongs to my aunt, i would prefer to have a car for my own loh... ^^ prefers savvy for everything. was thinking about the amt one, but since everyone says its kinda sucks so i think i will stick to the manual one perhaps... hehe... |
Aug 21 2009, 11:29 AM
219 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: AlorStar |
ignition coil..i think after 2 year..u need to change it..or if not u car will SEMPUTT..like tractors..standard price range around rm350-420..
Aug 21 2009, 06:43 PM
3 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Melaka-Kl |
Go for savvy.
Pround savvy owner for 4 years already.. mileage already 100k No major problem until now my ignition coil still working fine. There is way to protect the ignition coil as you need a o-ring for each coil. Safety purpose also much much better that Viva. FC = Almost 10 sen / KM I Confirm you will like the car |
| Change to: | 0.0300sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:18 AM |