23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Bottom

National Team The "La Furia Roja" Spain National Team Talk, EURO 2012 WINNER--- RECORD AFTER RECORD

Adryan
post Jul 4 2012, 11:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jul 3 2012, 10:37 PM)
Where r the torres doubters? lol.
I'm still not entirely convinced ...

I personally thought he was playing better in the last few weeks of the Premier League for Chelsea .. then he plays like shit in the first Spain game. Then he scores two goals against Ireland, who are a very poor side, then he played like shit again the next game.

Yes, he won the golden boot, he won the Euros, he won the Champions League, he won the FA Cup but he still looks like he has lost that extra thing in him which made him one of the world's most feared strikers. I'm not going to say things like he didn't contribute alot because football is a team sport.

And how many times have we said "TORRES IS BACK!". We said it when he scored agianst West Ham, we said it when he scored against Man United, we said it when he scored the hat trick against QPR, we said it when he scored against Barca, we said it when he scored against Ireland and we said it when he scored and assisted in the final.

I will believe it when I see it but as of now, Torres doesn't look the same player Liverpool signed 5 years ago. He was hungry, he chased every ball, he was unplayable. Now he looks like he has lost that extra yard of pace, it looks like his control and touches have become so bad and it looks like his decision making has dropped.

I only have pity for Llorente (who never got a single minute) and Soldado (great record at Valencia last season and not even selected) who had to watch in despair when Torres put on a crappy performance.

He didn't have a great scoring record for Atletico (30%). He doesn't have a great scoring record for Chelsea (18%) and for Spain (30%) (And Spain is full of quality). So my conclusion is, Rafa Benitez got the best out of him with (57%). Even David Villa has played less games and has a better record but of course they are different players but I'm just saying the Spain squad is not the problem.

It has gone on far too long to be a confidence and form issue. Almost 2 years since the World Cup time.
TSsolstice818
post Jul 4 2012, 11:36 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Jul 4 2012, 11:01 PM)
I'm still not entirely convinced ...

I personally thought he was playing better in the last few weeks of the Premier League for Chelsea .. then he plays like shit in the first Spain game. Then he scores two goals against Ireland, who are a very poor side, then he played like shit again the next game.

Yes, he won the golden boot, he won the Euros, he won the Champions League, he won the FA Cup but he still looks like he has lost that extra thing in him which made him one of the world's most feared strikers. I'm not going to say things like he didn't contribute alot because football is a team sport.

And how many times have we said "TORRES IS BACK!". We said it when he scored agianst West Ham, we said it when he scored against Man United, we said it when he scored the hat trick against QPR, we said it when he scored against Barca, we said it when he scored against Ireland and we said it when he scored and assisted in the final.

I will believe it when I see it but as of now, Torres doesn't look the same player Liverpool signed 5 years ago. He was hungry, he chased every ball, he was unplayable. Now he looks like he has lost that extra yard of pace, it looks like his control and touches have become so bad and it looks like his decision making has dropped.

I only have pity for Llorente (who never got a single minute) and Soldado (great record at Valencia last season and not even selected) who had to watch in despair when Torres put on a crappy performance.

He didn't have a great scoring record for Atletico (30%). He doesn't have a great scoring record for Chelsea (18%) and for Spain (30%) (And Spain is full of quality). So my conclusion is, Rafa Benitez got the best out of him with (57%). Even David Villa has played less games and has a better record but of course they are different players but I'm just saying the Spain squad is not the problem.

It has gone on far too long to be a confidence and form issue. Almost 2 years since the World Cup time.
Torres doesnt lose the pace. He is afraid to use his pace. Read somewhere else that if he pulled his hamstring again, he will be out for long long time due to the previous injuries he had.
Adryan
post Jul 5 2012, 07:31 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 4 2012, 11:36 PM)
Torres doesnt lose the pace. He is afraid to use his pace. Read somewhere else that if he pulled his hamstring again, he will be out for long long time due to the previous injuries he had.
Well .. but to say he doesn't lose pace is wrong. He has got older from the time he was with us.

If that's the case, then he will never be back to the Torres everyone saw. His pace was his best asset that scared the shit out of players but well however, his pace has nothing to do with his poor touches, control and decision making.
Icahn
post Jul 5 2012, 09:14 AM

21 posts

Profile: Spain’s gentlemanly football genius, Vicente del Bosque
He was famously fired by Real Madrid before taking charge of the national team and many of the world’s best players. But the mastermind behind Spain’s successful European champions always keeps his cool.
By Nick Lyne
2email0share83

Quietly spoken and diplomatic, Del Bosque has united players from different backgrounds in the Spanish squad.
Gentlemen are thin on the pitch in soccer today, but if anybody deserves the soubriquet of el caballero, it’s Vicente del Bosque, the coach of Spain’s national side.
Going into the European Cup with a World Cup under his belt, and with Spain the favourites to win the tournament for the second consecutive time, Del Bosque, 61, displayed his typical understatement when describing his team’s chances, saying: “The important thing is not to lose a sense of modesty, that they continue being good guys and if they continue like that, everything can get better.” And better they got: progressing steadfastly through the tournament to trounce Italy 4-0 in the final on July 1 in Kiev.
Del Bosque’s success with the national side is Real Madrid’s loss; the club unceremoniously dumped him in 2003 after he won a major trophy in each of his four seasons at the Bernabéu.
Del Bosque was relieved of his duties the day after he won Real Madrid’s 29th league title. Club president Florentino Pérez said: “Del Bosque’s profile is a traditional one, we’re looking for someone with more emphasis on tactics, strategy and physical preparation. We believe that the squad we are building would be more powerful with a coach with a different character.”
The decision was not only extremely ungracious, but also ill-advised. While Real won two far-from-pretty league titles between 2003 and 2011, the likes of Carlos Queiroz, Bernd Schuster and Fabio Capello all failed to match Del Bosque’s feats, and it has taken Mourinho two bad-tempered seasons before claiming a league title. The club has failed to reach a Champions League final since 2002, and has been forced to play second fiddle to Barcelona domestically.
Del Bosque is, at least in public, the antithesis of Mourinho: he never wanted the spotlight to be turned on him in the first place, never enjoyed the pressure and ultimately paid the price for not being a big enough name for a club where image is everything.
He said little at the time of his departure and maintained his dignified front. But later he said that he was hurt by the manner of his exit, particularly the way in which it was “leaked out through the hangers-on at the club”. He said that he could not sit on the balcony of his flat overlooking the club’s training ground for many years, and it was not until 2009, the year after he had become coach of the national team, that he could bring himself to return to the Bernabéu for a Real Madrid game again.
Respect for the old school
The irony that Del Bosque led Spain to their maiden World Cup with the core of his squad hailing from Barcelona, has not been lost on many. With the players’ mentality having strengthened in the wake of the Euro 2008 triumph under Luis Aragonés, Del Bosque took control of what was already a well-oiled machine and set about making the team even better.
He is the kind of coach that players respect: he had been a popular, if unspectacular, defensive midfielder for Real during the 1970s and early 1980s, winning five league titles and four Spanish Cups in addition to 18 international caps. His avuncular, low-key approach has generally avoided confrontation with his players, despite the stellar egos in the squad, and he has never once lost his calm in front of the media – a far cry from his predecessor, the often hostile Aragonés.
While many viewed Del Bosque as a brilliantly capable coach, having already won La Liga and Champions League titles at club level, the new coach was largely branded as the beneficiary of much of Aragonés’s hard work in developing the unique one-touch passing, possession-style of play that Spain had employed on the way to conquering Europe in 2008.
The core of the Roja ranks was largely set and the team’s tactics needed few adjustments (at least initially). But where Del Bosque was set to truly make his impact on the Spanish national team was in his ability to create a piña; a Spanish term that literally means ‘pineapple’, but figuratively references a close-knit band of brothers, resembling the tropical fruit’s close bunching.
His soft-spoken, unassuming approach reflects that increasingly rare quality in Spaniards: educación, meaning politeness, a certain formality and respect when dealing with people. Del Bosque rarely wears his emotions on his sleeve and still prefers to keep away from the limelight. In managing the national side, the Salamanca-born coach’s innate diplomatic skills have come to the fore. Despite his traditional background from central Spain, Del Bosque is a man of progressive ideals and excels in bringing people together to create a sense of pluralism in his teams. It was this quality in particular that allowed the coach to blend a squad of players from across Spain’s diversity of nationalistic regions and put together the World Cup-winning side of 2010.
Closing the Barça-Real rift
In this context, his handling of the at times explosive Barcelona-Madrid relationship is particularly notable. With the national side, he was lucky to inherit that Barcelona core of players brought up under Pep Guardiola, in a squad where teamwork and a team spirit were, and remain, the order of the day.
The facts speak for themselves: Del Bosque became the most successful coach of all time on debut with a national team when he won his first 13 games in charge. He also helped guide the country to a new record of 15 consecutive wins, and joined Brazil’s class of 1993 to 1996 with the longest undefeated run of 33 matches.
In a combined 18 qualification games for the 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012, Del Bosque has won all 18. He has only ever lost two competitive encounters: to the United States in the 2009 Confederations Cup and to Switzerland in their opening game of the 2010 World Cup.
During his first 50 games as Spain coach, he won 42, while drawing two and losing six with 123 goals scored and just 40 conceded in the process.
Just before the European Cup, Del Bosque said that he will stay with Spain until the World Cup in Brazil in 2014, where, despite his modesty, his side will be among the favourites, and perhaps in with a chance of joining Brazil and Italy in winning two consecutive World Cups. If it does, it couldn’t have happened to a nicer chap.
matyrze
post Jul 13 2012, 07:23 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Spain advanced into Final of EURO U-19 currently played in Estonia.

Spain won the semis against France on penalties, after drawing 3-3 after extra time.

They will meet the surprise package Greece in the final.

This is the full list of the U19 squad, though I got it from old news. So I'm not aware of any last minute changes. Most probably there are changes made.

Athletic Club de Bilbao: Jonas Ramalho Chimeno and Kepa Arrizabalaga Revuelta
Atletico de Madrid: Saul Niguez Esclapez, Javier Manquillo Gaitan and Oliver Torres Munoz
FC Barcelona: Gerard Deulofeu Lazaro and Alejandro Grimaldo Garcia
RC Celta de Vigo: Jonathan Castro Otto
RC Deportivo la Coruna: Pablo Insua Blanco
Liverpool FC: Jesus Fernandez Saez (Suso)
Malaga CF: Juan Miguel Jiménez López (Juanmi) – Captain.
Manchester City FC: Denis Suarez Fernandez
Real Madrid CF: Jesé Rodriguez Ruiz and Derik Osede Prieto
Sevilla FC: José Gómez Campana
Valencia CF: Francisco Alcacer Garcia (Paco) and Juan Bernat Velasco
Villarreal CF: Adrian Ortola Vano

Jese of Real is currently the leading scorer with 4 goals.
hammers
post Jul 15 2012, 01:55 PM

323 posts

is astro goin to show live for the finals?
Paco ftw!!
matyrze
post Jul 15 2012, 07:32 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(hammers @ Jul 15 2012, 01:55 PM)
is astro goin to show live for the finals?
Paco ftw!!
I believe Astro won't show it live. The final will be at 2.30 am, so I will share working streaming links for those who are interested.

Paco hasn't been preferred much for the first eleven, but he has came off the bench in nearly all the matches, and I must say his impact has been positive each time he came on nod.gif The commentator said that while Paco is a very talented kid, his form has dropped since his father passed away recently. But I guess you know this already right?
Adryan
post Jul 15 2012, 08:37 PM

23 posts

I am hoping to see Suso make a few Liverpool appearances this season.
fJok3R
post Jul 15 2012, 08:52 PM

1,419 posts

so i heard deulofeu is having a good campaign, i'm rather hoping that no extra pressure is given to him, don't want to bojanize another prospect
hammers
post Jul 16 2012, 12:32 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jul 15 2012, 07:32 PM)
I believe Astro won't show it live. The final will be at 2.30 am, so I will share working streaming links for those who are interested.

Paco hasn't been preferred much for the first eleven, but he has came off the bench in nearly all the matches, and I must say his impact has been positive each time he came on nod.gif The commentator said that while Paco is a very talented kid, his form has dropped since his father passed away recently. But I guess you know this already right?
i only know about his father deceased after he scored his first goal with Valencia sad.gif
He might break through to Valencia for up coming season, hope to see more of him in Laliga.

for now, all the best to Espana-U19!! amunt!

This post has been edited by hammers: Jul 16 2012, 12:40 AM
TSsolstice818
post Jul 16 2012, 12:56 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Adryan @ Jul 15 2012, 08:37 PM)
I am hoping to see Suso make a few Liverpool appearances this season.
Din really catch the u19 championships. Have anyone seen Suso play so far? How was it?
fJok3R
post Jul 16 2012, 07:25 AM

1,419 posts

champions smile.gif 1-0 vs greece
matyrze
post Jul 16 2012, 12:52 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

The Olympics is next!! laugh.gif laugh.gif Spain is steamrolling the international scene at all age.

The final was, well, it was TOTAL domination. Clearly a class above the rest of the tournament. Let see how they progress come the U20 World Cup next year.

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 16 2012, 12:56 AM)
Din really catch the u19 championships. Have anyone seen Suso play so far? How was it?
He was good, showed nice set of skills. But really, this is a tournament for boys, so nothing much can be made out of their performance here. His future still relies heavily on how soon Liverpool are willing to give him a role in the first team.
Adryan
post Jul 16 2012, 06:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 16 2012, 12:56 AM)
I've never watched a game but I did see some youtube highlights (yes, I know!) but Suso has great passing abilities and is skilful. He's also got a bit of shooting in him and I think he had a free kick that hit the bar. He's kinda a bit like Alonso in terms of passing but he moves alot more and looks more mobile.

However, does look a bit one footed (although he can pass with his right as well) and when he was played on the right in one of the games, it wasn't his best game. Plays alot better in the centre.
TSsolstice818
post Jul 17 2012, 04:22 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jul 16 2012, 12:52 PM)
The Olympics is next!! laugh.gif  laugh.gif Spain is steamrolling the international scene at all age.

The final was, well, it was TOTAL domination. Clearly a class above the rest of the tournament. Let see how they progress come the U20 World Cup next year.
He was good, showed nice set of skills. But really, this is a tournament for boys, so nothing much can be made out of their performance here. His future still relies heavily on how soon Liverpool are willing to give him a role in the first team.
Doubt he will make the cut anytime soon with his size that way. No way he can survive the tackle at this weight. Even Lucas (during his first and second seasons) had to go for weight gaining for better survival in premier league.
matyrze
post Jul 23 2012, 04:05 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 17 2012, 04:22 AM)
Doubt he will make the cut anytime soon with his size that way. No way he can survive the tackle at this weight. Even Lucas (during his first and second seasons) had to go for weight gaining for better survival in premier league.
Hmm I don't know sols, but I think Suso will not get the proper chance he deserves at Liverpool. I predict him to have some chances next season under Brendan, then he will quickly be adjudged as not 'fully developed physically yet', and he will get loaned out to some obviously lower level clubs, get his development heavily stunted as a result. After few seasons he will be sold to Atletico or Sevilla or similar Spanish clubs.

To me the biggest fallacy among English clubs in regards of youth development is 'loaning players out to have their physiques and competitive mentality built up'. I simply don't believe that. Being loaned out will only kills a youngster's confidence.

San Jose has already left Liverpool without playing a single senior game, now almost a fixed regular in Athletic. I also expect Pacheco to leave in the future.

Still, I do hope Liverpool prove me wrong. I hope Man City will do a good job with Denis too. He is also very talented.
TSsolstice818
post Jul 27 2012, 01:57 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jul 23 2012, 04:05 PM)
Hmm I don't know sols, but I think Suso will not get the proper chance he deserves at Liverpool. I predict him to have some chances next season under Brendan, then he will quickly be adjudged as not 'fully developed physically yet', and he will get loaned out to some obviously lower level clubs, get his development heavily stunted as a result. After few seasons he will be sold to Atletico or Sevilla or similar Spanish clubs.

To me the biggest fallacy among English clubs in regards of youth development is 'loaning players out to have their physiques and competitive mentality built up'. I simply don't believe that. Being loaned out will only kills a youngster's confidence.

San Jose has already left Liverpool without playing a single senior game, now almost a fixed regular in Athletic. I also expect Pacheco to leave in the future.

Still, I do hope Liverpool prove me wrong. I hope Man City will do a good job with Denis too. He is also very talented.
Suso and pacheco are certainly two bright prospect. Pacheco should be getting his chances this season. He played pretty well thus far in pre season.

Anyway, U23 just kantoi to Japan doh.gif sweat.gif
TSsolstice818
post Feb 1 2014, 09:43 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Spain mourns after Euro 2008 winning coach Aragones dies at the age of 75
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...ies-age-75.html

R.I.P
Ahlok
post Jun 10 2014, 11:41 PM

NERF THIS!
1,088 posts

hi guys, any Spain supporter for coming world cup?

i am flex.gif biggrin.gif
sinoffire
post Jun 14 2014, 10:01 AM

3,557 posts

Still got spen sapoter aftr that?? lel

23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0293sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:15 PM