Macbook Pro making palm sweaty, have protective sticker around trackpad

TSpwncake
post Jun 29 2009, 01:36 PM, updated 17y ago

Validating
112 posts

Hey all,

My Macbook is an early 2008 model. After long deliberation, I've decided to protect the area around the trackpad (where you rest your palm) before it gets worn out. It's already really hot and sweaty from using it, so it's only a matter of time it gets all greyish.

But i've been suffering from constant warm heat from it, which is worse than before. To make things worse, i often have it on my bed, which makes it super hot, and the fan whirring like crazy.

I need advice (and no, pls don't ask me to remove the sticker. Not just yet anyways...)

THx
dvlzplayground
post Jun 29 2009, 04:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

isnt it obvious?

dun use it on ur bed. it'll kacau the airflow. if u want, put ur notebook on something hard (i normally use a thick file).

i dunno what protector u used, but u might wanna get the one from moshi. good quality
nimrod323
post Jun 29 2009, 05:19 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

do you have a keyboard protector on? its disrupting the heat ventilation from the keyboard i suppose.
supermassive
post Jun 29 2009, 07:22 PM

46 posts

well here's my solution i did, i use a NOTEPAL cooler master, somehow it has a good curve shape air flow design under. I know many of you may say its useless coz there's no air chamber below the MBP

But the notepal fan is currently blowing towards the aluminum surface below which will cool down the aluminum surface faster. Same way if you are in a super cold office room ur MBP heat will reduce. This keeps my MBP from heating up coz i dont off my mbp i think nearly months. and it keeps my keyboard area from heating up really hot.
dvlzplayground
post Jun 30 2009, 12:34 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(supermassive @ Jun 29 2009, 07:22 PM)
well here's my solution i  did, i use a NOTEPAL cooler master, somehow it has a good curve shape air flow design under. I know many of you may say its useless coz there's no air chamber below the MBP

But the notepal fan is currently  blowing towards the aluminum surface below which will cool down the aluminum surface faster. Same way if you are in a super cold office room ur MBP heat will reduce. This keeps my MBP from heating up coz i dont off my mbp i think nearly months. and it keeps my keyboard area from heating up really hot.
i always wonder why we still dun have a notebook cooler pad where the fan is at the back of the notebook? since a lot of notebooks vent heat out at the back now. n i have yet to find a non-USB-powered cooling pad
llsphinxll
post Aug 13 2009, 10:56 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Jun 29 2009, 01:36 PM)
Hey all,

My Macbook is an early 2008 model. After long deliberation, I've decided to protect the area around the trackpad (where you rest your palm) before it gets worn out. It's already really hot and sweaty from using it, so it's only a matter of time it gets all greyish.

But i've been suffering from constant warm heat from it, which is worse than before. To make things worse, i often have it on my bed, which makes it super hot, and the fan whirring like crazy.

I need advice (and no, pls don't ask me to remove the sticker. Not just yet anyways...)

THx
hey bro.
i kinda have the same problem as you do. like the heat coming up from the machine making my palms to sweat.
im using a mbp unibody. will my sweaty palms make the side of the trackpad color wear off? shocking.gif
ujoewong
post Aug 13 2009, 10:58 PM

348 posts

Just use the Moshi Palmguard. The thing is super tough. I'm not afraid of any discoloration.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 13 2009, 11:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

using the moshi palmguard as well. freaking expensive, but well worth it biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Aug 13 2009, 11:39 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 13 2009, 11:19 PM)
using the moshi palmguard as well. freaking expensive, but well worth it biggrin.gif
wanted to get the moshi one but it makes my macbook have this 'another layer' thing around the trackpad. hmm so it means that the color of the unibody WILL come off?
ujoewong
post Aug 14 2009, 12:55 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Aug 13 2009, 11:39 PM)
wanted to get the moshi one but it makes my macbook have this 'another layer' thing around the trackpad. hmm so it means that the color of the unibody WILL come off?
No. It will not. Aluminum does not discolor. Some more the Moshi blends the color of Aluminum so well that you won't notice it's on.
llsphinxll
post Aug 14 2009, 01:40 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Aug 14 2009, 12:55 AM)
No. It will not. Aluminum does not discolor. Some more the Moshi blends the color of Aluminum so well that you won't notice it's on.
so if it will not discolor den why need moshi? hmm.gif
ujoewong
post Aug 14 2009, 02:38 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Aug 14 2009, 01:40 AM)
so if it will not discolor den why need moshi?  hmm.gif
Against scuff and scratches. Although it is aluminum, I bet if you are wearing a metal watch and you bump on the palm rest area or you drop something sharp on it, sure you get some minor scratches. Check out the review here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cg_Bm9tvI4E
preducer
post Aug 14 2009, 03:39 AM

2,839 posts

how much is moshi palmguard ?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 14 2009, 11:37 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Aug 14 2009, 02:38 AM)
Against scuff and scratches. Although it is aluminum, I bet if you are wearing a metal watch and you bump on the palm rest area or you drop something sharp on it, sure you get some minor scratches. Check out the review here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cg_Bm9tvI4E
exactly. i wear a metal watch all the time and it did leave a lot of scratches on my previous mbp. this palmguard is pretty tough

QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 14 2009, 03:39 AM)
how much is moshi palmguard ?
i bought mine from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/983120

13" for rm115, 15" for rm135 and 17" for rm150. nice seller smile.gif moshi products are getting quite hard to find around malaysia recently. evn my local apple shop had stop bringing in moshi stuff sad.gif
Masamune
post Aug 14 2009, 01:51 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

U can try to use a thermapak..
Just got it and loving it smile.gif
A non USB powered cooling method..
preducer
post Aug 15 2009, 05:42 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 14 2009, 11:37 AM)
exactly. i wear a metal watch all the time and it did leave a lot of scratches on my previous mbp. this palmguard is pretty tough
i bought mine from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/983120

13" for rm115, 15" for rm135 and 17" for rm150. nice seller smile.gif moshi products are getting quite hard to find around malaysia recently. evn my local apple shop had stop bringing in moshi stuff sad.gif
btw do u know can i get it at machines ? and how much is the retail price ?

havent get the chance to visit store yet.
th3_glove20
post Aug 21 2009, 02:30 PM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

im using the moshi palmguard double thumbs up..
but i did not stick the trackpad, u guys?! im afraid it might affect the sensitivity of the trackpad?! any comment in this?
llsphinxll
post Aug 21 2009, 06:55 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Aug 21 2009, 02:30 PM)
but i did not stick the trackpad, u guys?! im afraid it might affect the sensitivity of the trackpad?! any comment in this?
i think the sensitivity issue is not a problem. cos loads of people have been using the moshi palmguard and they dont seem to b complaining abt the trackpad getting less sensitive. biggrin.gif

im thinking abt getting a mstand. will that help disperse heat, or shud i stick to my laptop cooler? but the mstand is so gorgeous thou. hahha! wub.gif
ujoewong
post Aug 21 2009, 08:05 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Aug 21 2009, 06:55 PM)
i think the sensitivity issue is not a problem. cos loads of people have been using the moshi palmguard and they dont seem to b complaining abt the trackpad getting less sensitive.  biggrin.gif

im thinking abt getting a mstand. will that help disperse heat, or shud i stick to my laptop cooler? but the mstand is so gorgeous thou. hahha!  wub.gif
Get mStand+ Apple Wireless Keyboard + Apple Wireless Mighty Mouse. Best combo.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 21 2009, 08:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Aug 21 2009, 02:30 PM)
it doesnt affect the sensitivity, but the surface is less smooth. i still like it tho smile.gif still much bttr than other laptops with those glossy plastic feel

0.0806sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:18 AM