CLOSED

dog
post Jul 4 2009, 09:52 PM

199 posts

Was eyeing an AOC 2434Pw last weekend. At the shop, it looked kinda good but for some reason the other 22" AOC next to it looked better due to its glossy screen and appeared to have tighter pixels and more vibrant colours. Nevertheless I proceeded to purchase the 2434Pw due to good reviews on this thread.

Back home, I did some quality comparison test with my 6 year old LCD, the Philips 170B4 (25ms response time). Damn, the results are kinda disappointing. The 6 year old TN LCD beats the AOC hands down. I say this because the AOC can't seem to produce enough color scales.

Take a look at this pic1 IMG_9502.JPG. Observe that you can differenciate between the woman's shoulders and arms from the background on my Philips. On the AOC it's so dark you can't see shit.

In the last pic3 IMG_9507.JPG, compare again the shadows behind the picture frame the guy is holding. Clearly the details are lacking on the AOC. No matter how I adjusted its setting, it still could not produce good colour scale. Btw the Philips was on DVI and AOC on VGA (obviously coz it lacks DVI input).

Now the ultimate let down. I was hoping the in-built speakers would at least gimme some decent audio but no! It's worse than a RM5 pair of speakers! Worse than laptop speakers. If you peek the unit from the top, you can see these 2 cheap looking "tweeters" inside.

Ok, I'm done b****ing. Now who wants to buy my unit? smile.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dog
post Jul 4 2009, 10:02 PM

199 posts

Source of the pics? Well I accidentally set the camera to low resolution.

The AOC is on loan to my colleague today who's supposed to verify for me whether it really sucks or it's just me smile.gif

Lemme see if I can dig up some more pics from last week.

EDIT: Oh I got your question wrong! That's just some movie I downloaded and played 2 full screened players simultaneously on the same PC.

This post has been edited by dog: Jul 4 2009, 10:57 PM
dog
post Jul 4 2009, 10:32 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(xemse89 @ Jul 4 2009, 10:22 PM)
hmm....i didnt seem to have this kind of problem for aoc angelo,u use hdmi?
xemse89, no wor, I have a 6 year old PC with an AGP FX5500 card smile.gif DCR on and off doesn't seem to make much difference in my case. Brightness and contrast is set to "Movie" mode but other mode appeared to have this same problem.

Do you have some screenshots you can share? I'm attaching a few more for comparison's sake. Thanks.

This post has been edited by dog: Jul 4 2009, 10:34 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dog
post Jul 4 2009, 11:15 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jul 4 2009, 10:35 PM)
Did you tried calibrating it?

As to DCR, well of course you can't compare it like that.
Try playing movie in full screen, when the scene moves from a bright scene to a dark scene, the DCR will do its 'magic'
Hi kaiserreich, thanks for your suggestion.

I guess this is what I'll do. Ask my colleague to take it to office on Monday, then hook it up to HDMI and play a movie. I'll report back on the results.

If I'm still not satisfied with the results, then this thing goes to Garage Sales liao smile.gif
dog
post Jul 6 2009, 08:53 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(limray @ Jul 5 2009, 08:49 PM)
You give your old Philips LCD a DVI connection and the new AOC 2434Pw the old VGA connection ?
No wonder your movies quality look like crap on the AOC 2434Pw.
The AOC is best used with HDMI or a DVI to HDMI converter with 1920 x 1080 resolutions.
Based on your connections and pictures, I can guess you are using a resolutions of 1280 x 1024 for both the LCDs
(with VGA port on the AOC) because I can see some stretches blur on the AOC 2434Pw.

To be fair, you should test the AOC 2434Pw with a HDMI cable (with DVI to HDMI converter) on 1920 x 1080 resolutions
and more better if you can test movies with 1920 x 1080 fullHD resolutions (mkv files or blu-ray). I can show how good
3gp movies look nice on my 2 inch handphone LCD screen and look like crap on the AOC 2434Pw in full screen mode. haha.
Hi All, some good news. The HDMI input did make an awful lot of difference. The quality has improved 100% compared to VGA.

The bad news is I'm not gonna sell it anymore haha tongue.gif I intend to purchase a HDMI->DVI converter. Surely this will help. No camera at work. Pics will come much later.

Thanks all for the tips.

EDIT: laszlo, RM670 at Compu-Zone.

This post has been edited by dog: Jul 6 2009, 08:54 PM
dog
post Jul 12 2009, 06:59 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(dog @ Jul 4 2009, 09:52 PM)
Was eyeing an AOC 2434Pw last weekend. At the shop, it looked kinda good but for some reason the other 22" AOC next to it looked better due to its glossy screen and appeared to have tighter pixels and more vibrant colours. Nevertheless I proceeded to purchase the 2434Pw due to good reviews on this thread.

Back home, I did some quality comparison test with my 6 year old LCD, the Philips 170B4 (25ms response time). Damn, the results are kinda disappointing. The 6 year old TN LCD beats the AOC hands down. I say this because the AOC can't seem to produce enough color scales.

Take a look at this pic1 IMG_9502.JPG. Observe that you can differenciate between the woman's shoulders and arms from the background on my Philips. On the AOC it's so dark you can't see shit.

In the last pic3 IMG_9507.JPG, compare again the shadows behind the picture frame the guy is holding. Clearly the details are lacking on the AOC. No matter how I adjusted its setting, it still could not produce good colour scale. Btw the Philips was on DVI and AOC on VGA (obviously coz it lacks DVI input).

Now the ultimate let down. I was hoping the in-built speakers would at least gimme some decent audio but no! It's worse than a RM5 pair of speakers! Worse than laptop speakers. If you peek the unit from the top, you can see these 2 cheap looking "tweeters" inside.

Ok, I'm done b****ing. Now who wants to buy my unit? smile.gif
Ok guys, this AOC 2434Pw has turned from ugly duckling into a swan once I swapped from VGA cable to HDMI/DVI.

I'm starting to like this AOC monitor.

VGA (previously posted):
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1059653
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=1059660

DVI->HDMI (new):
(as attached below)

Note: This movie is a DVD rip, quality ok-ok only.

Btw the built in speakers turned out quite well if HDMI<->HDMI cable (video & audio) is used.

However this monitor is not for everyone especially if you're running a GeForce FX 5500. There's a lot of intermittent 1 sec black outs occurring and games are totally unplayable as the screen will flicker and trash your screen like crazy. Your PC will blue screen in no time. Time to upgrade PC I guess. Playing 1080 trailers gave me a 100% CPU utilization :0

This post has been edited by dog: Jul 12 2009, 07:34 PM

dog
post Jul 14 2009, 12:12 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(limray @ Jul 13 2009, 07:39 PM)
Some ATI card have this problem when using HDMI with HDTV/HDCP enabled LCD monitors or LCD TV.
U have to enable and set the scaling options to overscan in the ATI catalyst control center man.

[attachmentid=1076243]
Had the same problem with an ATI Radeon 3300 IGP. Just do what limray says. Install the latest ATI Catalyst driver and software. Then do the over-scaling. It worked for me.

0.0172sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:54 AM