iPod Touch User Thread v3, Everything about iPod
THTgadgets.com
Jun 23 2009, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(futra @ Jun 22 2009, 04:02 PM) hey guys.. glad to hear that 3.0 is available  while waiting for msia app store to provide 3.0 OS, i wanna ask some (noob) ques.. 1. will the update process removes all my apps, games, songs, etc? 2. if yes, is there any app to backup them (dun really wanna go through all the games to unlock levels etc) Hey mate, I made my purchase of the 3.0 update on iTunes Singapore... Cannot wait for the Malaysian Store anymore!  Anyway, the update process will certainly not remove any bit of your data... Everything will remain as it is and what is installed is the firmware itself as well as all of those advertised new features...
THTgadgets.com
Jun 24 2009, 04:38 PM
Well, I also made my 3.0 purchase via iTunes Singapore a couple of days back... Cannot wait anymore and paid USD9.95 for it, not exactly a small investment but great value for the enhanced features though!  Anyway, the new firmware is doing fine thus far... WiFi is still running great (more accurate also!  )and I also have no complaints about battery life... I'm glad that the guys at Apple enhanced the Stocks app with the more detailed landscape mode, great for iPod business users like myself! In addition, the Spotlight feature helps in providing a one-stop search "center" for something that I want, whether from the Contacts, Todo, or even Music... Cut-copy-paste is also working seamlessly but unfortunately, Voice Memo is quite useless for now though... Btw, what is the price of Bluetooth headphones in the market today? And what are the recommended brands? I'm planning to get one to take advantage of wireless headphones' convenience! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jun 24 2009, 05:52 PM
THTgadgets.com
Jun 24 2009, 05:57 PM
Good point there, stringfellow... I mean, come on guys, what is USD9.95 for an upgrade to make our existing iPod touches seem brand new? I agree about it being the ypical (and stupid) Malaysian mentality of going great lengths to get things for free  ... However, there are still loads of honest folk out there and this is proven by the desperate ones (including yours truly, lol  ) going all out to open a Singapore iTunes account just to purchase the 3.0 OS, bravo! Wonder what's the delay with the Malaysian Store in releasing the 3.0 update though, Apple has not updated me on the status since I lodged my "complaint" with them last Friday... We should be thankful that Apple only priced the 3.0 firmware at 9.95 and not something like 19.95 or even 99.99!
THTgadgets.com
Jun 24 2009, 09:26 PM
Hmmm, if that's the case, I heard from another iPod forum that many of their members also managed to download the 3.0 update for free... Must have been either a bug or some oversight on the part of Apple, since then, I have not heard of free downloads anymore... Looks like Apple found out about this "anomaly" and decided to put a stop to it!
THTgadgets.com
Jun 24 2009, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(bryanyeo @ Jun 24 2009, 10:27 PM) That was only moment after Apple released OS 3.0, then Apple fixed it. This also happened in OS 2.0, when OS 2.0 just released, ipod touch owner also can update for free if they are lucky enough. That's why last time i said i didn't sleep whole night worth it Hahahaha, now that explains it... Looks like you're one of the lucky ones who managed to get the 3.0 firmware for free...
THTgadgets.com
Jun 28 2009, 09:28 AM
How come some of your apps cannot work with OS 3.0, elfreakz?
I installed the new firmware some days back and it is doing fine, paid USD 9.95 for it via iTunes Singapore... In fact, all my apps (from the very first one I downloaded until the latest, which is Tap Tap Revenge 2) can run perfectly on the 3.0 firmware... I'm a bit surprised as to why you are facing this problem, buddy...
THTgadgets.com
Jul 9 2009, 09:05 AM
Still hoping for some camera manufacturer to develop some add-on cam to the iPod touch, similar to what was designed for the Palm and CLIe several years back... At least us 2G iPod touch users can still have something like a camera to boast about!
THTgadgets.com
Jul 13 2009, 09:33 AM
Nope, just register a Singapore address when creating your account in the SG iTunes Store... At least they recognize Malaysian credit cards...  Once this is completed, you can then purchase and download the new OS 3.0 accordingly! This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jul 13 2009, 09:35 AM
THTgadgets.com
Jul 23 2009, 04:30 PM
If you don't mind the two-plus month wait, I suggest you go for the new 3rd-gen iPod touch...  And sorry to hear about your los, btw... This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jul 23 2009, 04:34 PM
THTgadgets.com
Jul 26 2009, 11:39 AM
M$35 for an upgrade is ok what... At least you get features that make the 2G iPod touch seem like a new model, on par with the upcoming 3gen one this September... Of course minus things like the camera (if it introduced)...
THTgadgets.com
Jul 27 2009, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jul 27 2009, 11:07 AM) OS 3.0 does make my iPod Touch hotter and it happened to both my 1G and 2G, anyone else experiencing this? I came across this issue with many people on the OS 3.0 as well when I searched through Google. Hmmm, I do get that hot sensation, but only when I am surfing the Internet or playing games like TapTap Revenge 2... Otherwise, the hot feeling is not very obvious...
THTgadgets.com
Jul 28 2009, 04:59 PM
Isn't what a debit card is for? It's something like a pre-paid credit card, similar to the Visa Debit by MBB (linked to the bank account, replaces the existing ATM BankCard)...
THTgadgets.com
Sep 4 2009, 12:31 PM
Let's hope there will not be a repeat of that one month delay last year, before the iPod touch 2G was officially released in MAlaysia (in October, keynote was in Sep)...
Hopefully Customs will give the green-light a bit faster this time around!
THTgadgets.com
Apr 5 2010, 12:00 PM
Guys, I can;t help but just ask how is the signal from FM transmitter connected to iPoT?
Considering one of the branded ones and the price isn't too much of an issue but just wondering whether I will be able to get clear reception or not...
THTgadgets.com
Apr 26 2010, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Krovaxq @ Apr 22 2010, 07:17 PM) im having the same problem my touch cant see any of my phones during pairing...i wonder what went wrong..wanted to transfer photos into touch...  Same problem... Is this due to some limitation of the Bluetooth or something else? AFAIK, there are some third-party BT apps in the Store that can supposedly pair the touch with iPhones... Unfortunately, these apps are unable to pair with non-Apple phones...