MOTORCYCLE TYRES: WHICH IS THE BEST ?, Let's discuss which tyres are best !

alexei
post Jul 8 2010, 03:18 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I am going to try Farelli next round... this would be one of the things I hope can beli buatan malaysia.

Hate to see Thailand made products dominate our local market, and all our hard earned money goes overseas... Michelin, Duro, Maxxis...

I'll try Farelli, IRC, FKR and maybe more. Long live local tayar...
alexei
post Jul 9 2010, 11:01 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Jul 8 2010, 09:42 PM)
Actually it's not the Thailand market dominating the market now, it's the China market. Anyways JKJR and JPJ are having an ongoing roadshow to educate the public on using tires with either Sirim or E standard. They will start taking action in October. So do make sure you choose tires that have the approved standard to avoid problems with the enforcement. And do remember that Farrelli tires are Sirim Approved so you're sure the quality and standard is there.
Farelli is hard to find in Georgetown, Penang. Do you have any recommended bengkel?

Managed to find one, and I replaced my rear tire with F1000, and my friend a set of F1000 in Pulau Tikus bengkel. Date code 0510 to 0910, quite new tires.

We went to spare part shops around Komtar, but none of them carries it. They had FKR, IRC Gold, and many Dunlop TT100... price point of Farelli is RM10 below IRC.

Was considering TT100 tubeless, but this also very rare here...
alexei
post Jul 13 2010, 02:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

@lewatmalam: thanks. keep me posted here....
alexei
post Jul 21 2010, 05:29 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

thx man...
alexei
post Jul 22 2010, 11:39 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

All tires are good.

This post has been edited by alexei: Aug 11 2010, 11:05 AM
alexei
post Oct 11 2010, 11:56 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Thx for sharing, didn't know anything about SMR before.

@lewatmalam: since you know so much about Farrelli, how does the process to make them compared to branded ones like Michelin and Bridgestone? Is there silica compound added to the tires to improve wet handling and heat resistance?
alexei
post Oct 23 2010, 12:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

zero degree tires... hmmm. Googled a bit and got some idea. So, Bridgestone tires are steel belted? The pneumatic ones are nylon belted then?
alexei
post Oct 28 2010, 04:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I asked to change to F1800 70/90. The shop charge RM60+ including labor. Mahal nie.
alexei
post Oct 28 2010, 05:51 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Between the F1000 and F1800, other than the apparent tread difference, are they the same material?

What about Michiyama?
alexei
post Dec 2 2010, 03:23 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

What's the recommended tyre pressure for Farrelli?
I used 32 F/R, and it was too hard on the front. Reduced it to 30 now.

I came across 2 bike shops that gave customers negative reviews of Farrelli:
1. Tire wall is hard, suitable for heavy load. If use on front tire, will bounce quite a lot, need to reduce pressure.
2. For the same reason, inner wall of tire sometimes got crack, not reliable. I'm not sure how true this is, but we'll see/hear from the rest here.
alexei
post Dec 2 2010, 11:55 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Thanks. Just informing you on what I hear on the streets. I'm good with the tires so far.
I used to like the feeling of over-inflating my tires to 32psi, but I guess this won't work with these. For me, 29-30 works best on the front. I'll be installing the tires onto a new set of rims soon, so I'll be sure to check the inner wall and report back. biggrin.gif

What's the tire gauge reading to tell if it's 30% tread left, in mm? I have an ARISTO gauge that looks like this:

Added on December 2, 2010, 11:58 pmOh, btw, is there a way to test the tyres and compare against the ones on the market? Example, rate from 1 to 10, the traction in dry, wet, reliability, and comfort. And perhaps, to ask for more, is to compare against other brands in the market.

This post has been edited by alexei: Dec 2 2010, 11:58 PM
alexei
post Dec 3 2010, 02:07 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

biggrin.gif Thanks a lot.
alexei
post Feb 25 2011, 10:07 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

My current Farelli's are fitted on a new RacingBoy rim both front and rear. I have a F1000 for the rear, and F1800 on the front.

During installation, the mechanic found it hard to mount and had a hardtime deflating the tires at the time. I was told the tyre bead is loose compared to other brands.

Been using them for a while and noticed that it loses pressure very fast, on average drop from 30 to 27 in a week, and down to 17 after 2 weeks of not riding my bike. This is measured on the digital pressure gauge of petrol stations.

These tyres were earlier fitted on a set of older rims, had the same problems (hard to deflate and losing pressure), and I couldn't dispute for a warranty. The tyres are 3-6 months old now. What to do?
alexei
post Jan 30 2012, 06:07 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

When you call them, make sure ask first. What I know some just charge extra RM3.
alexei
post Feb 16 2012, 08:05 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

lokasi mana?
alexei
post Feb 17 2012, 07:36 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Tu kena tunggu member Selangor jawab.

Saiz tayar tengok jenis motor, tapi normally 70/90 kat depan. Kalau letak 70/100 tayar jadi tinggi. Mungkin kedai nak clear stok. hehe.
Biasa replace saiz besar sikit, jadi 80/90 dan belakang ke 90/80... 90/80 tu biasanya mahal sikit...

0.0416sec    0.52    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:52 AM