Pioneer HTZ777 or Sony SF2300?, I only have RM2k

TSfookeesan
post Jun 30 2009, 02:17 PM, updated 17y ago

140 posts

Hi guys,

Hoping for some sifus here can enlighten me on the above 2 sets. Will move in to new house soon. I'm not so good into these stuffs but I want to enjoy Home Theatre experience with only RM2k. LAter on, I will also get PS3( not this year). Which is better??

I will mostly use on Movies, Gaming (in future), EPL, EPL and EPL

WereWolf84
post Jun 30 2009, 09:19 PM

984 posts

Hi, I'm not sifu, just gives some own opinion...since you are planning to get PS3 in future, buying Sony HT-SF2300 would be a wise choice since it comes with 3 HDMI inputs....you can plug in your PS3, BD player to enjoy the Dolby TrueHD....However, if you have more budget, I strongly suggest you to buy a separate HT system rather than HTiB...

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Jun 30 2009, 09:21 PM
TSfookeesan
post Jul 1 2009, 10:36 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jun 30 2009, 09:19 PM)
Hi, I'm not sifu, just gives some own opinion...since you are planning to get PS3 in future, buying Sony HT-SF2300 would be a wise choice since it comes with 3 HDMI inputs....you can plug in your PS3, BD player to enjoy the Dolby TrueHD....However, if you have more budget, I strongly suggest you to buy a separate HT system rather than HTiB...
thanks...... but i do not have enough budget....only 2k......
plus i wont be able to get ps3 so early due to budget constraint.....
which is better in terms of sound?? can i use the original player of SF2300?
kaneshi
post Jul 1 2009, 01:00 PM

170 posts

AFAIK, SF2300 has been discontinued. Last week, I went to Sony centre in KLCC, and ask for SF2300. Unfortunately, one of the salespersons said that this SF2300 will not be sold, unless u opt for a package "PS3 + SF2300" which the pricing is less than 4K.

And I was told that a new replacement model of SF2300 will be launched soon. just stay tuned. smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2009, 1:02 pmForgot to mention about HTZ777. I had a close look at this model too, and I personally don't think this is a good buy as the sound quality is not as good as SF2300.

This post has been edited by kaneshi: Jul 1 2009, 01:02 PM
TSfookeesan
post Jul 1 2009, 02:59 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Jul 1 2009, 01:00 PM)
AFAIK, SF2300 has been discontinued. Last week, I went to Sony centre in KLCC, and ask for SF2300. Unfortunately, one of the salespersons said that this SF2300 will not be sold, unless u opt for a package "PS3 + SF2300" which the pricing is less than 4K.

And I was told that a new replacement model of SF2300 will be launched soon. just stay tuned.  smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2009, 1:02 pmForgot to mention about HTZ777. I had a close look at this model too, and I personally don't think this is a good buy as the sound quality is not as good as SF2300.
thanks man! 4k is too much for me dy.

probably will just wait a while for the replacement.................=)
xbox360ps3
post Jul 2 2009, 10:21 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(fookeesan @ Jul 1 2009, 02:59 PM)
thanks man! 4k is too much for me dy.

probably will just wait a while for the replacement.................=)
Heard about the replacement. If u can tahan better wait for it. As for sf2300 i think its the best option. It can receive ps3 pcm output so u can have lossless audio. For 2k i recommend it
TSfookeesan
post Jul 3 2009, 11:14 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(xbox360ps3 @ Jul 2 2009, 10:21 PM)
Heard about the replacement. If u can tahan better wait for it. As for sf2300 i think its the best option. It can receive ps3 pcm output so u can have lossless audio.  For 2k i recommend it
seems like SF2300 is the best..i will ask the salesperson when will the replacement launched....
after that will c wat to check on... =)
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 01:03 AM

22 posts

How come nobody talk about HTZ777? Is that worst?

This post has been edited by SKINMan: Jul 11 2009, 01:03 AM
maxizanc
post Jul 11 2009, 01:32 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jul 11 2009, 01:03 AM)
How come nobody talk about HTZ777? Is that worst?
It's still good for movies. But only DVD. TS wanna play games and watching astro hence everybody suggesting sf2300.
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 01:55 AM

22 posts

Thanks, I also plan to buy HT, mainly for watch movie and play game, do I still go for SF2300? How about Panasonic SC-PT870? Please advise me.
I'm use P42S10k.
maxizanc
post Jul 11 2009, 02:04 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jul 11 2009, 01:55 AM)
Thanks, I also plan to buy HT, mainly for watch movie and play game, do I still go for SF2300? How about Panasonic SC-PT870? Please advise me.
I'm use P42S10k.
Firstly, do you have a BDP or PS3 or at least WDTV?
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 02:10 AM

22 posts

I dun have BDP and will buyPS3 soon.
I have a HDMI Hardisk Player which can play RMVB & many files only.
I m very new, this is the first HT I buy in my life.
maxizanc
post Jul 11 2009, 02:17 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jul 11 2009, 02:10 AM)
I dun have BDP and will buyPS3 soon.
I have a HDMI Hardisk Player which can play RMVB & many files only.
I m very new, this is the first HT I buy in my life.
If i am in your place what will i do is i will settle with a low-end separate component HT. Buy a low end AVR (5.1 DTS and 5.1 Dolby digital) is enough. Choose your speaker separately. You might getting a headache because you need to buy everything from AVR, speakers, speaker cable, subwoofer cable, interconnect. At the end of day you will spend around RM2-3k at least for complete system. If you don't care about budget, go ahead.

But if you don't have much money or you don't want a hard time to choose the speakers that suit your need or you need a lossless multi channel surround (PCM 5.1), go for SF2300.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jul 11 2009, 02:18 AM
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 02:27 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jul 11 2009, 02:17 AM)
If i am in your place what will i do is i will settle with a low-end separate component HT. Buy a low end AVR (5.1 DTS and 5.1 Dolby digital) is enough. Choose your speaker separately. You might getting a headache because you need to buy everything from AVR, speakers, speaker cable, subwoofer cable, interconnect. At the end of day you will spend around RM2-3k at least for complete system. If you don't care about budget, go ahead.

But if you don't have much money or you don't want a hard time to choose the speakers that suit your need or you need a lossless multi channel surround (PCM 5.1), go for SF2300.
Thanks for the advise, I not enough budget now, only can go for SF2300 or others.
Do you know where I can get SF2300 with the cheapest price? I hear that SF2300 is discontinues?
A guy offer me Panasonic SC-PT2300 with RM1500, is it worth ?
maxizanc
post Jul 11 2009, 02:32 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jul 11 2009, 02:27 AM)
Thanks for the advise, I not enough budget now, only can go for SF2300 or others.
Do you know where I can get SF2300 with the cheapest price? I hear that SF2300 is discontinues?
A guy offer me Panasonic SC-PT2300 with RM1500, is it worth ?
Err, i couldn't find any result on google for Panasonic SC-PT2300
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 02:36 AM

22 posts

I'm Sorry, it is Panasonic SC-PT870 biggrin.gif
I just did a survey for RS-7, but it is expensive. RS-3 is below 2k, how you think?

This post has been edited by SKINMan: Jul 11 2009, 02:37 AM
maxizanc
post Jul 11 2009, 02:42 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jul 11 2009, 02:36 AM)
I'm Sorry, it is Panasonic SC-PT870 biggrin.gif
I just did a survey for RS-7, but it is expensive. RS-3 is below 2k, how you think?
It's quiet okay lor for that price. But donno whether the HDMI in only carry video or both video or audio. Either way it is still a good considering the price is cheap. Go ahead if it sounds nice to you.

Added on July 11, 2009, 2:44 amBut new or second hand?????

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jul 11 2009, 02:44 AM
SKINMan
post Jul 11 2009, 02:46 AM

22 posts

hehe, is new one. smile.gif
RS-7 & RS-3 have a big different? I can see RS-3 is below 3k and RS-7 below 2.5k
kswong77
post Jul 11 2009, 05:34 PM

423 posts

hi, do u guys know which shop has more display the HT. i went to jusco and tesco....which has very few model.
WereWolf84
post Jul 11 2009, 05:48 PM

984 posts

Best Denki, Harvey Norman or SenQ may have these display

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: Jul 11 2009, 05:48 PM

0.0239sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:36 AM