Ultrasn0w for LOCKED iPhone 3G/3GS/4, v1.2.1 available | Supports iOS 4.3.1

TSteikwing
post Oct 12 2009, 01:20 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(bcmc @ Oct 12 2009, 11:39 AM)
i still cant get it.. what is the latest update?? got unlock for baseband 05.11.07  ??    smile.gif
ultrasn0w will only work on iPhones with basebade 4.26.08 or below (no unlock for 5.11.07), regardless of your firmware version (3.0, 3.0.1, 3.1). which means that you'll need to obtain a custom firmware pwned using PwnageTool, which will update the firmware but still retain the baseband.

PwnageTool is only for Mac users but the custom firmware can be used by Windows users. hence, if you're a Windows user, you'll need to obtain a custom firmware (google for one), restore through iTunes and you're good to go.

all custom firmwares are jailbroken, hence you'll need not to go through the jailbreak process again after restore.
TSteikwing
post Oct 13 2009, 02:37 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(olitabin @ Oct 13 2009, 02:23 PM)
can we downgrade modem firmware 05.11.07 to 04.26.08 for locked set.
?? I'm using i3Gs OS 3.1.. stuck for unlocked..
you can downgrade from a firmware to an older one but not a baseband. therefore, do be extra cautious when upgrading firmware on a locked set, as once the baseband has been upgraded, there's no turning back.

you'll be stuck with a iTouch rather than an iPhone, unless Dev Team (or any other unlockers) is able to come up with a permanent unlock solution (just like for the 2G), which is highly unlikely for now.

at the moment, locked set users who wish to stay unlocked with the latest firmware, the only option left is to download a custom firmware (for Windows users) which upgrades the firmware but retains the baseband.

or alternatively, if you're a Mac user, you can create such firmware via PwnageTool.
TSteikwing
post Oct 14 2009, 08:27 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hsk @ Oct 14 2009, 12:24 AM)
i follow your instruction.i  can jailbreak & install the ultrasn0w.then reboot.after reboot the iphone search the network for about 10 minutes then show no service... rclxub.gif
check your phone's baseband. have you tried with a sim from another telco (if you're on Maxis, try on Celcom or DiGi)?
TSteikwing
post Oct 19 2009, 12:25 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(skkhoo @ Oct 18 2009, 03:31 PM)
i got a 3GS with 3.1version and 05.11.07 modem firmware.
Can i jailbreak and unlock??
Pls help>>..
unfortunately, you can't. ultrasn0w doesn't work on baseband 5.11.07.
TSteikwing
post Oct 30 2009, 03:43 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

BlackSn0w Unlock for iPhone Is Coming Soon

Geohot has announced that an unlock dubbed BlackSn0w for the iPhone 05.11.07 baseband is coming soon.

This means that all iPhones will be unlockable; including those that have accidentally or intentionally upgraded to the latest firmware.

hello there, this is geohot
this is the most complicated injection i have ever done, and it uses a public command
... prepare for blacksn0w, although i gotta still figure out this zamboni

We will of course keep you up to date with further developments but things certainly look promising. Keep up the good work Geohot!

Source

This post has been edited by teikwing: Oct 30 2009, 03:44 PM
TSteikwing
post Oct 31 2009, 02:48 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hansjkv @ Oct 30 2009, 08:25 PM)
I recently upgraded my iphone 3g, using redsnow and tried to unlock it with ultrasnow. My iphone is on baseband 4.26.08 and version 3.0. the jailbreak was successful, however i failed to unlock it. I can't seem to receive any signal from my carrier, Maxis. Please help
ultrasn0w should work on 4.26.08. try it with a sim from another telco.

QUOTE(malster @ Oct 31 2009, 01:01 AM)
just want to ask...
do i have to wait for the BlackSn0w Unlock to unlock  and jailbreak 3gs with 3.1firmware??
yes.

QUOTE(tabs @ Oct 31 2009, 01:15 AM)
if accidentally update through itunes to 3.1 version can i jb and unlock it now? bcoz now the problem is i can't detect the sim card..

any idea or suggestion that i can do??
if your baseband is on 5.11.07 now, there's no way to unlock it until blacksn0w is released (that is, assuming it's going to be released by Geohot).
TSteikwing
post Nov 1 2009, 08:57 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hansjkv @ Nov 1 2009, 07:30 PM)
i've tried, not working either. I tried re storing it, jail break and unlocking it again, haha, stilll cant. Is there any other reasons that it can't work? omg
what's the origin of your set? i'm afraid there might be a soldered turbo sim in your i3G.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Nov 1 2009, 08:58 PM
TSteikwing
post Nov 2 2009, 06:32 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hansjkv @ Nov 2 2009, 04:00 PM)
What do you mean. I've unlocked it before, with yellosnow, it worked. so i guess ultrasnow should be fine? but it didn't work for me.
if that's the case then ultra should work without any trouble then. you might want to rejailbreak again then redownload ultra.

from past experience, those who can't get ultrasn0w to work usually have a soldered turbo sim in their phone, or their baseband is at 5.11.07.
TSteikwing
post Nov 4 2009, 10:45 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

blacksn0w is live

via On The iPhone - Geohot

blacksn0w is a free unlock for the latest iPhone 3G and 3GS
blackra1n is a super simple jailbreak used to install unlock
new visitors, go to blackra1n.com download and have fun

blackra1n RC3 is also live for both Windows and Mac!!! Clean firmware 3.1.2 and baseband 05.11.07 are recommended.

Updates:
Unlock!!!
Hacktivation
Keep legit activation if activated before running app
15 seconds faster, you'll feel it
Tiger + PPC support

Go to blackra1n.com to download
For support, blackra1n.support at gmail...but read this first

blacksn0w is also available on Cydia, add blackra1n.com as repo
requires firmware >= 3.1 and baseband 05.11.07

It appears some users are having wifi issues. Try a "Reset Network Settings" Also, this just enables custom MobileConfig files. To fully enable tethering, go here on your iPhone and download a MobileConfig file for your carrier. Watch out for carrier fees for tethering.

iClarified has made some nice tutorials:
Windows
Mac

This post has been edited by teikwing: Nov 4 2009, 10:46 AM
TSteikwing
post Nov 4 2009, 10:57 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

for those who are running blacksn0w on their 3G/3GS on 3.1.2, kindly post your feedback here (issues etc.). will update mine once i have the time to update over the weekend. (currently still on 3.0 with ultrasn0w). laugh.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Nov 4 2009, 10:58 AM
TSteikwing
post Nov 7 2009, 06:10 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

finally on 3.1.2 but via an upgrade using custom FW (since there are some experiencing WiFi issues on blacksn0w). still preserve BB at 4.26.08. smile.gif

MuscleNerd via Twitter

iPhone unlockers still at 04.26 baseband, I think carrier logo fixed...no need to risk losing wifi by going to black 05.11

and i'll requote what i've posted what the DevTeam has stated regarding blackn0w & custom FW again:

Those of you who are already unlocked at 3.1.2 because you kept your 04.26 baseband now have an extra cushion of comfort, and more choices: ultrasn0w, purplesn0w, and now blacksn0w (and of course the original yellowsn0w too if you’re still back at FW 2.x).  Whether or not you choose to update your baseband solely to use the new unlock is a personal choice, but so far there are no advantages to doing so (and remember you can’t come back to 04.26 after you’ve gone to 05.11).

Update: Some commenters are reporting a lingering problem with WiFi while using blacksn0w.  Some are able to solve it with a single “Reset Network Settings” but others say they need to do that periodically.  So far there seems to be no pattern to those affected or the best way to fix it.

bolded sentences are why i'm still on custom FW. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSteikwing
post Nov 9 2009, 10:34 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Nov 9 2009, 02:35 AM)
hmm.. mean even u update to the latest baseband firmware.. even u use blacksnow also will got issues such as drop call and wifi??

any comment??
beside this, after jb the keep drop call and can't call out.. how is it? need to be rejb or wat?
well, in my case (using custom 3.1.2), there are no drops calls issue or WiFi problems.

let's wait for some feedbacks from those who blackra1n & blacksn0w'ed on 3.1.2 with BB 5.11.07.
TSteikwing
post Nov 9 2009, 05:07 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

A FRIENDLY REMINDER:

*This thread is solely for discussions on unlock-related issues/news/troubleshooting, for jailbreak-related questions, please refer to Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]

Thank you for your cooperation. smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Nov 10 2009, 09:47 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(skkhoo @ Nov 10 2009, 12:52 AM)
My 3GS is from Uk, currently unactive but i hv try this to jailbreak ...
It ask me to insert official sim card to active..
Any solution??
do you still have your official sim with you? if not, you'll need to hactivate using blackra1n. (http://www.blackra1n.com/)

firstly, you'll need to determine your i3GS's bootroom. if you're on iBoot-359.3.2, 'tethered jailbreaking' is required. (google for definition of that).

How to check your iPhone's bootrom using Windows:

Put your iPhone into DFU mode (how to/tutorial for this step at iClarified).

Then go to Start -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager on your Windows machine.

Look for 'Universal Serial Bus (USB) Controller', you will find 'Apple Mobile Device USB Driver' as a subitem there.

Right Click and choose 'Properties', navigate to 'Details' tab and select Device Instance Path from the dropdown list box. At the end of this information string you will find the bootrom version, e.g. [iBoot-359.x].

if you wish to unlock, get blacksn0w.

additional information and guide on unlocking is available on the first page.

TSteikwing
post Nov 12 2009, 02:39 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(skkhoo @ Nov 12 2009, 02:14 PM)

Added on November 12, 2009, 2:15 pmi don't have official sim card with me..
Hot to do 'tethered jailbreaking' ??
Plz help...
is your unit with the new bootrom?

the jailbreaking process is the same as those with old bootroms.

just jailbreak with blacksn0w & select hactivate option (if available).

the only thing to take note of for your unit is, everytime you power off/reboot your unit, you will need to connect it to your PC and run blackra1n to rejailbreak. that's what tethered jailbreaking means.

What does tethered mean?
A tethered jailbreak is one where in order for the iPhone to boot up, it needs to be connected to a computer with special software (blackra1n), or it won't turn on / will turn on unjailbroken (depending on the implementation)

When the iPhone (or iPod touch) boots up, it checks the firmware to make sure it hasn't been modified. Untethered jailbreaks make the iPhone skip this step, allowing it to boot jailbroken firmware. Tethered jailbreaks need an external device, usually a computer, to insert a command so the iPhone can boot jailbroken firmware. So the jailbreak is never erased or "forgotten," just the ability to run it.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Nov 12 2009, 02:40 PM
TSteikwing
post Nov 12 2009, 10:22 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(skkhoo @ Nov 12 2009, 09:46 PM)
i duno..
i think is in new bootroom..
What i do is i plug in my iphone 3gs and jailbreak with the blackra1n.
After jailbreak it cant be hackactive..
i dun have the officail sim card with me..
What should i do in order to active it..?
read

How to Jailbreak and Unlock Your iPhone 3G, 3GS Using BlackSn0w [Windows]
TSteikwing
post Nov 13 2009, 09:09 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(skkhoo @ Nov 12 2009, 11:59 PM)
Thanks for ur help...
i know how to jailbreak but the problem is my iphone currently is unactive so i cant install the blackra1n inside the iphone.
i hv jz updated my iphone 3gs.
What can i do in order to hackactive my iphone?
if you would like to seek advice, do make your problems clear. list down steps that you have took and where you're stuck at.

again, this link do provide clear-cut instructions.
How to Jailbreak and Unlock Your iPhone 3G, 3GS Using BlackSn0w [Windows]
TSteikwing
post Nov 22 2009, 09:55 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(hansjkv @ Nov 22 2009, 09:44 AM)
What's a soldered turbo sim by the way? should i try blacksnow? i'm afraid i wont be able to reduce my baseband after that.. if it's not working.
an embedded turbo/unlock sim in your iPhone. was popular during the 2.0-2.2.1 FW time. well, you can take the blacksn0w route for the time being.
TSteikwing
post Nov 23 2009, 12:34 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(stevyvalentino @ Nov 23 2009, 09:01 AM)
iPhone Generation :3G

Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlocked

Current Firmware : 3.1.2

Current network: digi

iTunes Version :Latest

PC/MAC : PC

Jailbreaking software :ultrasnow

Problem Encountered : After jailbreak & upgrade to OS3.1.2, my WIFI cannot use "UNABLE TO CONNECT", my phone is lock now, is anyway to get network connection to install cydia & blacksnow to unlock to phone ?? pls help ..... 

Steps Taken So Far : done all restore,restart,reset network setting,upgrade, still the same .......
which jailbreaking software did you used, blackra1n? there have been reported cases where WiFi issues arise when iPhone is jailbroken with blackra1n.

It appears some users are having wifi issues. Try a "Reset Network Settings". If you are still having wifi issues, see here. They don't appear to be caused by my software. Also, this just enables custom MobileConfig files. To fully enable tethering, go here on your iPhone and download a MobileConfig file for your carrier. Watch out for carrier fees for tethering.

you can try Apple Support.

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Nov 23 2009, 11:32 AM)
Errr ... ultrasn0w works for 3.1.2?

Wait ... i tot ultrasn0w is to unlock the baseband and not to JB?

@stevyvalentino
U have an unlock phone and use ultrasn0w to jailbreak? dat does not sound right.
the latest ultrasn0w does work on 3.1.2 with BB 4.26.08 (fixed carrier logo issue as well) smile.gif

TSteikwing
post Nov 23 2009, 03:10 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Nov 23 2009, 01:44 PM)
@teikwing
I know ultrasn0w does work with 3.1.2 and solve the carrier thingy but look at the software steveyvalentino use to jailbreak.

Is dat correct in your point of view? Summore why must he use ultrasn0w on an already unlock phone?
i think he might be confused between redsn0w/ultrasn0w/blackra1n. on the unlocked status, i guess his set might be soft-unlock since he did mention about Cydia->blacksn0w to unlock, which requires WiFi (which he's unable to utilize).

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0192sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:49 PM