Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> How to know Data service (BIS/BES) is activated?

shay2k
post Jul 3 2009, 12:44 PM, updated 9y ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 129

Joined: Dec 2006
recently i bought a blackberry bold on monday, and upgraded my old number plan to the celcom BIS 148 plan, the seller said i will get a sms by celcom 3-4 days later to activate, now its friday and still no news, called celcom but they say its already activated. How should i know its already activated on my phone? must have the logo 3g next to the signal bar rite? currently if i set my network to 3g mode in options then my phone will lost the celcom signal.
ziranath
post Jul 3 2009, 04:19 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 104

Joined: Jun 2009


try set to edge..and the edge word should be in capital (EDGE)
shingrey
post Jul 3 2009, 06:12 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 102

Joined: Jun 2006
From: KL




Try

Option->Mobile Network -> Diagnostic Test-> Run



shay2k
post Jul 3 2009, 10:09 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 129

Joined: Dec 2006
QUOTE(ziranath @ Jul 3 2009, 04:19 PM)
try set to edge..and the edge word should be in capital (EDGE)
*
how to set to edge? currently my phone got edge beside the signal bar, but in small capital letters.


Added on July 3, 2009, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(shingrey @ Jul 3 2009, 06:12 PM)
Try

Option->Mobile Network -> Diagnostic Test-> Run
*
currently doing the diagnostic run, but its like taking forever in the " icmp ping echo" section, is it normal?

This post has been edited by shay2k: Jul 3 2009, 10:11 PM
sherrina
post Jul 4 2009, 12:37 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 179

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL


Shay,
that's weird. I bought Bold recently and brought it to Celcom. The guy at the counter will help u configure, change sim card to 3G sim card (if u haven't change) and wait for bout 3-4 hours to get it activated.
jamezco
post Jul 4 2009, 11:59 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,077

Joined: Nov 2005


edge means your BB services has not been activated

unless it is showing "EDGE" all in caps then means u have bb services rdy
anggana
post Jul 6 2009, 10:53 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 160

Joined: Dec 2007
QUOTE(shay2k @ Jul 3 2009, 12:44 PM)
recently i bought a blackberry bold on monday, and upgraded my old number plan to the  celcom BIS 148 plan, the seller said  i will get a sms by celcom 3-4 days later to activate, now its friday and still no news, called celcom but they say its already activated. How should i know its already activated on my phone? must have the logo 3g next to the signal bar rite? currently if i set my network to 3g mode in options then my phone will lost the celcom signal.
*
Try to do a pull a battery, then do a Diagnostic test one more time. If still not working try to call celcom customer service to check whether your BIS has been activated or not.

Celcom normally took 1-2 days for new subscriber not sure how long for an upgrade.


axofbutter
post Jul 10 2009, 08:20 AM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 4

Joined: Jun 2009


wow...celcom need 3-4 days to activate your BB service? Maxis need only 1/2 hour to do it on me.

anyway...if your on 3G network, then BB Logo on next to the '3G' word will signify you've been activated. And yes, if you are not on 3G, it's either EDGE or GPRS.

another way to check is to go to..options/advance options/service books..and see whether you have whole loads of entries there (i suppose more than 10). If you have just around 5, then it's pretty safe to say that you are not activated.
sabelt
post Jul 16 2009, 03:38 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 49

Joined: Jan 2003
easy...go to celcom bb website, register ur email then click send service book..if u have receive the notification in ur bb then its good to go..
gotdamsg
post Jul 16 2009, 07:34 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 360

Joined: Nov 2004
From: selangor, malaysia


celcom broadcast their service books in 2G (EDGE and GPRS).. not in 3G
altezza8448
post Aug 26 2009, 12:05 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 25

Joined: Apr 2008
QUOTE(sherrina @ Jul 4 2009, 12:37 AM)
Shay,
that's weird. I bought Bold recently and brought it to Celcom. The guy at the counter will help u configure, change sim card to 3G sim card (if u haven't change) and wait for bout 3-4 hours to get it activated.
*
I am an existing celcom user with internet data plan switch from Windows PDA to a blackberry, first thing I found out that you can't use your BB till the BIS is activated. The dealer submitted yesterday and was informed that within 1-2 hours it would be activated, however till now more than 24 hours, still no activation. Called Celcom and was inform it would take 2-3 days. Does it really take so long??? Very frustrating mad.gif
lankutu
post Sep 2 2009, 03:49 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 603

Joined: Apr 2006


register on 27/08/09...just now they activated my service...so sad...celcom here..

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0662sec    2.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd November 2017 - 02:08 AM