Can I start by asking why HD movies sometimes appear 'grainy'? Shouldn't it be crystal clear?
Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions
Jun 26 2009, 06:24 PM
1,442 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Can I start by asking why HD movies sometimes appear 'grainy'? Shouldn't it be crystal clear?
Jun 28 2009, 09:10 PM
Jun 29 2009, 12:08 PM
Thanks for all the feedback about 'grains' in pictures. Can I conclude that:-
1) 'Older' films tend to be more grainy. 2) Newer ones will have lesser grains unless intentional 3) There is no way to remove grains all together? Only minimising it? However, I only notice 'grains' when watching HD and not at lower resolutions. Why is that? Is it because HD (ie. higher resolutions) tend to enhance 'flaws'? |
Jun 29 2009, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2009, 12:39 PM) 1) Not really. All films shot on analogue film stock will have grains. But on 70mm film the grains will be much finer, so the grains aren't that obvious and no need to DNR (DNR will remove grains but it also removes details and sharpness). Thanks, you almost answered everything i need to know 2) Same as above. Only digitally shot film should have lesser grains (dark scenes). Majority of theatrical movies now still uses analogue film. 3) Yes you can. But like I said, it will make the PQ seems flat, soft and fleshtones looks like they're made of wax. Lowry Digital (now owned by DTS Labs) is very good job in cleaning noise (dirt, specks, etc) but they won't simply remove the grain if it compromises the PQ. Of course, at higher resolution you'll see more details, even the grains. That's why you don't see them on DVDs. This why HD is so wonderful. So if I buy, say, The Phantom Menace (shot digitally) I should see significant less grains, if not none, right? Noob Question - DNR (I assume its Dolby Noise Reduction?) - the removal is done during the transfer or we have to do select it manually with the player? |
Jul 15 2009, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(kkChan @ Jul 15 2009, 07:47 PM) aww!!! Did you click 'All Titles'?Syfy promo!!! http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=...ocId=1000390691 Alamak!! is that all?? Nah, you are right. Thats all for BDs This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Jul 15 2009, 10:51 PM |
Jul 18 2009, 05:04 PM
Just would like to add a few things :-
1) Speedy B2G1F promo - It SHOULD be for ALL outlets (yes, including Ipoh) as I have called their HQ. , though not all display the promo. You have to ASK them ... 2) Its NOT for all titles, just those from Fox and ..errr.. another one. 3) Those RM79.90 concerts (Foster, Buble & Groban only) are apparently from Warner and only Warner has this intro offer (forget about Celine, etc). Those interested might want to check out Victoria Music Ctr first as they are selling it at RM75 only. Buy above RM100 got rebate some more! 4) Video EZY - Yes, only Sg Wang has those offer. Went to Tmn Tun and they are selling the usual RM149 and RM114 plus FREE black face from the cashier. As someone mentioned, check out their online RM104 BDs. Now, I want to ask :- Local BDs sold here - those without the 'Imported' stickers, are these locally made or what? Any difference fr the US/UK ones? (Besides being more expensive and the lack of in-box materials like Booklets?) Happy Shopping! This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Jul 18 2009, 05:05 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 22 2009, 05:59 PM) Have not gotten Botti in Boston yet. Will certainly pay attention for it when I do. But I have seen lucia micarelli....another to die for Whats so hot about the Micarelli dame? She looks like either she's having a major constipation or that she is hitting her, errr.... climax ... |
Jul 22 2009, 07:25 PM
Jul 24 2009, 11:46 PM
I have 2 questions:-
1) No one's really interested in the current LOTR BD Trilogy. Will there be an Extended Version/Director's Cut soon that I don't know of? 2) Star Wars I - III. Its not out yet, right? Why so, esp. so long after its premiere? |
Jul 25 2009, 04:51 PM
Raymond's sales staff insists that all the BDs sold at KL AV Fair is imported from US, but I believe its not 100%. Saw some titles there similar packing with Speedy's. Maybe imported, but maybe fr HK?
Yeah, some US versions do come with Asian languages as well. Tricky. But I guess those without Asian subtitles are US/UK version? Robin - I didnt get Ironman and Kungfu Panda as I believe its Asian version. You sure Kungfu Panda is US version? |
Jul 25 2009, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 25 2009, 05:18 PM) 1. I am intrsted in de Ext Ed only.. De Bd version of tis will eventually be out.. 1) LOTR - when will be the Ext Version be out? Why so long? His King Kong after that also out oledie ... 2. George Lucas has always been kinda slow in implementin new format for his classics.. Again itll evetually end up with a HD version.. After sayin tat there are a lot of old favs tat might get a rebuy for instance Back to the Future series ; Indy 1 - 3.. Cheers Dirtrun 2) Thats a surprise, considering old pal Lucas always want to canggih this and that, shoot it all HD digital la, etc. Should be easier to transfer to BD, right? |
Jul 25 2009, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(robinlim @ Jul 25 2009, 07:01 PM) Yes, I'm pretty sure becoz Congrats on the Kung Fu Panda then, one of the best BD showcase 1) no chinese/thai/indonesian subtitle & languages 2) double checked with the back cover listed on amazon US, exactly the same As for Iron Man, I believe it's HK version coz the back cover not quite same with the one listed on amazon US No PG rating at the back Added on July 25, 2009, 7:04 pm 1) The ext version shd be out in 2011, in conjunction with the theatrical release of 'The Hobbit' 2) SW 1-6 no BD out yet, even Indy 1-3 and Back to the Future also not out yet 2011 for LOTR confirm? Good also la, can save up a bit ... |
Jul 26 2009, 01:46 PM
I also was thinking of starting my BD collection locally, ie via Speedy, Ezy, etc. But was sceptical at first due to their DVD standards. Locally available DVDs are appalling - not cheap, single-layered (PQ sucks), loaded with ads and no special features. Honestly, I am not surprised that the local DVD pirates are thriving.
With that in mind, I tread their BDs very carefully. Even their sales staff aren't sure where the BDs come from. Its true that some are imported (but fr where? HK? some even say Thailand!). Plus their BDs most of the time lose out on packaging and features, as compared to UK/US versions. But the worse thing is the price. Even with the current Speedy B2F1, its still RM100 per title. For a peace of mind, I am now getting BDs fr US and UK. No worries on PQ/AQ, feature-packed (if any) and sometimes a nicer package. All these extra for much lower price! LYN Bros kianwee or arj, among others, can help if its too much of a hassle to order yourself. Service also better than the local outlets The only advantage locally available BDs has is the higher possibility of Asian subtitles, eg. Chinese subtitles. |
Jul 26 2009, 05:42 PM
Sin City is awesome! Great artistic value
It also has one of the better bonus feature, the entire movie WITHOUT the green screens! And for those kids who were drooling over Diane Kruger, you guys haven't seen anything yet ... |
Jul 26 2009, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 26 2009, 11:05 PM) Its a B2G1 dealright??? so did they lower the price from 159 to (76-89) Where got B2F1 there lah? Unless last day, last minute got... ?so buy 89 X 2 =178 FOC lagi satu, i dis a browse thru only, bini panggil makan so have leave JW, just imagine 2 days in JW also cannot finish visiting all... All prices are for single titles. |
Jul 26 2009, 11:23 PM
Jul 28 2009, 06:26 PM
No love for this fella?
![]() Anyone tested the AQ? |
Jul 28 2009, 10:18 PM
Jul 28 2009, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 28 2009, 10:26 PM) Pretty cool....it's like porn with a storyline and not just humping Didn't know you are into artsy movies ... Added on July 28, 2009, 10:27 pm yep all 3 x-men + wolverine and they call it quad X-Men - They shouldnt have called in a Quad. Its 3 X-Mens and 1 X-Man. Just leave the X-Men as a Trilogy. And move on to X-Men Origins as a seperate 'series'. |
Jul 28 2009, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(robinlim @ Jul 28 2009, 10:56 PM) 80% of the contents are those XXX scenes Dun want to pour cold water la but those 'scenes' are not as 'exotic' as you think. Its more of an 'art'-form. The chick is not hot at all (to say the least) and I am sure yr man-boobs are more impressive ... with some of them unsimulated it's almost like those AV movies oredi Added on July 28, 2009, 11:03 pm QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 28 2009, 11:00 PM) eh Richard, so free meh, why dun you test the Ironman? This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Jul 28 2009, 11:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0363sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:25 PM |