PROTON SAGA BLM CLUB>>ROCK'N'ROLL>>, GREAT, IT'S V8!! STEP THE THROTTLE!!

torresism
post Jul 7 2009, 08:49 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 7 2009, 08:45 PM)
just see the specs and upgrade on paultan
my opinion....totally not worthed
i'm better off with B and M line and modify it
nothing special abt the upgrade
the HU at least should have USB support...not just MP3
nod.gif nod.gif
yup...damn ugly with those silver linings ~ not my cup of tea doh.gif

sendiri mod also nicer than this one~

anyone has any opinion in Zenden this brand? good ?
torresism
post Jul 8 2009, 10:12 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 8 2009, 09:37 PM)
Oh no... was considering buying Saga BLM... but seems like there are a lot of quality issues not resolved yet.
Would you guys buy a different car if you had a 2nd chance? unsure.gif
soemtimes buy car need luck...i owned an one years old BLM, so far don have big problems, imagine my mileage is 26k oredi, and i drive quite "rude".

the only problem:

IAFM, changed it while 15k mileage, still running good now.

if i have 2nd chance, i will buy the 1.6 BLM... brows.gif

torresism
post Jul 11 2009, 03:58 PM

355 posts

my 25000km service cry.gif doh.gif

labour: rm40
shell helix semi oil: rm99
oil filter: rm14
air filter: rm20
spark plug: rm38 for 4 plugs
gear oil: rm110 for 4 bottles~

total: rm323

doh.gif

so expensive to service this campro~~ sweat.gif

the technician told me campro is like that.... doh.gif laugh.gif

torresism
post Jul 11 2009, 04:02 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jul 11 2009, 04:00 PM)
Ok here we go. I'll start with some simple pros and cons first for each car.

Myvi Pros
- Its from perodua, expect a high(er) level of QC compared to proton, they follow japanese work style and their service centres are good
- Good FC straight from the moment you get the car, low engine noise level, relatively decent NVH (noise,vibration,harshness) levels.
- Low maintenance, highest I ever paid for maintenance was about 300 + for a major service.
- Power wise, I have only driven 1.0, so I cannot comment much on power, but the 1.0 power is sufficient for city drive but on highways or hill tops, it really is underpowered. Able to go to genting without issues although you have to turn off the aircond and the drive up is really quite painful due to the power to weight ratio of 1.0. I think for 1.3 should not have any issues
- High end myvi has dual airbags, ABS, EBD and also optitron meter panel which is nice.
- Very very easy to drive and park the car.
- NO BOOT LAMP!! This is the drawback to this car although you could DIY, but there's no boot lamp at all. The daihatsu version has it, I have no idea why they didn't add this in.
- Overall good space and legroom even for tall people.
- 4 Power windows
- Has TWO trip meters. The trip meter is useful for checking distances or for calculating FC and you get two in myvi.
- Big center console area and very deep glove box for storage purposes. Big plus for those who like to keep stuff. Also, the storage area at the door is deep enough to fit your touch and go card or car park cards, etc).
- Huge side mirrors. I really liked myvi's huge side mirrors, they really cover a lot of the blind spots and you can see more of the vehicles that are coming from the left or right side of you.

Myvi Cons
- Lousy stereo sound when compared with Saga. The different is HUGE.
- Poor handling on corners due to size of the car and height of it, feel like it wants to tip over.
- On high speeds of 120 KM/H above (i've heard both 1.0 and 1.3 have this same issue, so its not about the engine power), the whole car feels floating and not stable at all, feel very dangerous. The light steering wheel doesn't help either, you have to hold on really tight with both hands at those speeds otherwise you will swerve to other lanes and end up in an accident
- Small boot space compared to Saga, but myvi has 60:40 foldable seats, so that helps a bit, but you wont be able to have passengers at the back seat if you do that.
- Dashboard materials easily get dirty and scratched (my old myvi got some dirt stains that couldnt come out with any cloth or detergent i used).
- Aircond not as cold as Saga's (my colleagues sat in my old myvi before, and then they sat in my saga, they said my new saga's aircond is cold - at the REAR seats). Basically from what I read, saga's aircond distribution around the car is good, even better than the previous version of vios (04/05 version).
- Lousy horn (i call it "chicken" horn). Some may not be bothered with this, but it matters to me, the horn is just too...girlish for me. Sounds like a "polite" way to say "hoi!"....but that's just me.
- Expensive when considering that its a hatchback car, but no doubt its a good quality car with minimal problems.
- Myvi is basically what they call a "butless" car, when in an accident, the damage can be very severe for the passengers as the front and back of the car is short with no protection. Only the front dual airbags can save the front, but what about the back?

Lets move on to saga
Saga Pros
- Good looking sedan car with Audi look-a-like front and mercedes c-class back. You will never be able to find another car that has this kind of look at this kind of price!
- Good stock stereo. I was blown away by saga's stereo when comparing with myvi's, the sound is just so much different even with the stock player.
- Very stable car at high speeds (from what i've been told). I only managed to go up to 120 km/h as I don't want to overstress the car and also I didn't have enough road space, so I couldn't go further than 120. But I can tell you, the car is really really stable.
- Excellent handling especially during corners, I managed to go through some pretty tight corners at 80km/h compared to the SAME corner in myvi about 50-60km/h. Saga feels very stable.
- Good suspension, the place where I stay in has lots of uneven roads, bumps and holes. Compared with myvi, the saga went through all that with relative ease and I didn't really feel them when i'm in the car, compared with myvi.
- Large boot space (415 litres if not mistaken or 55+ durians..haha). Saga has a really large boot if you compare with myvi. However, there's no 60:40 foldable seats, which is a waste because that'll be a great addition.
- Aircond is really cold even on level 1 and the aircond distribution to the whole car is good, everyone in the car can feel the aircond which is great.
- Cheapest sedan car you will ever find in the market. You can get a M/T car for 39000 or A/T car for 41498 with one driver's airbag (m-line spec). Now that's value for money.
- Comparing with myvi, headroom is slightly less but legroom and interior width is more or less same as myvi. That is what my colleagues told me.
- I was initially under the impression that insulation in saga is worse than myvi, but I feel that the insulation (apart from engine noise) is pretty good if not better than myvi (surprising).
- Has a boot lamp! Compared to myvi, saga AT LEAST has a boot lamp. Thank god proton didn't cut this one out.
- Front and back of Saga is much longer than the myvi hatchback, so logically when it comes to accidents, saga is safer DESPITE the fact that saga onyl has single airbags.

Saga Cons
- No ABS,EBD or dual airbags (only single airbag) even at current high spec (m-line)
- High clutch for manual transmission (i'm not sure if I should consider it as a con, previously when I drove myvi, the clutch release is really short, for saga I have to release it at least 80% before I can move the car or switch gears). I'm somewhat used to it now though. The high clutch does however have one advantage - the chances of the "engine dying" is much much less.
- Proton's hit and miss QC issues still plague saga, so far my car is at the moment ok except for the handbrake which when i release it, i have to release it fully properly, otherwise it will go back up a bit, and the handbrake light goes on the meter panel. I've been told that I could just adjust the screw (tighten it) but I have not done it yet.
- I've been told that proton's service centres are lousy (depending on location) and that the maintenance cost is quite high. This is in comparison with perodua cars.
- FC wise I have not been able to fully test as from my understanding, proton cars don't have good FC when come out from factory. Curently my FC is not at all good, I've pumped RM 45 and now my car has already gone 200 KM with only 2 bars remaining (I pumped the RM 45 petrol from shell when there was 1 bar remaining). This is left to be seen.
- Noisy campro engine. The campro engine is really really loud but my colleague who drives a satria neo says he likes the sound, feels more like a man's car.
- Only 2 front power windows and back power windows are old fashioned "pully" type like kancil and kelisa. Back windows don't go down completely due to the design of the car and was touted as a "safety measure" for kids. No issues to me though.
- No optitron meters for current highest spec of saga (m-line). However, I don't mind that and I really really liked the meter panel especially during night time, it has this cool glass-like feel at night. Not sure how to explain this.
- Saga only has 1 trip meter compared to myvi's two. To me, it is fine, but some may prefer two for FC calculation on 1 and the other for calculating distances from places.
- Small glove box and center console area (below single-din player), can't put that many things.
- The storage compartment on the doors in saga is not deep enough to fully cover the touch and go card or access cards. I find this quite irritating at time when i'm driving, there's the sound of the plastic hitting against each other due to this. Myvi's one is deeper.
- Smaller sized side mirrors but sufficient enough to catch vehicles coming from the sides. Most sedan cars have similar sized mirrors.

Ok that's pretty much all I can remember and think of. The above is the total UNBIASED different between the two cars as I have owned both of them. I'm not paid by proton and just do this to allow the public to make an informed decision on which car to buy. Now after the review, I shall address everyone's most important question - which car to buy ? This is very simple. You should make the call. When I bought myvi back in 2005, saga was not out yet, otherwise I might have considered saga. If you want a car with a big boot, just go for saga without question. But put everything you see in both cars as what you want, then decide which car to buy. If you're ok with the small boot and the unstable floaty feel of myvi at high speeds and also the somewhat-overpriced hatchback, by all means, go ahead with myvi. Otherwise, go with saga. Please put QC into your consideration too. If you buy saga, please do NOT expect it to have QC as good as perodua, there's no way you will ever get that with a SEDAN CAR at that price. When I decided to buy saga, I told myself knowing full well that proton's QC is a hit and miss affair and that there's potential problems with the parts in the car, some noises in the car, etc, so I just choose to accept that fact. Because if I want a sedan car at that price, I can only go for proton. THere's no other way. BTW, myvi is actually a good city car due to its size and light steering. But if you want something in between, saga is better as it is more stable at higher speeds.

So the conclusion is, know what you want and decide carefully. Do not regret after buying the car. There's been a lot of bashing on proton everywhere in forums, kopitiams, etc. I am one of them too, but after reading and fully understanding the issues, I decided to give proton a try. This is my FIRST proton car.  I believe they've come a long way with this car compared to the first saga. So I told myself, lets give them a chance and SEE FOR MYSELF rather than just blindly bashing proton. Oh and take note that FC for auto versions of both cars are different. Many said saga's FC (for auto especially) is pretty bad (but it depends on your right foot and also driving conditions like traffic jams, etc). Please do readups upon readups before you buy either car. Then align it with what you want in a car, then just buy it. Hope this helps.
thumbup.gif for you~
torresism
post Jul 11 2009, 04:22 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 11 2009, 04:19 PM)
labour RM40 so cheap?...wow
mine here major service labour is RM100
normal service...the labour they raised to RM70 already....more expensive
maybe different area different charges, they got give discount to me, cos i am their loyal customer... laugh.gif

torresism
post Jul 12 2009, 05:11 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jul 11 2009, 05:28 PM)
yes there are. got 4 sensor. much better i think

Added on July 11, 2009, 5:38 pmtorresism, your 25k service is quite expensive, how much is your 20k service..i heard its around 400 or less.
my 20k services is around rm260,

normal services but changed coolant. laugh.gif

Added on July 12, 2009, 5:15 pmanyone know how they changed the gear oil? just wonder if they nid to disassemble the plastic in car?

This post has been edited by torresism: Jul 12 2009, 05:15 PM
torresism
post Jul 13 2009, 04:24 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(nazri86a @ Jul 13 2009, 12:52 PM)
IMHO the best color is solid white... very nice when u put skirting...  brows.gif  brows.gif
black also nice but when dark cannot see bodykit...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
agreed!! drool.gif

i also felt regret to take silver.

white color BLM with black "masking", with full body kit, 16' rims, damn nice... laugh.gif

thumbup.gif

torresism
post Jul 14 2009, 12:41 PM

355 posts

what about u respray it?

i think 1.6L blm is worth to drive, extra 300cc which provide you more power and torque, somemore gearbox also different.

laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

if i own the 1.6L, i will change to 1.3L emblem...then all kena cheated from the surface, especially those myvi wanna tiong me... laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
torresism
post Jul 14 2009, 12:57 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(~bUa~ @ Jul 14 2009, 12:51 PM)
chilli red colour also ok..juz need to touch up the front bumper to make it more attractive  brows.gif

u wanna change the emblem? i oso might do that coz when the 1st time my frens saw it, they say 'sure tampal  punya 1.6'..aiyoh!  doh.gif
that's why you can try to stick the 1.3L emblem, then all will be tot it is an ordinary 1.3L saga only...but in fact, it is 1.6L heart. laugh.gif no matter how the other 1.3L cars mod (except turbo), they may only on par with your stock 1.6L. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on July 14, 2009, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(Hypro @ Jul 14 2009, 12:57 PM)
Guy I am not driving BLM but wana share my story on the SC to all of you, I have a real real headache problem with the SC Last 2 week when I done my 20k service.

Problem:

1. They just told me changing

- Engine Oil
- Spark plug
- ATF oil
- Coolant
- Oil Filter
- Air Filter

End up in the bill there is extra things come out, what sort of treatment oil, petrol treatment oil. This was not told and they just doing it without asking me vmad.gif end up my bill is RM498 plus labour fees.

Feel like get con from the SC.

2. I saw the worker was pouring the coolant on it, but is just a little bit only and it charge me 1 bottle.

Here come the climax part. After the servicing has done, they worker test drive my car due to I have complaint about the klok klok sound from the front part. Then after that, he straight away drive to wash my car, and that is fine. After my car finished wash, you know what I saw!!

My front bumper got a big scratch mad.gif vmad.gif I am asking the manager over there, and she told me that maybe I bang it myself and I didn't notice. How can it be, early in the morning 8.30am I straight away drive my car to the service center, if I bang my car I didn't notice it some more if I bang it myself how come I don't know at all!!! She asking her worker did he did that on my car, and the worker said "NO" mad.gif and she ask him did he drive my car for test drive and he reply"NO" he didn't drive it for test drive vmad.gif This make me really angry on it and I on the spot scold them. I saw him drive my car out around 10 mins long after that he drive it to the washing car center to wash my car. How come he said he didn't drive my car?!!!!!

After that she ask the worker go into the room, I think is asking him about this case, and at last she call up her friend come to have a look on how to paint back my car. At last she said she will pay for it. Ok, that is suppose to be. After that when I start my car I found out that my air cond button was turn into MAX. vmad.gif what are they doing on my car, test drive also need to MAX open the air cond. What is their working attitude?? I didn't saw where did he drive but I guess while the worker driving it must be pressing the gas pedal till the max, because I saw my fuel meter drop significantly mad.gif

Then last week drove my car to the SC again for the painting job. Around 4.30pm she call me up and said the painting job was done and my car is ready to collect.

When I collect my car, she said my car color got problem and the color will not match after 6 month later mad.gif how can it be if they are using the original color paint it will become different???Again, the air cond button is turn into the MAX vmad.gif

At last, I really fed up about their servicing, from the beginning until the end. They never said any single "SORRY" or make any apologize to me.

Can anyone recommend some good SC in PJ area? The SC are not allow me to bring in my own engine oil, and said that if you get outside oil it must be fake or recycle oil. doh.gif

Please think twice, if you tend to go Tmn Megah SENAXIS Sdn Bhd for doing your service. The above matter is from this SC.
ok...the items changed seems to be ok, cos 20k is major service, all the things you listed i also changed.

but sometimes you have to follow them go into the counter and ask them what they will change for you, and ask them to show you the list. From my experience, they will add "engine oil tune up treatment" and "screenwash" which are unnecessary, they wont told you, but they just assuming you agree it. That's why starting from my 20k services, i asked them never charged me for tune up treatment thingy and the screenwash. (They wan earn more that's why never tell you they will add in to the servicing list) shakehead.gif

for the scratch part, i have no idea. so next time don services at there anymore.

good SC in PJ i am not sure, but currently i servicing at pandan indah, cheras, so far so good....

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by torresism: Jul 14 2009, 01:07 PM
torresism
post Jul 14 2009, 06:09 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jul 14 2009, 05:47 PM)
ok ok..guys there,

a new question for the day...

y when i go for 1st gear (manual) but the car like move very slow..but i already accelerate ady + the engine so loud but move very slow...
doh.gif normal, gear ratio short ma, sometimes aircond "eat" your power when you accelerating... laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 14 2009, 07:00 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jul 14 2009, 06:27 PM)
but...so slow...like snail nia  laugh.gif
cant pick up tim!!....
but after that then can ady...happy.gif

don use 1st gear to play pick up la...use 2nd gear and 3rd brows.gif brows.gif

1st gear rev till 2k-2.5k then change gear, then end gear 4krpm and 3rd gear also...damn fun~ laugh.gif

in this blm, please forget about how u drive in wira, kancil, kelisa and others, i always don rev too much for 1st gear... laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 16 2009, 11:19 PM

355 posts

anyone installed voltage stabiliser?

seems like not much "effects"...

torresism
post Jul 17 2009, 12:53 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jul 17 2009, 11:28 AM)
Voltage stabiliser actually has two types. One for performance and one for ICE.

Unfortunately, a lot of accessories shop sells VS for ICE and not performance. Even though you get a VS for performance you won't see much of a difference as VS generally helps  stabilize the voltage that is being fed to all electrical components in the car.

When they say enhance mileage, i can't say its false neither its true but the enhancement could be so minute that its only a mere few meters depending on the driver's style.

VS for performance are usually quite expensive. You can simply google up Pivot's MegaRaizin or Guangdao. The ones they have in tradezone, Zaptor, is more for ICE.
i m using zaptor lo.. doh.gif ..but also seems not much improve in ICE, maybe this VS only help very very little, that's why unnoticeable... doh.gif

how about simota drop in? going to use it. hope this really help... doh.gif

more upgrade soon....
'
anyone know where can customize bumper with reasonable price? got an idea, make a "evo X" bumper... laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 17 2009, 03:30 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jul 17 2009, 03:14 PM)
wanna ask in what way does VS help ICE?
some said the sound become "louder" and clearer... whistling.gif

don know how true it is...i bought zaptor VS is because i tot it can improve performance... laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 17 2009, 08:39 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jul 17 2009, 07:53 PM)
drop in change can feel rpm go faster..but still almost the same power...maybe 2-3hp..not much to be noticeable in street drive
simota is cheaper than k&n...but i dunno ar can tahan or not...

but a proper openpod with cai..u can gain almost 6hp...

even change to iridium spark plug u can gain 3hp
simota got million miles warranty...and it also cheaper than knn..btw knn drop in filter is available for blm now?

open pod ah...cost me more..wait i got bonus first... laugh.gif

oh really...just change proton genuine sparkplug...ok..next time change it. bew , which denso iridium spark plug is it? got the model picture? laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 17 2009, 09:10 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jul 17 2009, 08:47 PM)
kanina drop in is not available yet for blm..must trim one..hehe...

get volker one nice already blush.gif
got link for the volker o nt? brows.gif

how much?
torresism
post Jul 17 2009, 10:35 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(silverchair959 @ Jul 17 2009, 10:24 PM)
my IAFM kong oredi  doh.gif

sent to Puchong SC this morning and when the foreman switch on the engine directly he knows that my IAFM die oredi huhuhuh

can view my video here

http://ralatitunormal.blogspot.com/

They will change it on this coming Tuesday...
after change everyhting will be ok...don worry... laugh.gif
torresism
post Jul 21 2009, 10:43 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jul 21 2009, 10:36 PM)
bro how long it took to replace the iafm in terms of minutes/hours?
depends...last time 3 service guys "layan" my car..one hour done... laugh.gif

by the way, anyone heard of "ventos" drop in air filter before? sweat.gif
torresism
post Jul 23 2009, 01:49 PM

355 posts

ok, for 195/50/r15

i tot "50" only will affect whether the tyre will hit the fender?

torresism
post Jul 24 2009, 01:43 PM

355 posts

i pumped v-powah before but still the same...can't feel anything different.. doh.gif

0.0461sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:33 AM