cherroy
post Jun 24 2009, 02:23 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Jun 24 2009, 12:15 PM)
hahaha....paiseh....
I was just googling around for the Dell's review and came across that review.
Thanks for the link  laugh.gif

Added on June 24, 2009, 12:47 pmI just went to dell's online website & they don't have the 2209WA, only the 2209W which says it is a TN panel.....

I performed a search for 2209WA & there were no product matches....=.="
You need to browse through the small & medium business category to find it (cannot get at under home and home office) http://www1.ap.dell.com/my/en/business/mon...s=bsd&cs=mybsd1
First time I also can't find it as well.

You can't compared the E-IPS with those more expensive IPS panel.

2209WA E-IPS at 799
24" IPS at 1699

I don't find it is fair to compare with higher end IPS panel as price wise differentiate so much. But for me, compared with TN panel, it gives you better viewing angle, better colour + height adjustable + swivel, rotate, USB, it seems competitive already. While price wise differ not too much, not more than 200 more expensive.

The reason I choose it, I can't find any panel besides TN which below 1000 (because if can (price wise), I try to avoid having another TN panel, mainly due to viewing angle which I sometimes I need to see the screen while standing.

I don't see the review given too bad comment about it, it is surely not a perfect top notch lcd, but somehow it suits some area people needed, at least for me.

It is not realistic to expect to pay less than 800 then getting a top notch product, right? wink.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 24 2009, 02:35 PM
cherroy
post Jun 25 2009, 01:53 PM

25,802 posts

1-1 replacement on my 2nd 2209WA which has dead pixel.
Their service is good.
cherroy
post Jun 25 2009, 06:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yuying1 @ Jun 25 2009, 06:03 PM)
Do they replace it with a brand new unit or a refurbished one?
Brand new.

cherroy
post Jun 30 2009, 02:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Jun 29 2009, 04:04 PM)
Hi all,

Just placed my order for Dell's 2209WA online last Saturday.
Normally how long it takes for them to deliver to your doorstep?
And what to look out for when receiving the package?
How do you guys check for "dead-pixels"?  sweat.gif
If they have stock, you should receive around 2-3 business days. Which both my order was delivered exactly 2 business days.

So probably you will receive on Wednesday.

Just make your whole screen into black, white. If there is (touch wood), you can see tiny dot.

Logistic company doesn't care or wait for you to check. They said their job is delivery, they are not from Dell. Anything regarding warranty claim, need to call their customer service. They will arrange for replacement aka advanced 1-1 replacement, which took about 4 business days for my previous case.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jun 30 2009, 02:09 PM
cherroy
post Jun 30 2009, 03:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jun 30 2009, 02:16 PM)
Bro.. you mean if the CRT is say at 60 hz.. you can see it with naked eyes (as opposed to say filming it or seeing thru a viewcam)? Sorry if I sound nub cause I never experienced this before..
At 60Hz for CRT, although it cannot be totally seen, but I can notice/sense something is wrong on the screen which make the eye tired.
cherroy
post Jun 30 2009, 11:06 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Jun 30 2009, 10:23 PM)
Thanks cherroy~!
Can I know what settings u guys r using on ur 2209WA?
Contrast, Brightness & RGB values I mean.
Just for reference  wink.gif
I don't like too bright, so bightness set at 10, contrast at 70.

Most my LCD, now and previous, I always set brightness at low level.

Everyone preference is different, the most important you feel comfortable with it.
cherroy
post Jul 17 2009, 11:33 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(remeron @ Jul 16 2009, 10:14 PM)
Need to ask fellow buyers who bought Dell products especially the monitors..

Am thinking of buying the S2409W monitor from dell.
I read from reviews that it's quite a decent monitor, however, i'm very picky especially when it comes to dead pixels.
Even 1 dead pixel bothers me.  Do you know dell's policy on that?  Anyway had such experience before?
Zero dead pixel only applied on premium panel (aka most ultrasharp series, they got stated at below) others, if not mistaken, 5 dead pixels policy as same as most manufacturers.
cherroy
post Jul 17 2009, 03:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Jul 17 2009, 02:17 PM)
how to check dead pixel?
Set your whole screen into white/black, red or other colour, then spot got any different colour dot.
cherroy
post Jul 25 2009, 10:34 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jul 25 2009, 10:04 AM)
I'm also looking at the range 22" to 24". I notice the current emerging trend of massive marketing of 23". Many manufacturer seems to be promoting this size with discount and sweet deals, rather than 22" or 24".
Why is that? hmm.gif
My guess, this has a lot to do with manfacturing cost and convenience, which 23" could be more cost effective to produce.

My wild guess only.
cherroy
post Jul 25 2009, 01:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 25 2009, 12:44 PM)
SO far I havent come across any software that checks for dead/stuck pixels. So i guess the best would be the old eyes method for you.
It is about physical hardware problem, software cannot detect it.

Even you have lot of dead pixel, you printscreen the page, you won't able to see the dead pixel.

Your GC send the signal to the screen, then the lcd screen response to the signal, there is no feedback loop from the screen pixel by pixel to verify the pixel is act according to the signal unless lcd manufacturers install the loop feedback mechanism in it, which I don't see there is a need for it as it just mean more costly only which defy the price competition on lcd industry and put the manufacturer in disadvantage situation.

cherroy
post Aug 5 2009, 03:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Aug 4 2009, 11:44 AM)
hmm - i am stuck as to which to get and if it is worth the extra.

i am looking at getting an lcd 24".
my uses - photo edit & videos plus must have hdmi for hook up with ps3 or xbox360. i currently have an 1-2yrs old dell 22" which is great but limited connection and the colours not very accurate.

question - will i be disappointed if i just get the normal TN panel like the asus vh242 or shall i splurge more and get the 24" dell ultrasharp that cost 2x the asus? will the asus perform better than my existing dell? is there another non TN panel alternative to dell ultrasharp? i can't seem to find any non-tn lcd on sale at low yat. Thanks in advance smile.gif

edit: i do calibrate my existing monitor but the grey scale etc seems limited
24" Dell Ultrasharp model is PVA model, cannot compared with TN model, surely price wise 2x then.

It is very difficult to find non-TN LCD out there as non-LCD model surely price wise cannot compete with TN model one. Nowadays, shops are more concentrate on price wise/war to lure customers.
cherroy
post Aug 10 2009, 03:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Aug 10 2009, 01:12 PM)
I searched for review about the mentioned Dell Ultrasharp™ 2209WA and the results are kinda negative.
@The Sifu, u might wanna take a look at this review before making decisions.
I owned it, ok with it, but if you want to compared with top-notch S-IPS panel which come in 4 digit one, surely no match.

But price wise is attractive as you top up a little compared to TN panel counterpart, you get better colour and viewing angle. Somemore got USB (which is useless for me anyway) and height adjusted and can swivel (which is useful for me).

Also you get zero dead pixel warrant for Ultrasharp premium panel.

Not to say this is surely good, but just at 799 with 100~150 more than TN panel counterpart, and with some extra features others most TN panel doesn't have, seem ok or fair deal.

cherroy
post Aug 16 2009, 01:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Aug 16 2009, 01:43 PM)
i don't like 16:10 aspect ratio, noob resolution... all the images & words very blurr.
There is no wuch thing of 16:10 aspect must be blur, it depended on your LCD native resolution.

cherroy
post Aug 16 2009, 01:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sanderz @ Aug 16 2009, 01:43 PM)
i don't like 16:10 aspect ratio, noob resolution... all the images & words very blurr.
QUOTE(sanderz @ Aug 16 2009, 01:50 PM)
last time when i use my LG 17" LCD @ 1440x900 very blurr.
Then it is your LCD or display setting problem, has nothing to do with 16:10 aspect.

If your 17" is not widescreen or not the native resolution of the LCD, then setting 16:10 surely blur then.
cherroy
post Aug 16 2009, 02:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 16 2009, 02:02 PM)
lol 16:10 noob reso? i laugh to the grave..
actually most high end lcd using that reso..

not all ppl prefer lcd for HD purpose.. it's just marketing gimmick..
what the heck even with full HD we always can see the black bar so what's the point..

ppl always in the desktop or using graphic application prefer extra space..
HD term has been totally being 'abused' by marketing lately. Nowadays, a lot of people just seek for HD without knowing what it HD about. More about feel good factor instead knowing the actual fact of it.

Simply go out to ask, what is HD? I can bet 90% of the people will tell the screen is more sharp and crisp. <-- which is not actually true, whether your screen is sharp and crisp or not, still depended on your source.

In actual fact, most people bought full HD to watch Astro only, which is kind of waste on the full HD. Pay extra couple hundred on full HD screen, but 99% of the time watching Astro which not yet a HD content, correct me if I am wrong.
cherroy
post Aug 16 2009, 02:36 PM

25,802 posts

Anything with 1920 resolution, they can put up Full HD lcd monitor already, as it is the standard, correct me if I am wrong.

So now in the market we have a lot of 22", 23", 24" with 16:9 Full HD.

But until now I still not fully understand why people say 16:9 is better. You just get less (or none) black bar on top/bottom when watching movie. But in ordinary computer stuff, 16:9 has less height.

I still see most office still using 4:3. As sometimes height also an import issue for seeing the whole document in length.
cherroy
post Aug 16 2009, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Aug 16 2009, 03:03 PM)
haha with 27" already took 3/4 of my table..  tongue.gif
i can't imagine ur 30"  rclxms.gif

Seriously, I don't know how 30" can fit in ordinary table. Need to step backward to see the whole screen?
cherroy
post Aug 23 2009, 12:19 PM

25,802 posts

The marketing term nowadays on HDMI is more about marketing gimmick just like full HD.

As nowadays, most advertisement and marketing term make people taught HDMI quality > DVI, same like Full HD is screen is better/sharper than non-full HD one.

As if LCD monitor speaker is not better than ordinary speaker, then what the use of HDMI? hmm.gif

cherroy
post Aug 23 2009, 04:28 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Aug 23 2009, 12:41 PM)
about d LCD speaker, d sound reli*****@#@$

better get a external speaker... even those low end speaker also can beat d LCD internal speaker d..

regarding to d full HD.. do we realy nid a full HD?? normally we just watch on9 movie , pps , dvd...

does this all require a FULL HD resolution??
Most application, like ordinary dvd and movie and application doesn't require or utilise the capability of the Full HD. It depends on your source, most source are not Full HD, may be except the like blue ray dvd. Correct me if I am wrong

QUOTE(Onion-KiD @ Aug 23 2009, 01:06 PM)
Ya. So i suggest add some little info about how those HDMI/DVI function for avoid misunderstand.
HDMI create some feel good factor for consumer to have it (no offence), so it is actually a good factor to drive sales, I don't see why manufacturers want to explain to consumer HDMI and DVI are actually same, which they can easily sell just by have HDMI instead of DVI.

If LCD speaker sucks why need HDMI? which something I don't quite understand.
cherroy
post Sep 5 2009, 12:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Sep 4 2009, 05:25 PM)

Added on September 4, 2009, 5:28 pm
ya, its depend on person to person. some may not sensitive for the performance, than there is not much different you can notice as long as u don compare side by side~ biggrin.gif  The U2410 is a wide gamut LCD...so...not everyone can accept this~ smile.gif
Previously I used Samsung TN panel, then change to Dell 2209WA, side by side, can see the difference, which is obvious that most will pick the 2209WA by just see the picture.

Yup, have to agree, if not put side by side, then won't notice much different, except the viewing angle.

0.0215sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:55 AM