Just have a quick question here.
How well does Acer H233H scale low-res movies on full screen?
Resolution of such movies are around 640x480 (you know those older animes which don't get the HD treatment now a days).
CLOSED
CLOSED
Aug 14 2009, 04:52 AM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Just have a quick question here.
How well does Acer H233H scale low-res movies on full screen? Resolution of such movies are around 640x480 (you know those older animes which don't get the HD treatment now a days). |
Aug 18 2009, 09:18 AM
Aug 18 2009, 12:19 PM
Aug 18 2009, 01:42 PM
Thats what I wanna know... poor quality ones.
I have a ton of older animes in crappy-ass quality which are in RMVB with a bitrate of sub-200kbps. |
Aug 18 2009, 01:51 PM
Well as long as its decent.... I don't mind.
You can download some 720p hq trailers of some games here : www.gamersyde.com Will surely put your monitor at its full glory. Added on August 18, 2009, 1:53 pm QUOTE(terakiyuki @ Aug 18 2009, 01:51 PM) Yeap.... the sound quality is also.... Distortions almost evertime when something loud happens. I can still bear with it.... after-all, these animes are really really old. Not even proper 480p treatment for these animes. Heh.. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 18 2009, 01:53 PM |
Aug 18 2009, 10:13 PM
I'm kinda torn in between the Acer H233H and Viewsonic VX2433w at the moment. Price, the Viewsonic is just about RM10-20 more so it doesn't matter either ways.
Specs wise.... they're neck and toe. But I've heard some unconvincing thats that the Viewsonic has rather poor black levels? Now I know TN panels won't offer you any true blacks either way, but in comparison to the Acer.... how is it? |
Aug 19 2009, 06:13 AM
QUOTE(Riddhy @ Aug 19 2009, 12:31 AM) @raptor_cZn the lg w2361v you saw here? which shop? can tell me the price plz?? If connected using HDMI (say you connect it with a PS3/360), you can use the output audio port to a pair of speakers.@kidz i want to know acer h233h comes with a audio cable for its audio port is it audio output or input can i connect external speakers to it?? if not then how do you use it? what is its purpose?? |
Aug 22 2009, 12:18 AM
Went for Viewsonic VX2433wm afterall... At first got the H233H, but turned out there was a dead pixel. But the main problem was the glossiness, really too distracting. Pains my eyes somemore.
Changed it for the VX2433wm... off to test it out vigorously. |
Aug 25 2009, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Aug 24 2009, 06:50 PM) Btw, I am probably going to buy a PS3 when FFXIII is out. So is it safe to say that its gameable with HDMI-DVI(HDCP??) adaptor for video and another analog RCA L-R cable connecting directly to my PC speaker amp for sound? Yes it is.Although there are monitors even if its HDCP compliant won't show an image from the PS3. |
Aug 26 2009, 06:56 PM
It is 23-inches, 5ms response time.
Aug 28 2009, 08:20 PM
Cheapest of the bunch = Acer H233H.
Glossy screen, so this may or may not be a deal breaker for you. If you are putting the monitor with lots of lights, the reflection may bother the heck out of you. Performance wise, this monitor is decent, good black levels and the glossy screen does make colors more vibrant. However this is especially bad if you're doing a little bit of photoshopping. I personally went for the Viewsonic VX2433WM and it is slightly more expensive than the H233H. But the matte screen was what made me chose it. I just couldn't take the reflection from the Acer. As you can expect from Viewsonic, nice and rather accuarate (for a TN panel you don't expect high of a color gamut) colors. According to most owners of the AOC 2434PW, it is pretty impressive on its own. It is on the same price as the Viewsonic though, I didn't get a chance to look at it so other owners can shed some light on this one. But if anything, I'd suggest the Viewsonic VX2433WM among all else. The backlight bleed is so much lesser than the Acer. |
Aug 28 2009, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:39 PM) thank you for the comment Better specs in regards to only a 60,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio.for now Viewsonic is still cheaper than AOC by RM10, but AOC seems to have better specs. any AOC users want to give some opinions? If you like DCR, this may be the one to go for. If you're like me who couldn't care less about DCR either ways.... well, I guess its fine if you go either AOC or Viewsonic. |
Aug 29 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(Faint @ Aug 29 2009, 11:04 AM) If I'm not mistaken, Viewsonic 2433 require to choose the input on everytim you switch on your monitor. No that is false.I have my PS3 and PC hooked up to the monitor now. PC via DVI and PS3 via HDMI. The monitor remembers the last input it was in before I switch it off. There is absolutely no need to choose the niput when I turn it on at all. |
Aug 31 2009, 02:08 PM
For its price (RM800 IINM), the G2411HD isn't a very good deal.
It doesn't provide as vibrancy of colors of the V2400W and FP94VW. I initially wanted to get this monitor, but for its price.... it doesn't outperform the other cheaper 23/23.6-inchers which are under RM700 right now. |
Aug 31 2009, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Aug 31 2009, 08:03 PM) 21.5" right? Yea.better get 24' instead becouse 1980x1080 in 21.5' someone said it smaller than 24".may hurt ur eyes. But this model have good features Because pixel-pitch on a 21-incher is so darn small when the resolution is at 1080p, you won't even realise that you could be squinting your eyes to look at the screen. Bad in the long-term. |
Sep 13 2009, 12:06 AM
Quality is good and its color vibrancy is boosted by its glossy screen. However if you are doing some photoshopping, the glossy screen will definitely hinder your work. Also the glossy screen may be something rather personal. Some can take the reflection, many can't. But overall, its a nice monitor with decent black levels.
Sep 16 2009, 02:51 AM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Sep 15 2009, 08:29 PM) went to look at Viewsonic VX2433WM in LYP today, they demo-ed a show which did not manage to show the quality of the LCD itself. it was dark and gloomy, tengok pun takda selera mau beli QUOTE(toottut89 @ Sep 16 2009, 01:09 AM) i've seen it in harvey norman ikano power centre and sunway pyramid. My impression exactly when I saw it in All IT.it was disappointing to see the one in ikano, but in sunway it looks better. but i haven't actually seen it perform in fullHD that's why im wondering how it looks like in fullHD Utter crap. But you know, REQUEST that you want to see it in its native resolution (which is what I did, although with Viewnet). |
Sep 24 2009, 01:45 AM
You can always route the PS3's audio to a pair of speakers individually, without the use of HDMI. Or of course you can even use the optical out if your speakers has support for optical input.
It is better to go for HDMI equipped LCD monitors, simply because you'd want to take advantage of the Deep Color feature for PS3 games and movies. |
Oct 10 2009, 01:35 PM
That's true.
There are still alot of 2434pw available. Not going to be sold out anytime soon, atleast not this year. |
| Change to: | 0.0477sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:45 AM |