Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions
rthj
Jul 9 2009, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Barricade @ Jul 9 2009, 10:59 AM) My peasant panasonic plasma will show the input when i play BD. If 1080p, it will show 1080p. If 1080i, will show 1080i. Your elite Samseng dun have me?  elite samsung shows 1080p for whatever signal you put in.
arremie
Jul 9 2009, 04:06 PM
anfieldude
Jul 9 2009, 04:10 PM
Baraka is a love it or hate it documentary.
There are no commentaries, it is a series of pictures and videos. The shots are breathtaking. It is a reflection of the world. Very graphic reflection of the world.
I enjoyed it a lot.
ronnt88
Jul 9 2009, 04:15 PM
wei u guys don't laugh at my peasant samsung la... i don't recall it showing wat signals its playing wan  don't really bother... Added on July 9, 2009, 4:16 pmQUOTE(rthj @ Jul 9 2009, 04:05 PM) elite samsung shows 1080p for whatever signal you put in.  izzit?? or because elite AVR upscaled everything to 1080p?? This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jul 9 2009, 04:16 PM
rthj
Jul 9 2009, 04:46 PM
my avr doesnt upscale anything.....unfortunately.
TSBarricade
Jul 9 2009, 05:09 PM
my avr upscale my hamtai from pixelation to bd quality fur
zerorulez
Jul 9 2009, 05:12 PM
watchmen BD out oredi?
richard912
Jul 9 2009, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(zerorulez @ Jul 9 2009, 05:12 PM) Out this 21st July http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/movies.php?id=5150
maskedchan
Jul 9 2009, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 9 2009, 04:15 PM) wei u guys don't laugh at my peasant samsung la... i don't recall it showing wat signals its playing wan  don't really bother... Added on July 9, 2009, 4:16 pmizzit?? or because elite AVR upscaled everything to 1080p??  your samsung peasant than mine can throw to dustbin already.. press info button on the remote..will show you either 720p/1080i/1080p
aiman04
Jul 9 2009, 05:35 PM
Knowing won't be opened yet, not in this coming weeks at least unless I got time. Baraka is amazing, 5 stars for both the content and PA/AQ. But some scenes are too graphic, like the cremation by the river in India, might scare your kids.
About the DTS-HD MA 6.1/71 showing 5.1, it's a common issue with the codec. Technically there are different ways of players/receivers to decode, this "confusion" by the decoder is what makes the back surround channel(s) to be downmixed into the left & right surround channels and you'll only get 5.1. I've posted the channel positioning diagrams before, that shows how it works.
There are a few discs that was fine though because of the way it was encoded, but can't remember which. This issue was first discovered when PS3 was given DTS-HD MA decoding capability via a firmware update last year. Same problem, but after one of the next few firmware updates this problem was solved.
In the case of PS3, it was relatively easy to fix because it uses only software to decode. But most players or AV receivers use hardware, a dedicated chip to do the decoding. I'm not sure is this issue in the hardware decoding players/receivers can fixed by firmware or not. Maybe it can, if there is a firmware update.
zerorulez
Jul 9 2009, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 9 2009, 05:14 PM) i thought out oredi since the rip version is out.. thanks Theatrical 162 min (DC is 186 min ) - Xtra 24 min.. This post has been edited by zerorulez: Jul 9 2009, 10:30 PM
ar188
Jul 9 2009, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 9 2009, 03:34 PM) How come BD only 1080i? Not all 1080p meh? the recordings were from 1080i HD cameras I think.. that;'s what it was meant.. if could be 1080p on BD but taken from 1080i source.. difference is probably guesstimate, 10-20% loss in video data (but may not even be noticable to the eyes) if comparing fast moving video or camera pans.. for still/non moving video, then 1080i can be upconverted to 1080p with very minimal loss if all the inter frame flags are tagged correctly..
megatron007
Jul 9 2009, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 9 2009, 05:14 PM) heard gonna to have a 1 long director cut ....anticipating tat but looking forward F&F4 and wolverine first  Added on July 9, 2009, 9:27 pmQUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 9 2009, 09:19 PM) the recordings were from 1080i HD cameras I think.. that;'s what it was meant.. if could be 1080p on BD but taken from 1080i source.. difference is probably guesstimate, 10-20% loss in video data (but may not even be noticable to the eyes) if comparing fast moving video or camera pans.. for still/non moving video, then 1080i can be upconverted to 1080p with very minimal loss if all the inter frame flags are tagged correctly.. jacki cheong concert naik to 1080p50 This post has been edited by megatron007: Jul 9 2009, 09:27 PM
ar188
Jul 9 2009, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 9 2009, 09:26 PM) jacki cheong concert naik to 1080p50  didn;'t really watch it when htkaki lent it to me.. was it good? you want tsai chin in concert or not? This post has been edited by ar188: Jul 9 2009, 09:34 PM
megatron007
Jul 9 2009, 09:50 PM
if i got dynaudio i sure wan cai cin tat one listen 2 songs can sleep.... de-stress from guli work life
rthj
Jul 9 2009, 09:54 PM
 AFTER....a few months later..
arremie
Jul 9 2009, 10:20 PM
samlee860407
Jul 9 2009, 11:03 PM
make me sked to post @@ i only got like 20++
rthj
Jul 9 2009, 11:47 PM
started out with a few......to experience it....
so there's no reason to be scared to post...just be happy with what you have now...it will grow.
where are those with rows and rows of these stuffs? or have they all been consolidated into HDDs?
wii no where to put lah.
this shelf started out filled with DVDs...soon they're replaced.....and so will the other shelves
This post has been edited by rthj: Jul 9 2009, 11:51 PM
ar188
Jul 9 2009, 11:49 PM