Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

SUSzazaza2009
post Jul 8 2009, 11:39 AM

69 posts

Vamp,

Thanks for the info, back at my place people call Amex card as TROJAN sabun card. Remember the TROJAN serbuk pencuci, it has the TROJAN logo also.

Just now who ar......Lose mouth......dont' get your jaws dislocated.
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 11:41 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Let's just get on the discussion with Credit Card shall we...
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 11:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
Last time, a lot of retail don't want to accept AMEX because of the higher merchant fees compared to VISA and Master.
But since Maybank bought over the franchise, a lot of major retail outlets are already getting the merchant terminal for AMEX.
In M'sia, AMEX under Maybank arms had turned into Credit Card (correct me if I'm wrong, limited knowledge on AMEX also). But if one holds the true AMEX, it's supposed to be a charge card; same as DINERS.
I try to explain from my understanding:
MBB Amex (Maybankard Amex) has MBB logo. You will earn TreatPoints. All are Credit Card. E.g.
Maybankard American Express Gold & Classic
Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum and Gold & Classic

Amex's Amex (American Express) does NOT have MBB logo. You will earn Membership Reward points. There are Charge Card and Credit Card.
e.g. of Credit Card
American Express® Gold Credit Card
American Express Platinum Credit Card
Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card

e.g. of Charge Card
The Platinum Card®
American Express Gold Card
American Express Personal Card
and also the Centurion card.

Summary:
MBB Amex has Credit Card only.
Amex's Amex has both Charge and Credit card.
rclxub.gif

vampbreak
post Jul 8 2009, 11:48 AM

157 posts

@boon
Yerp Yerp! Mine is supp. But others card are actually mine. And I supp it to a few people. smile.gif

This post has been edited by vampbreak: Jul 8 2009, 11:49 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 8 2009, 11:51 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 8 2009, 11:46 AM)
I try to explain from my understanding:
MBB Amex (Maybankard Amex) has MBB logo. You will earn TreatPoints. All are Credit Card. E.g.
Maybankard American Express Gold & Classic
Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum and Gold & Classic
Amex's Amex (American Express) does NOT have MBB logo. You will earn Membership Reward points. There are Charge Card and Credit Card.
e.g. of Credit Card
American Express® Gold Credit Card
American Express Platinum Credit Card
Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card

e.g. of Charge Card
The Platinum Card®
American Express Personal Card
and also the Centurion card.
Summary:
MBB Amex has Credit Card only.
Amex's Amex has both Charge and Credit card.

rclxub.gif
Not true..

MBB Amex is still considered charge card, and it does not belongs to the Visa/Mastercard that is so-called as "credit card".
MBB Amex cant be used on machines that does not have Amex acceptance
Toriton
post Jul 8 2009, 11:53 AM

274 posts

don't have supp... all are principal...

got offer from citibank to upgrade to platinum... 3 time oledi... but refuse coz the annual fee damn high compare to my lovely gold card wub.gif
SUSzazaza2009

69 posts

From my opinion Amex is not as widely accepted in Malaysia as VISA and Mastercard does. But if you have a Centurion Trojan, you will be treated as lord of the rings !
cute_boboi

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
Not true..

MBB Amex is still considered charge card, and it does not belongs to the Visa/Mastercard that is so-called as "credit card".
My understanding is charge card needs to settle full payment every month. Credit card can opt for minimum payment.

tinkerbel
post Jul 8 2009, 11:54 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Toriton,
U can try to get the AF waived biggrin.gif

If U get an upgrade from Citibank, the first 3 years AF will be the same as that of your Gold. After that, U can just ask them to waive ur AF for U lah biggrin.gif

@cute_boboi,
Yes that is right. Charge card means U need to pay in full at the end of the month, the CC however works like any other CCs biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 8 2009, 12:03 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 8 2009, 11:54 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
Last time, a lot of retail don't want to accept AMEX because of the higher merchant fees compared to VISA and Master.
But since Maybank bought over the franchise, a lot of major retail outlets are already getting the merchant terminal for AMEX.
In M'sia, AMEX under Maybank arms had turned into Credit Card (correct me if I'm wrong, limited knowledge on AMEX also). But if one holds the true AMEX, it's supposed to be a charge card; same as DINERS.
Normal retail credit card machines usually has Visa/Mastercard acceptance only, that is what ppl label "credit card" for Visa/Mastercard.

If u go into a shop and show them your MBB Amex card, 60% of them dont accept coz their terminal only has Visa/Mastercard.

But most Maybank terminal should have Amex acceptance by now.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 8 2009, 11:58 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 8 2009, 11:53 AM)
My understanding is charge card needs to settle full payment every month. Credit card can opt for minimum payment.
Not really, u can opt not to pay but the interest rate can kill u..

Although MBB Amex is slightly different with the conventional American Express card, but its still belongs to that category..

The correct terminology/classification (Issuer) is broken up as:-
1. Visa/Mastercard
2. Visa/Mastercard Electron
3. American Express/Diners cars
4. JCB/Maestro (Japan/Europe)
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:04 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:58 AM)
Not really, u can opt not to pay but the interest rate can kill u..

Although MBB Amex is slightly different with the conventional American Express card, but its still belongs to that category..

The correct terminology/classification (Issuer) is broken up as:-
1. Visa/Mastercard
2. Visa/Mastercard Electron
3. American Express/Diners cars
4. JCB/Maestro (Japan/Europe)
Then, why does MBB Amex earns TP and Amex's Amex earns MR ?

Why MBB Amex not earn MR ?
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 12:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Not true..

The term "credit card" or "charge card" is not by the merchant company.
Credit Card is known as it is because of the power to revolve while one is still with credit balances.
Charge card however is known as charge card because in the even that your didn't pay the last outstanding amount, you wouldn't be able to use it.
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/chargecard.asp?viewed=1

tinkerbel
post Jul 8 2009, 12:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@cute_boboi,
Er.. because MBB Amex belongs to MBB whilst Amex Amex that uses MR is really via Amex.
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 12:09 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

@zazaza2009

One last time, stick to the topic and this is not kopitiam section.
While we still have casual chat in here, but pls do not go overboard till we view it as "spamming".
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 8 2009, 12:13 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 8 2009, 12:04 PM)
Then, why does MBB Amex earns TP and Amex's Amex earns MR ?

Why MBB Amex not earn MR ?
Becoz for Malaysia, MBB Amex is just part of a "brand", cardholder are actually dealing with Maybank directly for everything including transcation and payment and American Express is just a back-end guy that receive some interest/benefit from Maybank.
If u have a American Express card, u are dealing directly with American Express and Maybank wont get a cent.

Get wat i mean?

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 12:05 PM)
The term "credit card" or "charge card" is not by the merchant company.
Credit Card is known as it is because of the power to revolve while one is still with credit balances.
Charge card however is known as charge card because in the even that your didn't pay the last outstanding amount, you wouldn't be able to use it.
It does not say u cant use if u dont pay tongue.gif
Unless this is what u mean " This type of card does not allow cardholders to carry a balance from one month to the next as they would with a credit card".
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Not true..

Sorry, dig back a bit. If refer to this MBB Amex:
Maybankard American Express Gold

At the bottom of that page:
Read our credit card agreement (PDF)
It is stated clearly MBB Visa, MBB Mastercard and MBB Amex are referred as Credit Card.

It is not mentioned MBB Amex is a Charge Card category.

On the other side, it is not mentioned about the above agreement for Charge Card, e.g.

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:08 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Er.. because MBB Amex belongs to MBB whilst Amex Amex that uses MR is really via Amex.
Yes, that's my understanding from reading this thread, Charge Card thread and also my own research on MBB Amex and Amex's Amex.

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 8 2009, 12:05 PM)
Good info.

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:13 PM)
Becoz for Malaysia, MBB Amex is just part of a "brand", cardholder are actually dealing with Maybank directly for everything including transcation and payment and American Express is just a back-end guy that receive some interest/benefit from Maybank.
If u have a American Express card, u are dealing directly with American Express and Maybank wont get a cent.

Get wat i mean?
This means:
1) MBB Amex can only offer Amex Credit Card
2) Amex's Amex can offer both Amex Charge Card and Amex Credit Card

Right ?

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 8 2009, 12:23 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 8 2009, 12:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@cute_boboi,
Ah well.. whichever Amex U go for, it's all issued by MBB here. tgeoklin oredi mentioned MBB bought over the Amex franchise for MY.
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2009, 12:29 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 8 2009, 12:26 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Ah well.. whichever Amex U go for, it's all issued by MBB here.  tgeoklin oredi mentioned MBB bought over the Amex franchise for MY.
rclxub.gif Perhaps it is each individual personal interpretation of MBB Amex and Amex's Amex. rolleyes.gif Time for lunch smile.gif
mustang
post Jul 8 2009, 01:03 PM

#mUsTaNg.corp#
1,748 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 8 2009, 11:25 AM)
OMG! icon_rolleyes.gif This thread has lost its guts since 2 days back. It suddenly sounds gangsterism and very “Ah Beng” type. rolleyes.gif 
Before this I was quite interested in this cc, as it gives 1% cash back without a max cash rebate limit per month. However, after enquiring with HLB CS just now, it is not as straightforward as what I thought. I have changed my mind now.

1. Cash rebate is fixed at 1% and given to all retail transactions (excluding petrol), subject to a minimum purchase of RM100.
2. Cash rebate amount per transaction is rounded up. For example, if you spend RM100, the rebate is RM1. However, if you spend more than RM100 but below RM200, the rebate is still RM1. Let’s say your spending is RM199, you will still get a rebate of RM1, and not RM1.99.
3. AF – 1st year FOC. From 2nd year onwards, you ought to spend at least twice a month or RM8k per year, in order to get it waived.
4. No reward points are given

All these stringent T&Cs, especially item 2, drive me away! doh.gif
Do you also ask them whether the transactions need to be in 100s format? Meaning RM100.. RM200.. RM1100 and so on?

Let's say if I purchase RM1299? Is it counted based on RM1200?

125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:30 AM