LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!
silvadesk
Jul 27 2010, 12:11 PM

Hey all. Just wanna share and ask something here about my Gen2.
Two days ago the car gave problem; black oil was leaking real bad and when we sent the car to a workshop (the nearest workshop we could find), the mechanic said that the oil seal was broken so we did the replacement. He also claims that one of the screw from the head was missing and he insisted us to replace it. Since the workshop was not our regular SC, we wanted to take the car to our SC for further inspection. Is it safe to drive with one missing screw for a few more days before we take the car to our regular SC?
silvadesk
Jul 27 2010, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(shazmn @ Jul 27 2010, 12:34 PM) screw from the head or screw from the head rocker cover(cam cover)? if from head i dunno much but if from rocker cover should be ok... anyway why dont u just replace the screw and insisted on going to SC? the screw might cost around RM2-RM5 at bolts and nuts where proton could charge you more than that... No, not from the cam cover. He is already charging us RM100+ for LABOUR ONLY. And he said that the screw is difficult to get. I really don't know how much he is gonna charge on the screw then. But if it is only a few ringgit as you quote, I might ask him too (just hope he doesn't charge higher). Thanks bro. p.s. Insist to go to SC because charge is among friends punya price. LOL.No, seriously, I am worried that something else could go wrong with the car since the black oil leaked pretty bad (almost nothing left and latch berbunyi). So, I would trust the SC to do the inspection for me. This post has been edited by silvadesk: Jul 27 2010, 04:05 PM
silvadesk
Jul 30 2010, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(shazmn @ Jul 27 2010, 04:45 PM) so which screw ah? the one inside the head ka? the black long screw ka? i oso dunno the name... or the one around it? refer to the picture attached if its the number 1 screw that screw tie ur head with the block...that one if missing i think got big problem kot... if its the number 2 screw that is the screw which tie the rocker cover/cam cover to the head...if that one missing should be no problem BUT the pomen must be cautious oso la add gasket glue around the area with no screw so that it helps in holding the cover securely... Just found out it's the screw that ties the cam. And the mechanic HAS THE SCREW. So much for "susah nak dapat skru tu". Nway, know anyone selling 2nd hand ECU? ECU 04. Heh..
silvadesk
Oct 8 2010, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Oct 8 2010, 12:22 AM) Mine not affected.