6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Health Hepatitis A & B, Is it necassary

SUSdavid_lynn
post Jun 27 2009, 08:52 AM

384 posts

it's either u are immune to it or not, there's no nothing in between, that's just silly. cool2.gif

QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jun 23 2009, 06:59 PM)
How effective is the vaccination  ? I heard from my doctor say , even after you take the vaccination , you not 100% immune to it. It like just 80 or 90% immune.
garagesell
post Jun 27 2009, 12:58 PM

1,310 posts

Hepatitis B - dun play your didi too much and avoid drink arcohol start from today.

cheers
PICAJONG
post Nov 29 2009, 10:40 PM

Rm150 for both AB. I will be taking the jab tommorow morning.

total up 3 times A+B only rm150? BP lab quote me rnm390 leh.

This post has been edited by PICAJONG: Nov 29 2009, 10:41 PM
TSadriankhoo153
post Nov 30 2009, 12:48 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

1 jab = RM150. 3x150
klifex
post Dec 6 2009, 10:01 PM

847 posts

let me explain to you.

Hepatitis B is sexually and blood transmission disease.
what's the problem with Hep B?
liver problem, this virus will cause liver damage, later liver cirrhosis, and some turn into liver cancer.
What's the problem when you have liver disease?
you'll become yellowish, you'll have abdominal pain, fluid start accumulate in your tummy, and it become bloated due to fluid shift into your tummy, and your immunity become very weak,
some develop things call portal hypertension where because of liver cirhosis, the circulation's pressure increase, this leads to other problem, such as oesophageal varices , where you can bleed from your esophagus, etc.

n conclusion, you wont die from the disease, but you die from the complication of liver failure, liver cirrhosis.

okie, back to the immiunization.
how can it protects you.
First, most 90% carrier in our population got it from their childhood, means from their close people, parents, or when they born...(if they are not immunized during birth)
the other 8% PROBABLY DUE TO SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED, and the rest probably due to other causes such as blood transfusion, sharing needle, etc.

If your parents are carrier, there's a chance that you might /might not get it, depends whether you're in the immunization program started in year 1985, if you're borned before that, then chances of you being Hep B carrier is higher if your parents are carrier. you should get yourself a check if you havent..

okie, next,
if you're not immunized with Hep B,
it's okie, because normal adults have adequate immunity to fight against Hep B virus, 1/10 normal adult (non immunized) will be infected with Hep B and become a carrier, while the rest 9/10 will free from the disease after infection, subsequent develop passive immunization after the infection.

Hep B Immunization.
the protection against Hep B infection depends on the immunization titre in your body. the higher antibody level in your blood, the lower risk you'll get.
generally, safe level >100 IU/L, minimum level 10IU/L
safe level protects up to 95%, while if between 10-100, u need a booster, and if less than 10IU, u need to take all 3 doses again.

in conclusion, Hep B is very prevalence in asian country...just becareful.

ivzh
post Dec 6 2009, 11:01 PM

668 posts

Hep B vaccination is essential, as once the virus start growing in the body (blood), there is still not known treatment that can 100% eliminate all of them.. U will be carrying the virus lifelong.

Hep A is optional, It do cause hepatitis, however it's OFTEN self-limited and mild, as the virus won't persist in the blood, instead it will be passed out in stool later.

And, Hep A Jab is expensive =x
caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 07:33 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 22 2009, 08:56 PM)
After you kena hepatitis, your risk of liver cancer increase so dramatically... that you're almost guaranteed to get liver cancer.

Go vaccinate yourself.
Wrong.
Liver cancer for Hep B infected patient ranges from a few percent to 20%.
The exact number is not yet established.

Yes. Everyone should go for vaccination.
The only reason our government did not make this compulsory is because it is more financially sound for the government to treat those infected rather than vaccinating everyone.
caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 07:37 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Dec 6 2009, 11:01 PM)
Hep B vaccination is essential, as once the virus start growing in the body (blood), there is still not known treatment that can 100% eliminate all of them.. U will be carrying the virus lifelong.

Hep A is optional, It do cause hepatitis, however it's OFTEN self-limited and mild, as the virus won't persist in the blood, instead it will be passed out in stool later.

And, Hep A Jab is expensive =x
True but there are some novel drugs that can be taken to suppress the virus to the point of almost curing.
The drug have to be taken for a long term though.
at least 6 months to a few years.

My dad is a Hep B carrier.
I'm vaccinated already.
Total cost of the drugs for the estimated period of time it needs to be taken runs more than RM20,000
Yes. The drug is very expensive.

So save up a little & get the vaccination.
Don't skip the 2nd or 3rd jab or you'll have to do it all over again.
SUSbman
post Dec 10 2009, 07:44 PM

503 posts

No, don't submit to the fear mongering.

I rejected the vaccine after I went for blood test.

I prefer natural route, build up immunity.

I do not trust everything the doctor said.

As a matter of fact, I don't trust western medicine.

caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 07:49 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Dec 10 2009, 07:44 PM)
No, don't submit to the fear mongering.
I rejected the vaccine after I went for blood test.
I prefer natural route, build up immunity.
I do not trust everything the doctor said.
As a matter of fact, I don't trust western medicine.
I suppose u will not regret when u are infected with Hep B & C as there is no cure for that.
& I suspect you will not look for doctors help when the disease manifest itself?

I don't trust EVERYTHING doctors said.
That is why there is a term call "second opinion"
But I do trust evidence based medicine.

When the evidence is right in front of someone, & that someone refuse to believe it, usually I just ignore that someone smile.gif
SUSbman
post Dec 10 2009, 08:07 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(caerulln @ Dec 10 2009, 07:49 PM)
I suppose u will not regret when u are infected with Hep B & C as there is no cure for that.
& I suspect you will not look for doctors help when the disease manifest itself?

I don't trust EVERYTHING doctors said.
That is why there is a term call "second opinion"
But I do trust evidence based medicine.

When the evidence is right in front of someone, & that someone refuse to believe it, usually I just ignore that someone smile.gif
Evidence is not absolute evidence. The quality of doctors nowadays are bleh.

They're so quick to wanna sell me drugs, vaccines, I sometimes wonder whether they're doing it for my own good or trying to make money off me.

Man have survived for thousands of years without a problem, without vaccination.

I am not about to ignore past wisdom/experience of ancient civilization and give up my entire self responsibility to doctors and western medicine.

Do not trust everything like a religion, and trusting doctors/western medicine entirely is no different from a man holding on his faith blindly without question.

Science can be doctored. Scientists cheat, and if a company like Bayer can still operate today, I have very good reason to question everything I was taught from school.

We must always question everything, especially things that are accepted by the mainstream.

Of course, this is not to say doctors are useless. They're very useful for patching you up for accidents, and trauma.

But when it comes to disease, I think I will take my money elsewhere. There're just too many drugs dependence nowadays.

caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 08:34 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

yeah right.
CyberSetan
post Dec 10 2009, 08:55 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Nov 30 2009, 12:48 PM)
1 jab = RM150. 3x150
Why is it so expensive? I only paid RM40 for the vaccine (1 vial) including the syringe and alcohol swab. 3 jabs cost me RM 120.

SUSbman
post Dec 10 2009, 08:58 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 10 2009, 08:55 PM)
Why is it so expensive? I only paid RM40 for the vaccine (1 vial) including the syringe and alcohol swab. 3 jabs cost me RM 120.
Maybe your batch is ciplak brand raised in monkey kidneys. *LOL* not as safe/clean as the more premium ones.

caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 09:15 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

which clinic?
Government or private?
Private charges differently.
CyberSetan
post Dec 10 2009, 09:19 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Dec 10 2009, 08:58 PM)
Maybe your batch is ciplak brand raised in monkey kidneys. *LOL* not as safe/clean as the more premium ones.
heheh~ ciplak? hell no~ we used recombinant DNA vaccine~
We got it directly from the hospital and injected it amongst ourselves. (I'm a medical student - we need vaccination)
Interesting price gap no?
LOL~

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 10 2009, 09:20 PM
illiumiskum
post Dec 10 2009, 11:45 PM

36 posts

hep A has naturally benign course-after a bout of hepatitis(inflammation of liver),it will resolve without any long term complication

hep B-for a healthy adult like you,has a low risk of progressing into chronic liver disease,liver cirrhosis and liver cancer,newborn,on the other hand almost always will suffer chronic liver disease due to hep B.But still,you need to get hep B vaccination in order to prevent u from getting infected and infecting others-hope this helps
caerulln
post Dec 10 2009, 11:53 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(illiumiskum @ Dec 10 2009, 11:45 PM)
hep A has naturally benign course-after a bout of hepatitis(inflammation of liver),it will resolve without any long term complication

hep B-for a healthy adult like you,has a low risk of progressing into chronic liver disease,liver cirrhosis and liver cancer,newborn,on the other hand almost always will suffer chronic liver disease due to hep B.But still,you need to get hep B vaccination in order to prevent u from getting infected and infecting others-hope this helps
Yup.
Those who refused to take the vaccination just because they don't want it should be considered a criminal because if they are infected, they may infect other people & may indirectly kill that person.
I do understand that some people are just short-minded whistling.gif
SUSbman
post Dec 11 2009, 03:44 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(caerulln @ Dec 10 2009, 11:53 PM)
Yup.
Those who refused to take the vaccination just because they don't want it should be considered a criminal because if they are infected, they may infect other people & may indirectly kill that person.
I do understand that some people are just short-minded whistling.gif
It is criminal to force vaccination on someone else too.

Try it and you end up dead.
Fortunately the world is not that way yet and people are way smarter than that.
If you worry so much just stay away from unvaccinated people, no need to force them to put stuff in their body.
It is short-minded and stupid to assume everyone wants to go around putting their bodily fluid into your ilk.
You have weird sense of logic, you seem to think other people's freedom is infringing on yours.

Just stay away from people lah, don't talk rubbish and be paranoid about unvaccinated people.

This post has been edited by bman: Dec 11 2009, 04:06 AM
caerulln
post Dec 11 2009, 04:04 AM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Dec 11 2009, 03:44 AM)
It is criminal to force vaccination on someone else too.

Try it and you end up dead.
Fortunately the world is not that way yet and people are way smarter than that.
If you worry so much just stay away from unvaccinated people, no need to force them to put stuff in their body.
It is short-minded and stupid to assume everyone wants to go around putting their bodily fluid into your ilk.
You have weird sense of logic, you seem to think other people's freedom is infringing on yours.

Just stay away from people lah, don't talk rubbish and be paranoid about unvaccinated people.
Unfortunately I can't do that.
In the clinic I have to wear disposable gown, double latex glove & disposable instruments. Not to mention separate autoclave for high risk patients.
That is no problem. I have enough protection.

Problem arises when I'm not wearing protection & I don't know if the patient is telling the truth of not having Hepatitis B, C or HIV.
I'm not talking rubbish.
This is proven science.
One that cannot be doctored with countless independent tests.

Paranoid is right but not unreasonable paranoia.

I'm not assuming that somebody will put their fluid on me.
That I can charge as criminal offence.
A simple sneeze or cough is enough to transmit the virus.
Don't u know that?

& how exactly can I avoid unvaccinated people?
Maybe u should start by sticking a paper written "Hep-B unvaccinated" on your forehead

& u have a weird sense of logic that u do not trust proven evidence-based science.
I don't know what is your education level nor am I to judge it, but even orang asli nowadays take vaccination.

Enough said
& as per what my friend emailed me, I will not reply to u anymore:
[attachmentid=1349889]

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:25 PM