- Asus Royal Club * Version 3 * -, Everything about Asus !!!

sordanny
post Jul 2 2009, 11:30 AM

3,009 posts

i'm a half owner of an asus k40ab haha
cuz yesterday night i just passed it to my brother laugh.gif
total damage is just rm2400 with some extras
not bad for a model with that specs smile.gif
sordanny
post Jul 3 2009, 11:18 AM

3,009 posts

guys is asus coming with any warranty card or something like that?
my brother asked how to claim warranty (*touch wood) then only i found out there's no warranty card included in the box....
sordanny
post Jul 3 2009, 01:20 PM

3,009 posts

pls anyone can answer me about the warranty card?
if there is a warranty card included in the box then i will go to the shop to request
sordanny
post Jul 3 2009, 02:42 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Jul 3 2009, 02:29 PM)
er.. Do you have in the manuals tat come along with your notebook? I never think of warranty card.  tongue.gif  asus come with 2 years worldwide warranty, maybe proof of purchase can be use?  blush.gif  just my 2 cents
i don't know o the whole package is with my brother now, don't have anything with me now
he asked me about the warranty and i didn't know how to answer....
ya the box stated 2 years intl warranty but start from the date of purchase?
is the shop receipt is a good enough proof as start of warranty?
i kinda doubt it... hmm.gif
normally for electrical goods there is a warranty card that have to be filled in and submitted?
sordanny
post Jul 8 2009, 04:05 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(anugerah @ Jul 7 2009, 07:12 PM)
ooooo ok thanks

but i tested with cpu z also show ati 3200...memang macam ni ke, with 256 dedicated, not integrated sweat.gif  sweat.gif
sori, bcoz i'm not expert in computer
i suspect it should be the gpu driver problem
but if u're using vista and using the asus driver provided in the cd u should not be facing this problem
and well its a hybrid gpu meaning it can switch between 3200 and 4570 depending on settings
or there should be a way to use only 4570 i hope sifus out there can enlighten us

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 8 2009, 10:48 AM)
I bought ASUS K40AB two days ago and install Windows 7 on it, everything is great but two problem, the CPU temperature is unbelivably high (hovering around 60-70 when idle) and PowerXpress is sketchy (maybe because Windows 7) as it keeps telling me that the HD 4570 cannot start in device manager, I forced it to use only discrete GPU in BIOS, it free up 256MB of RAM, problem solved.

About the high CPU temperature, I removed the back cover and run it directly to the cooler below, pretty odd as ASUS doesn't provide any ventilation hole directly on the CPU/GPU fan. Before this, it crashed after playing CnC Kane's Wrath for about 30 minutes, now its perfectly fine, after finishing CnC3 KW, I play CoD2 for a while with no problem at all. Thank God for the back cover opens up to the whole mobo, so I can cool everything down. Temperature is kept under 60 on idle (its around 56 as I typing this, on a hot room with no fan or AC)

Game performance is great too, more than I expected it to be, my cousin have BenQ S41, it struggle to play CnC3 KW even at low setting and low res, but this one, I can play at 1366x768 with High detail. CoD2 also excellent, 1366x768 High detail
wow u to opened up the back cover shocking.gif
but getting 56oC after gaming is cool......
btw any other ways to cool it down without opening up the cover?
sordanny
post Jul 9 2009, 11:18 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 8 2009, 09:10 PM)
No, the latest driver doesn't support HD4570, weird isn't it? I use DNA Cat 9.4

Yes, it only been lock down by 5 screw, and I only use one now to easily remove it, but still secure enough and not flimsy. I don't know any other way to cool it down without taking the back cover, even using notebook cooler have minimal effect.

Since this is my very first laptop, I want to make a full reviews about it. Let me play for a while, expect a full reviews soon smile.gif
hmm even using a cooler have minimal effect then that means we're looking at :
watching dvd - around 70+
gaming - around 80+

and btw will a zalman instead of a generic china cooler help cool it down?
sordanny
post Jul 10 2009, 10:40 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(MaveЯick @ Jul 10 2009, 10:36 AM)
wating for pcfair promo .....  cool2.gif
watch out for the storm of broadband promo....... wink.gif
chances are u won't even get a chance to walk around freely without them bugging u all the way.....
rclxub.gif
sordanny
post Jul 11 2009, 12:22 PM

3,009 posts

guys i'm in a dilemma and need some icon_question.gif here...
bought a K40AB for my brother and he has told me that it is very hot.....
60 at idle, 80 when watching movies.....
kinda defeats the purpose of having a laptop for mobility if there is no other alternative other than to open up the back cover to cool it...
so he suggest we go back to the shop to exchange for another model...
u guys think it is feasible???
pls give some ideas....
sordanny
post Jul 13 2009, 10:02 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Big Butt Panda @ Jul 13 2009, 09:56 AM)
Seems like the K40AB not that HOT that mentioned in previous post. Then shouldn't be out of my list anyway. smile.gif

I think i need to get a decent cooling pad. Btw, the RAM that the K40AB comes with is DDR2 800 or 667? Coz I saw Najmods's sig written that is Nanya ddr2 667, so wanna make sure. Coz I am planning to add 1 more 1GB RAM into it.

Does the shop in lowyat who sell this k40AB gives laptop bag? Anyone can recommend a shop in lowyat plaza which got sell this k40AB and service is not bad biggrin.gif

Thx~
beware of the temp
idle 60, watch movie 80, gaming easily 90
not much difference even using a zalman cooler......
and yes a bag by asus c/w the box, including asus mouse too
i would recommend buy from evernew since they have a 14 days satisfaction guarantee

sordanny
post Jul 13 2009, 12:48 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jul 13 2009, 12:09 PM)
eh?k50ab hasn't been released yet? i thought i saw one at Midvalley IT center last 2 days sweat.gif
most probably it's K40AB or K50IN
K40AB = 14" using AMD, ATI 4570
K50IN = 15" using Intel, Nvidia G102n
sordanny
post Jul 13 2009, 02:03 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Jul 13 2009, 12:50 PM)
i rather get from TS,helps a lot >_>....temp? there is something that can be done, a decent cooling pad would help..hmm, gaming till 90c? where did u put ur notebook =.=? idle even for my c2d is around that temp also..so i think that pretty standard >_> as in load, i cannot recall the temp already
it was placed on a zalman

sordanny
post Jul 14 2009, 01:52 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Jul 13 2009, 10:53 PM)
Idle at 55-60c =.="..not 90 >_>...hmm, Astria noe too much bout notebooks..i wonder does he work for some laptop manufacturer?

Added on July 13, 2009, 11:02 pmbtw regarding the high temp, maybe u should have the unit checked..tested the notebook at ts's place though, don't seems that hot to me :/
no the idle temp is not 90 it is at 59-61
watching movie at 80
gaming will be 90 within 15 minutes
using a zalman won't help much only about 3-4 drop in temp.....
someone else posted earlier that by removing the back cover the temp will drop quite a lot, but by doing this limiting the mobility of the device.....

QUOTE(the_gunners2004 @ Jul 13 2009, 11:44 PM)
ASUS k40 AB

Hi guys, i'm new to here and i'm going to buy asus k40ab (athlon x2 ql-64)=
RM1999, plus RM 60 (service charge+optical mouse+keyboard skin pad+cooler)
I have paid the deposit RM100 already.
But now i've noticed that k50ab is going to come out, so is the price also RM1999?
If the price is not so much different, i'm willing to sacrifice my deposit to get bigger 15.6 inch and numberic keyboard (what do u guys think?).

So, my questions are:
1. Will K50AB price be around RM2000?
2. Do you get free notebook bag when you bought K40AB?
Thanks...
not sure about the price of K50AB, haven't seen them in the market
asus bag and mouse however is included in the box containing the laptop
mouse in the same compartment as adapter and bag in a separate compartment

QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 14 2009, 01:25 PM)
hey guys i need some help over here!
so i just phoned my local dealer and told him to put my k50in order on hold.  blush.gif as i can't really decide between the k40ab and k50in.
I'm about to go off to uni this coming september and i need a new laptop within this 2 weeks.
so basically i will be using the lappie for school work, movies, music and some gaming (red alert 3, bioshock, L4D etc.) will the g102m be enough?
oh and i'm quite picky when it comes to temperature management, i don't like laptops that are hot.
RM2999 for the k50in and RM2400 for the K40ab (2 gb ram upgrade + windows vista)
so.. the k40ab or k50in? please share your opinions and help a distressed guy here.  sad.gif
if u don't like the heat then K50IN is your best choice....
look at the temps above
sordanny
post Jul 14 2009, 02:02 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 14 2009, 01:54 PM)
i care more about idle hot. as my acer laptop cpu's idle temperature is around 60 to 65 degrees and i find it hot for me. will the k40ab be as hot as it? well at least the keyboard and palm rest area?
read my post earlier for the temps
i bought this model for my brother but changed to another model because of the heat....

the palm rest and touchpad area is not hot actually the hottest part is at the top right hand side of the laptop near where u plug in the adapter

Added on July 14, 2009, 2:03 pmi'll add the temp figures just for your convenience
idle 59-61
movie 80
gaming 90 within 15 minutes

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jul 14 2009, 02:03 PM
sordanny
post Jul 14 2009, 03:02 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Jul 14 2009, 02:31 PM)
Hi bro, may i know where you place your laptop? Make sure there are no any object blocking the heat sink area behind the laptop.
Em, Yes, Evernew provides 14days satisfaction guarantee, but can you make sure that you will get a BRAND NEW unit if you switch to other model or switch to another unit since everyone is doing so ? How can a business bring in ALL BRAND NEW units and let customer to switch once they find it not so happy to that lappy ?
Think bro.  blush.gif
well the laptop is placed on a zalman cooler on a table
yes the laptop keyboard, palmrest and touchpad areas are not hot, but try to touch the upper right side area near the adapter or the speaker area
the heat of the laptop is concentrated there
i have installed hwmonitor and coretemp as temp monitor softwares and found the temps as posted earlier

i'm not trying to say K40AB is not a good laptop, IT IS A BLOODY GOOD ONE!!!!
the specs are great and so is the price
just prepare yourself to treat it as a desktop replacement instead of a mobile device and u'll be just fine

Added on July 14, 2009, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 14 2009, 02:56 PM)
i wanted the n81 since december last year but too bad malaysia doesn't have it.  unsure.gif man i hate choosing new laptops. picking new handphones are so much more easier.  biggrin.gif
rule of thumb is u sacrifise mobility for performance or vice versa
unless u're prepared to pay a bomb for alienware or other models

Added on July 14, 2009, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 14 2009, 02:27 PM)
hmm. just like my current laptop. but the k40ab still seems like a good buy. i reckon that external coolers ain't gonna help much? what about undervolting the cpu?
u can try undervolting it should help with the heat
or just open up the back cover as tested by the other forumer

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jul 14 2009, 03:06 PM
sordanny
post Jul 14 2009, 05:50 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Jul 14 2009, 05:03 PM)
btw it might be due to the sensor? sometimes it's not accurate thats y i don't really bother bout it =_=..y open the back cover as i think it's quite dangerous. 1 wrong move, and the parts inside there might get damage and heck even voids the warranty...aiyah, don't worry so much much bout the temp, even my mcp idles at 60c+ at times but i nv bother, no performance drop or anything..zalman cooling pad? i sorta feel it has low air flows :/...
well if u dun believe the temp is high search for posts from najmods he wrote few reviews of his unit
he also posted WEI score and others....
my opinion is if u intend to use as desktop replacement then there's not much problem but if u want mobility think twice... And the best solution to the heat is to open up the back cover as posted....
read 1 of them below
QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 11 2009, 12:56 AM)
I've been using K40AB for a few days now,and this is what I think about it.

Pros:
- cheap, good spec
- HD4570 GPU for below RM2500, with HD3200 onboard to save power
- 250GB HDD
- very nice L.E.D LCD screen, better than my Dell 1704FPT at home
- very quiet running after Windows load
- pretty fast for moderate gaming (CnC: KW, CoD2, H.A.W.X all run at high at native resolution)
- onboard VIA audio codec support SRS Premium Sound, sounded rather good when properly tweaked

Cons:
- hot running (60-70C idle with the back cover close) because unbelivably low fan speed, and there are no way to turn it up
- sketchy PowerXpress (may be due to RC Windows 7 or its drivers)
- touchpad could be better with side scroll
- for keyboard shorcut, it need an enormous amount of system process to get it working (more than 5)
- HD4570 is new, anything to tweak it is nearly impossible to find, even the driver is hard to find, latest 9.6 Beta needs INF tweak to get it work, Mobility Cat Modder won't work with HD 4XXX series yet
sordanny
post Jul 16 2009, 09:47 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(silentz @ Jul 16 2009, 09:42 AM)
erm.. any1 can help me?

im using z99sc, 3/4 weeks go i had formatted my windows vista to windows 7 beta.

however, juz b4 tat my laptop addi cant update windows, even cant login msn. but 2/3 mths ago i still can update windows n login msn.

n yesterday i tried to install msn, it says sth like plz make sure da laptop is connected to internet bla bla.. n still cant update windows...

but my bf using same internet connection wit me but both r no prbl

wats wrong wit my laptop? do any1 faced tis kind of prbl b4?

thx!
it could be a problem with the wireless drivers?
did u have this problem when u're still on vista?
sordanny
post Jul 16 2009, 10:33 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(silentz @ Jul 16 2009, 10:30 AM)
i reli haff no idea how could it happened. bcoz internet connection is no prbl.
yea, da prbl started wen still on vista, mabbe 1 or 2 mths b4 i re-formatted my laptop.
ok, i ll try to reinstall/update da wireless driver.
thx!
try to use the latest drivers instead of the original ones
download them from asus support website
if it doesn't work then it could be a faulty hardware that's causing the problem
sordanny
post Jul 16 2009, 11:21 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jul 16 2009, 10:46 AM)
i think it is just marketing gimmick, add/update a few to a newer specs hardware or software/os (win7 maybe hmm.gif ), change the model number, voila!! ...new model... biggrin.gif
could also mean new model for the upcoming pc fair...

sordanny
post Jul 17 2009, 02:44 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Jul 17 2009, 02:25 PM)
I"m getting it too, but my aim would be tha k50ab  laugh.gif    Coming soon according to Mr. Perfect (thanks again  icon_rolleyes.gif ) ... so good service sure his business banyak-banyak 1  tongue.gif
If you plan to make a thread then count me in, we can do an Official K40/50AB Owner Club, put title like
--- Laptop that can Play Crysis ---- K40AB,  NO 4k, NO 3k, NO 2.5k, just 2k...NO JOKE  tongue.gif
hahahaha pls also include catchy phrase like
my K40AB can cook maggi mee, your laptop can bo??????? NO JOKE
hehe jkjk
but the laptop aside from the heat really 1 good performance laptop with an ultra affordable price smile.gif
sordanny
post Jul 17 2009, 03:10 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Jul 17 2009, 02:52 PM)
Can cook maggi mee ar? Nice ar, when hungry can eat, senang, don't need go ta pao   laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
But seriously, I don't think it's THAT hot lar, you can try under-volt it, and the CnQ is quite good from my previous experience.
well i did it the old fashioned way....
CHANGED IT TO ANOTHER MODEL

Added on July 17, 2009, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Jul 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
I know Tha Intel PukeBurst can, as for athlonx2, I doubt it is THAT hot as it didnt reach 75'C even when i torture it kaw kaw. Not sure about the laptop tho, but I would just tweak it and live with it, instead of cash out 1k more.... bo lui bo pien lo  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
idle 60
movie 80
gaming 90 within 15 minutes
wink.gif

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jul 17 2009, 03:11 PM

0.0233sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:24 PM