Panasonic VIERA TH-P50S10K

enrg
post Jul 28 2009, 11:59 AM

36 posts

So has anybody bought the Panasonic 50S10 and have it in their homes?

Please I think we all want to know how is the black level in darkened room. Since I think that The Panasonic plasmas do not perform well in bright lighting, ie stores. I am also thinking of purchasing this plasma, or Samsung 50B850. But basically in my country the Samsung is twice as much as Panasonic.

And I heard faults such as buzzing etc. Plus the black level in darkened room not as good as Pana Plasmas. So if anyone has bought the B6 0r B8 plasmas and have in their homes. Pls also check black level in darkened room

Thanks!
enrg
post Jul 28 2009, 12:18 PM

36 posts

Ah Wing,

Not sure whether Buzzing is common for all Samsung TVs. But from what I read in other forums/reviews. The buzzing is more susceptible in Samsung Plasma B6/B8.....And I also read that black level is less impressive than Panasonic Plasma in darkened room

Thats why wondering whether I should pay twice money for Samsung Plasma, while I can get the 50S10 Panny for much less....
enrg
post Jul 28 2009, 06:15 PM

36 posts

so can anyone help review the performance of the Panny 50S10 in their home? in darkened room? thanks

enrg
post Jul 28 2009, 07:00 PM

36 posts

@anfieldude

Basically,
-the black level performance...does the grey looking black become real black in a darkened room
-Sharpness and detail....does Hidef movies shine in this plasma
-brightness.....is it dim, or is it bright and have enough pop....
-overall picture quality.
Since I now own a Samsung A series LCD, and looking to switch to Plasma. But a bit afraid the picture quality wont be to my liking as
I am used to the sharpness and detail of an LCD.....
Perhaps if you can also a comparison between the Panny G/V and the Samsung B6/B8 plasmas?

Looking to justify the price difference of those higher priced plasmas

THanks!

enrg
post Jul 29 2009, 10:09 AM

36 posts

@anfieldude

Thanks for the info. I guess you are right, that show room performance is deceiving, causing plasmas looking dim and grey compared to LCDs.

Its good to hear from someone who actually have seen the 50S10 in a normal room environment. Will go again to store and do a comparison
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 11:00 AM

36 posts

@anfieldude

Can you tell me how to access the service menu in S10?

I know it voids warranty and I may make mistake and do something wrong.

But I am planning to buy S10 soon, and want to calibrate the white balance etc. And from your post, only in service menu.

Can you also post a step by step on what to change in service menu?

Much appreciated.
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 12:34 PM

36 posts

If Anfieldude can give us the settings he used and we change it in service menu :-)

Then of course we can calibrate.....

Not 100% sure whether warranty will be void, but that is what I read in various forums

enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 03:09 PM

36 posts

@anfieldude

What I am thinking is using your measurement as basis only.

As I have seen reviewers post their settings on various sites, which are meant as a starting point.

Of course in the end it will be up to each of us on the final settings.

What I need is just how to get to the menu, which options to change, and basic settings you used as basis.
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 04:32 PM

36 posts

@anfieldude

Thanks and noted. Of course I am responsible for what I do.

Added on July 31, 2009, 4:34 pm@ronaldjoe

Who is sifu? I am not in Malaysia, so hard for him to calibrate it lah

This post has been edited by enrg: Jul 31 2009, 04:34 PM
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 04:45 PM

36 posts

@ronaldjoe

I see....well I havent found any Sifu where I live.

I think Panny plasmas are not that popular here....we are overunned by LCDs!!
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 04:54 PM

36 posts

@ronaldjoe

I am in Indonesia
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 05:35 PM

36 posts

@anfieldude

Thanks. When I have the TV on hand, I will PM you if I need more info. I am still deciding between this and the Samsung 50B850

Added on July 31, 2009, 5:37 pmOK poll time guys.

In my country, The 50S10 is around 6,000MR, while Samsung 50B850 is around 11,000MR.

Which would you choose?

Is the Samsung 50B850 worth it, given the vast difference in price vs. the 50S10?

This post has been edited by enrg: Jul 31 2009, 05:37 PM
enrg
post Jul 31 2009, 05:48 PM

36 posts

That's the thing....No 50B650 in my country.

Only 50B550, 63B680 (too big), 50B850

Added on July 31, 2009, 5:53 pmYeah, the 50B850 is out....saw it in store. Really deep black in bright lighting. Even better than the B680. Detailed and bright, just like an LCD.

But the price, yikes.

I am also looking out for the V. But from the Panny representative I emailed, she said no info whether it will be sold in my country :-(

This post has been edited by enrg: Jul 31 2009, 05:53 PM
enrg
post Aug 4 2009, 10:28 AM

36 posts

@ronaldjoe

Thanks for the first impression.

I think I speak for many people here, perhaps if possible you could post a pic with side by side comparison of the B650 vs. S10 in darkened room so we can see how the black level stacks up. Also your view after break in also appreciated.

Many thanks
enrg
post Aug 15 2009, 04:41 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(mysai @ Aug 15 2009, 11:41 AM)
Yup I agree with ronaldjoe.  Go put the panny next to the Sammy and you will see instanly the STARK difference.
I agree as well with ronaldjoe. I mean the man has both TVs in his house. What more do you want smile.gif

From my impression I too see the S10 having dull and flat images. Even the reviews from the V10 is not better as it is saying that it is not as sharp/detailed, and dimmer than LCDs.

Going the samsung plasma route after pay day biggrin.gif
enrg
post Aug 21 2009, 09:31 AM

36 posts

@ar188

I am coming from an LCD (Sony/Samsung) so my eyes are used to the vibrant colors of the Samsung plasma.

That's why looking at the Panny S10 I just dont feel it has the punch and the depth picture wise....that is my personal preference

0.0216sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:26 AM