question about AMP gain tuning, please help...

SUSmatt wee
post Jun 28 2009, 12:46 AM, updated 17y ago

52 posts

halo i want to know about amp gain tuning...normally if we tune amp gain right..for speaker is :firstly we tune the amp gain to minimum then increase HU volume about 2/3 max volume then just slightly increase amp gain until we heard distortion then decrease until didn't heard it right?

but then how to tune amp gain for subwoofer?
craziechild
post Jun 28 2009, 12:21 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

once you are done with the speakers gain at the same volume...

turn on the gain of the subwoofer till it is at eh same level of "loudness" as your speakers... sort of the music blends together...

or...

still the same as the speakers gain method... on you hear a distortion... turn it down...

whichever between the blending and the distortions comes first...

cheers...
taaron
post Apr 30 2011, 07:02 PM

49 posts

Need sifu advice here..i have installed 1 unit of 2 channel amp to feed my 1 unit of 12 inch subwoofer..I'll list the equipment out in detailed below:

HU: Alpine 9887 (4V preout)
Amp: Avionixx AXT 1200.2 bridged to 1 Ch x 1200 Watts (RMS) @ 4ohm (Class T amp)
Sub: 12" Peerlees Resolution (based on paper spec, 400 watts RMS single coil @ 4ohm)

my question is about the amp gain setting, as I fear of feeding 1200 watts RMS to my sub alone, that's too much power.. from the amp, the MIN gain is 6V while the MAX gain is 0.15V..

My HU max volume is 35..for me, I'll set a volume limit of 28 (80% of 35) as my own MAX volume, to assure that my HU will send clean signal without distortion.. other settings such as EQ will be flat, MX settings turned off..

based on my settings and preferences stated above, what gain settings which you guys will recommend taking into account my Subwoofer technical details and my HU settings? Need an answer what Volt to set between 6V and 0.15V in my amp gain knob..

craziechild
post Apr 30 2011, 11:41 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

remind yourself this,

a 1200Wrms amp, doesnt really gives out 1200Wrms on every thumps...

nontheless, its perfectly to run your system as it is now, gain tuning as normal: have your amp scoped, and gain match to the optimum level for each area in your system's sound...

i have been running 1200Wrms on 300Wrms on my family's ride for years now... nothing happen to date... smile.gif

cheers.gif
taaron
post May 1 2011, 12:42 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 30 2011, 11:41 PM)
remind yourself this,

a 1200Wrms amp, doesnt really gives out 1200Wrms on every thumps...

nontheless, its perfectly to run your system as it is now, gain tuning as normal: have your amp scoped, and gain match to the optimum level for each area in your system's sound...

i have been running 1200Wrms on 300Wrms on my family's ride for years now... nothing happen to date... smile.gif

cheers.gif
Thanks for the advice nod.gif btw, I actually want to make sure that the amp will only feed 600Wrms when i set to my personal preference of max HU volume @ 28, so that there is headroom for the amp.

I have thought of this, given the scenario as per below:

Max HU volume = 35 (assuming the HU is sending max V preout of 4volt)
my personal pref max vol = 28 (around 3volt preout from HU)

Let's say if I set my amp gain knob to 3volt position, which matched the HU preout of 3volt @ volume 28, does this meant that the amp will produce its full potential (1200Wrms)?

Pls correct me if my thoughts are incorrect icon_rolleyes.gif

Another question: Is it normal for my sub amp to be very hot, although the sub is not blasting loud? currently playing around Volume 22/35 (HU) and amp gain knob @ 9'o'clock (roughly 4 to 5 volt position)..Supposedly the amp should run cooler as my amp is Class T?

This post has been edited by taaron: May 1 2011, 12:43 AM
carcrazy
post May 1 2011, 12:46 AM

189 posts

when the amp is hot, it means the heatshink is doing its job. u woudnt wann heat keeps building up at the PCB board!!!

taaron
post May 1 2011, 12:55 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 1 2011, 12:46 AM)
when the amp is hot, it means the heatshink is doing its job. u woudnt wann heat keeps building up at the PCB board!!!
was quite worried just now when i test my new setup, thought something went wrong..felt much better and 'secure' now. can fry eggs dy if done optimum gain settings + some SQL action sweat.gif
zennn
post May 4 2011, 04:25 PM

send your system for scoping to be on the safe side....for peace of mind
taaron
post May 6 2011, 07:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zennn @ May 4 2011, 04:25 PM)
send your system for scoping to be on the safe side....for peace of mind
I would if i have the equipment to do the scoping. By the way, refer to the link below, scoping done using ipad/iphone/ipod touch..Can I use that device to do scoping? Is it possible for that device not to display accurate scoping result, which in turn may harm our ICE equipments into clipping or sending square signals to drivers??

Oscium for iOS device
howiechoo
post May 7 2011, 08:02 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

well, if u dun plan to max out the potential and be on the safe side, most reputable amp are having quite accurate gain knob...turn it to match with your headunit output....that's it

0.0178sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:12 PM