Proton Savvy or Perodua Viva a better buy?, Problems/Suggestions about the two cars.
Jul 6 2009, 12:08 PM
136 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Sandakan |
I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence
Jul 6 2009, 01:03 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Jul 6 2009, 12:08 PM) I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence Just 2 questions. Which Proton model (and year) u drove and have you own another different brand of car for nearly the same duration(years)? Did you know VIVA has so many issues with the brake problem initially? (Now i'm not sure). And for 40k....hell i'll buy a Persona or Myvi or BLM...so many choices. |
Jul 6 2009, 04:35 PM
2,844 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Jul 6 2009, 08:32 PM
Jul 28 2009, 10:20 PM
117 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Sandakan, Sabah |
im looking for Savvy... but all of my frens said that their part is very expensive...
i choose savvy manual bcos powerful n low fuel consumption...mmost importantly, 2nd hand price is cheap.. any savvy's owner to share with us? |
Jul 28 2009, 10:54 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Savvy...very nice....
Jul 29 2009, 12:01 AM
66 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
both car also forget it
viva is so overprice and savvy maintenance will cost you a bomb in the long run |
Jul 29 2009, 12:31 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Savvy get the manual transmission, the maintenace myth is on the AMT only.
Jul 29 2009, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(kingsing84 @ Jul 28 2009, 10:20 PM) im looking for Savvy... but all of my frens said that their part is very expensive... What expensive...just stay away from the AMT version and you'll be fine. Savvy maintenance is every 10k or 6 months...cheaper than Perodua which is 5k or 3 months. (If you are getting 2nd hand, just follow the mileage).i choose savvy manual bcos powerful n low fuel consumption...mmost importantly, 2nd hand price is cheap.. any savvy's owner to share with us? Using a Savvy for 2 years now...only small small problems only. Savvy > Viva anyday. Today my friend who drives a Toyota innova sit in my car with 4 of us inside, going up the LDP Motorola flyover. He was suprised that the Savvy is so powerful. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 29 2009, 05:18 PM) Today my friend who drives a Toyota innova sit in my car with 4 of us inside, going up the LDP Motorola flyover. He was suprised that the Savvy is so powerful. Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:33 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM) Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. Prolly due to the engine and also the gearbox that made it's price higher. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 29 2009, 05:27 PM) Yeah Savvy's powerful. Savvy featured on 5th Gear beat 2 other cars for hill climbing. Too bad no automatic version (weird AMT doesn't count) and costs more than a Saga (ignore Lite version), otherwise it'll be more popular. Automatic is for sissies who can't drive. Real Men drive Manual. Anyway, kingsing is looking for a Manual. Yeah it cost more than a Saga. It also sucks less fuel than a Campro 1.3 while giving more power. Popular? Who cares. Just because it's popular doesn't means it's better. If go by popular, Myvi will be best car in Malaysia. Kingsing: If you're around KL/PJ. Take the potential Savvy to RS Auto for a check up before you buy. They're Savvy expert. This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM |
Jul 29 2009, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 29 2009, 05:37 PM) Automatic is for sissies who can't drive. Real Men drive Manual. Anyway, kingsing is looking for a Manual. Yeah it cost more than a Saga. It also sucks less fuel than a Campro 1.3 while giving more power. Real Men Drive Motorbikes Without Helmets Popular? Who cares. Just because it's popular doesn't means it's better. If go by popular, Myvi will be best car in Malaysia. Automatic is for sissies, but many people who buy small cars are girls. So they're losing out on the female demographic. Popular who cares? Proton cares lor haha. |
Jul 29 2009, 05:52 PM
Jul 29 2009, 05:57 PM
Jul 30 2009, 09:23 AM
1,863 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Savvy
+ fun factor + handling & stability + solid drive + smoother engine (4 cycl vs 3 cycl) - Proton reputation - Renault sourced engine - subjective looks - resale value - AMT maintenence Viva + resale value + slightly better maintenence - handling (its a city car) - loan interest Both cars r very frugal on fc in their respectable class (different cc), so no point comparing which in better in this segment. Fittingquality r also down to earth for both. |
Jul 30 2009, 09:57 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
My Savvy manual has reached mileage 150k. For the past 5 years it travels 96-100km per day. Currently much less as I moved to another place nearer to the workplace.
Currently spent about rm100-150 ke service change at 10k using semi-synth oil. Change front wheel 3 times (botak + puncture). Change ignition coil once (rm400). at the moment touch wood. Internals sounds ok no new krik-krik sound, and everything seems to be in one piece still. Viva at 30k already mau runtuh with rattling sounds at any speed. The semi-autobox is reliable if you know how to drive them. Meaning that to change gear you will need to ease off on the gas just like changing a manual. |
Jul 30 2009, 11:04 AM
biggie: You own both a Savvy and a Viva?
Jul 30 2009, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(biggie @ Jul 30 2009, 09:57 AM) My Savvy manual has reached mileage 150k. For the past 5 years it travels 96-100km per day. Currently much less as I moved to another place nearer to the workplace. May i ask where u change the ignition coil? Proton SC or outside? And at roughly how many km you change it? Thanks.Currently spent about rm100-150 ke service change at 10k using semi-synth oil. Change front wheel 3 times (botak + puncture). Change ignition coil once (rm400). at the moment touch wood. Internals sounds ok no new krik-krik sound, and everything seems to be in one piece still. Viva at 30k already mau runtuh with rattling sounds at any speed. The semi-autobox is reliable if you know how to drive them. Meaning that to change gear you will need to ease off on the gas just like changing a manual. |
Aug 11 2009, 02:01 AM
70 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:08 PM) I will personally choose viva. The price almost the same but because of the brand, i will choose viva. Yes, i'm quite anti-proton person because i faced many problems with proton's car. I'm not a fan of cars. No offence im driving my aunt's 9yo wira 1.5m... basically not much problems, except those well-known problems like jarum-jarum's (fuel indicator etc) loh... what else? basically everything is great i would say. no offense too~ ^^ btw, im too thinking whether to get a viva or savvy for myself... since that wira belongs to my aunt, i would prefer to have a car for my own loh... ^^ prefers savvy for everything. was thinking about the amt one, but since everyone says its kinda sucks so i think i will stick to the manual one perhaps... hehe... |
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:53 PM |