iPod Touch User Thread v3, Everything about iPod

frega
post Sep 19 2009, 05:54 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Soralicious @ Sep 19 2009, 01:30 AM)
yes, and currently it is difficult to jailbreak the latest OS
whats the point of jailbreaking again?
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 08:25 AM

396 posts

no IPS display and bad camera is fail.
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 09:21 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Sep 2 2010, 08:35 AM)
Got some bad news and some good news some neutral news.The bad news is I didnt get my visa to go to US.The good news is my father still go to US under government work.Some neutral news is I scare my dad doesnt have time in US to go buy it.Wish his supreme give time for him to go shopping than can go buy for u and me  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
he has a credit card or debit card in the US right? buy online? even if there's no local store where you dad works, apple will ship it.
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 11:15 AM

396 posts

IPS technology is a display technology. Basically it provides WIDE viewing angles. No IPS, if you tilt the screen or if you look at the screen from the sides, you cant really see much.

Yes, most apple displays are IPS, including on the imac / macbooks / cinema display.

Added on September 2, 2010, 11:17 am
QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 2 2010, 11:02 AM)
2 megapixels camera
if 4G is the new version, its 0.7 megapixel for the back camera. not 2.

This post has been edited by frega: Sep 2 2010, 11:17 AM
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 12:50 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 2 2010, 12:02 PM)
thanks for that info. dang it! now I know my laptop don't have IPS. cry.gif
most laptops don't. why do you think people pay premium for apple? for the logo?
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 02:13 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 2 2010, 01:36 PM)
yea, for a long time now I thought it was for the snob appeal!  tongue.gif
Question is why won't the other laptop makers implement this on their models or is it Apple's proprietary technology and as such copyright ?
Its not proprietary, LG etc make the display for apple. Other laptop makers dont include it cos generally windows users want cheap cheap. Cheap cheap you dont get good display.

LG was already crying they cant make enough iPad(IPS) displays for apple like a month ago.

What's proprietary is Super-AMOLED (the rival), Samsung only. So basically now HTC is switching from Super-AMOLED to Super-LCD cos Samsung want to keep all their S-AMOLED for their own phones.
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 03:19 PM

396 posts

pre-order i think
frega
post Sep 2 2010, 08:55 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(blur_goofy @ Sep 2 2010, 08:20 PM)
but is the cam really only 0.7MP only?? seriously doubt it would be good enuf for HD recording..
HD is 720p. The camera is capable of 1280x720, so its HD.
frega
post Sep 3 2010, 08:07 AM

396 posts

just wait for online store to have it... jesus so impatient.
frega
post Sep 5 2010, 01:13 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Sep 5 2010, 01:00 AM)
I don't get it... What's with these ppl's obsession for IPS technology...? IPS just brings about more accurate color on a wider angle display. And those ppl who really needs color accuracy is for photographers to printing publishers. Do ppl really do editing on the iPod touch's miserably small screen...? As for wide angle, why bother if I'm the only one staring at the screen...? Most of the time, ppl would detest having second or a third pair of public eyes sneaking onto their screen. Don't tell me there are people who would actually stare at the touch display at an angle...?

IPS on Apple portable iDevices (with the exception of the iPad) is a marketing hype as far as I'm concern...
IPS could be useful say when 2 people are watching a movie together. or maybe trying to look at stuff (cooking recipes?) from afar and at an angle.
frega
post Sep 5 2010, 01:20 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Sep 5 2010, 01:14 AM)
Got... got...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XW9ghPSmN20

How to embed using itouch ar? How come not working ar? I did it like how i do it on the computer but white box lah...
doesnt say IPS at all in the video.. just cos the title says it. 24 bit color is vague MIGHT be IPS but then not really. 24 bit truecolor is IPS.

Added on September 5, 2010, 1:22 am
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Sep 5 2010, 01:15 AM)
Both instances would strain my eyes... I would prefer to do that with an iPad instead...
not everyone has an ipad...not that its sold here yet. IPS might not be important for people with ipads. i dont see a reason to NOT expect a quality display, apple use IPS in all their products.

only reason i can think of they excluded it cos LG was crying they couldnt make them fast enough.

This post has been edited by frega: Sep 5 2010, 01:22 AM
frega
post Sep 9 2010, 01:15 PM

396 posts

no IPS i can deal with, was slowly warming up to it. now, confirmed only 256ram. sigh. iphone4 it is.
frega
post Sep 12 2010, 08:12 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 12 2010, 08:09 PM)
Posting thus from the Apple Store in The Lourvé.

Just bought the new iPod Nano 16GB Product [RED]! She's a beauty! Also tested the new iPod Touch. The screen not bad, good viewing angle! I'm tempted to get one to avoid draining my iPhone 4 battery while gaming on Game Center. Kancheong!

Going off to the Apple Store L'Opera in a bit. I'll make up my mind while in the train later. sweat.gif
snap some pictures on the viewing angles >.<
frega
post Sep 12 2010, 10:29 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 12 2010, 10:14 PM)
Too shiny to take decent pics. It's good enough. The screen still greys out when viewed at extreme angles. Other than that, it felt as snappy as my iPhone 4. rclxms.gif
I'm in Apple Store The Lourve Paris.
^ pilot or steward.

i think i need to see the screen for myself before i can decide. =/

edit: it seems the fidelity is almost the same as itouch 3g's. exact blue tint when you twist it. but now 256mb arghhhhh. 3 tabs for safari in memory only, 4th tab it'll start to refresh. prolly also lesser res textures for games like Epic Citadel.

This post has been edited by frega: Sep 13 2010, 02:34 AM
frega
post Sep 15 2010, 07:56 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Sep 15 2010, 05:47 PM)
THANKS!

And to all who cared for me biggrin.gif thanks too, i paying desposit only haha i not that dumb. Go school dono wan meh -.-. Btw, if  i bank it how will them know i paid? got receipt number?
um not appropriate to direct a 13y/o to buy stuff thru garagesale...definitely not something that cost close to rm1000.

kid, be patient, it'll be here very soon.

This post has been edited by frega: Sep 15 2010, 07:58 PM
frega
post Sep 16 2010, 04:16 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Sep 16 2010, 02:40 PM)
Er, i ordered from them, but it's the supplier that i ordered from, not the store itself sweat.gif
m'sia apple store = apple inc, there's no supplier.
frega
post Sep 16 2010, 11:18 PM

396 posts

people you're advising a minor (13 y/o) to buy stuff over the internet with cash. wongpeter...did you just ask him to bank in money to you?

um xiiam1047....dont do anything. get help from an adult.
frega
post Sep 17 2010, 09:15 PM

396 posts

@xiiao1047

lol @ 13y/o you saved enough pocket money (from parents?) to buy ps3 and ipodtouch/iphone, sounds a lil bit spoiled.

0.0498sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:28 AM