QUOTE(:+:DarreN:+: @ Oct 20 2009, 01:12 PM)
not my teacher that mark it,its on a modul, I will recheck it that is all the essay part.
Official SPM 2009 English Thread
Oct 21 2009, 05:50 PM
223 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Oct 22 2009, 07:40 PM
I am just wondering,
how open is general title? for example 'silence', how can I make sure I am not out of topic? |
Oct 29 2009, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(paycalvin @ Oct 27 2009, 09:32 PM) hi ... I am afraid I will be out of topic...well i think this is not a factual essay rite ? normally essays with only one words or i would like to call them free writing for i dunno what reason as long as ur essay has a word that can be relate to silence that it can be counted the thing about this essay is that u can write freely and cannot be judged on facts there may be just a sentence that contains the word "silence" and the marker cannot say ur wrong but sometimes there are those stereotype teachers who think that the essay should contain more fact so my opinion just to be on the safe side put a little "silence" here and there and you should be good i guess ... so let say the title is silence, It was a silence day, supported by an inclement weather... ----------------------------------------------- so if I put silence just in one line, it can be counted as out of topic? |
Oct 30 2009, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(joyyy @ Oct 29 2009, 08:43 PM) As long as you're writing a story, 'out of topic' doesnt apply. yup it's wrong.. But try to make your story relevant to the title word. Yeah, I suppose you could put the title word in just one sentence, but beware though, "It was a silence day" is a wrong sentence |
Nov 1 2009, 10:18 PM
Nov 2 2009, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 1 2009, 11:32 PM) Erm,i'm an spm leaver so if u dun mind,i wanna drop a few lines here lol~ yup my aim is GCE-O level, cambridge..Erm, english in spm is quite lenient in a way.. Many ppl frm my batch had scored A1/A2 although they usually get b4/c5 in normal exams.. I dun believe in miracles so i think its bcoz the standard is low? 4give my abrupt manners.. Those so-called A1 went to take IELTS and fared badly..Around 3 stg.. Which showed that eng standard in spm is quite low.. The thing u need 2 focus is on the Triple one nine (319?? ^^) Anyways, that's just my view so good luck for spm.. Cheers.. Btw, try 2 get max marks for paper 2 n the guided writing.. U cn screw up the long essay but it wont be so bad if ur marks in paper 2 n guided is high.. As for open title essays such as stars,girls and etc, i recommend dun take as its very subjective and therefore chances 2 lose marks is high.. Go for factual essays which u can do n bombard with facts n etc.. xD ^^ |
Nov 3 2009, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Nov 3 2009, 06:03 PM) Was totally mad when I received my English result. My continuous essay was out of topic, which deduct lots of marks. Surprisingly, now my trial 2 result was ruined by English subject while others are slightly improving. Now my GPA went worse comparing with my mock 1 result. that's what Im afraid of,out of topic, hmm you make narrative writing? |
Nov 3 2009, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Nov 3 2009, 08:20 PM) I took risk on writing stories. Majority of my English teachers will give more priority/higher marks to students that write factual essays. I'm sick of writing those, so in the end I chose to do narrative writing. It's a bit unfair for creative students that wrote great horror stories during mock1 and they ended up getting low grades. well I cant make factual essay..I also make a story..what's the title? |
Nov 3 2009, 09:42 PM
Nov 5 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(diversity @ Nov 3 2009, 11:46 PM) People I need help desperately! look on the first page,Ive updated it. For Paper 1(Essay paper) Section A :Directed Writing, I need help with the formats of Article,Report. Firstly, I bought a revision book which teaches you the format of SPM. The book got a lot of report formats which are confusing(movie review,news review,school minute etc,but they say won't come out in SPM 1). Then I bought 2 revision books ( model questions ) the first book my sister says is for O levels because the questions&answers all very hard and my sister told me for report only got 1 type only(this book got school minute questions and alot of hard stuff, everyone say that it will never come out in SPM). Then the second model question book's answer like very simple and the format is like normal(I think this is the correct book,but I'm just not sure whether it is the right format, many of my friends are giving different opinion/advice) So my question is, which do I follow? and if possible please guide me on which format should I use. Thank you so much. Download the module |
Nov 5 2009, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(diversity @ Nov 5 2009, 04:49 PM) Hey, thanks a lot it really helps. For the report format, is that the only one that will come out in SPM? What about 'school minutes,newspaper report,movie report etc? thanks again! According to my analysis, (refer pg 1)We will do report this 19th (even I hope for something that not too formal) and I dont think it will be news or movie reports. All in the module nothing more than it hopefully |
Nov 9 2009, 11:15 AM
For those who have any essays to be shared please PM me,
I will put it on the first page if possible |
Nov 10 2009, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(noobfc @ Nov 10 2009, 04:36 PM) Ok, to those taking BI this coming SPM 2009 but my vocabs isnt like for such essayWhen it comes to essay try your best to do factual essays, don't risk writing stories, those guys marking your paper will seriously check your essay. If factual you can tipu-tipu a bit |
Nov 14 2009, 04:58 PM
mine
manage to get 47/50 perhaps my teacher too lenient » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by realz: Nov 14 2009, 05:59 PM |
Nov 14 2009, 07:30 PM
Nov 15 2009, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Nov 14 2009, 11:02 PM) Wow,did u write from personal experience? just kidding,this is good,id give this higher marks than the other guy who got 47 or sumthing.....seriously,ths is better yup his better,but mine being rated by one of the SPM markers Added on November 15, 2009, 9:15 pmJust for variety, here's from andrew choo Directed writing formal/informal letter/Report Section D Poem - Monsoon History/Sonnet 18 Short Stories - Necklace/looking for a rain god Novel - themes/Moral values This post has been edited by realz: Nov 15 2009, 09:15 PM |
Nov 16 2009, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(colaaa @ Nov 15 2009, 10:03 PM) do u know wat topic andrew choo score for continuous writing ? did all of you really memorizing essays?btw ~ almost every exam i wrote factual essay ~ mostly score about 40 marks ~ but my teacher keep telling me to write narrative ~ so i'm really desperate for a piece of narrative essay with good storyline n can easy fit in with most kinda topic ~ do anyone know where to find it ? i'll really appreciate it ` thx wow! I dont think we should target on CW the scope too wide.. but if you insist, andrewchoo target about -An exciting holiday/interesting place -Habits of malaysians -Parents -If I were rich and famous -Tourism Seriously I think it's useless because he targetting most of trial q and I doubt it will come out. |
Nov 18 2009, 10:45 PM
All The Best!
I hope we are ready enough to answer english paper tomorrow. |
Nov 21 2009, 12:38 AM
I took question 5,
hope my CW is ok. |
Jun 26 2010, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 23 2010, 03:49 PM) I only remember the fifth lol = beautyAdded on June 26, 2010, 12:18 am QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 23 2010, 04:53 PM) section B still marked by cambridge levelThis post has been edited by realz: Jun 26 2010, 12:18 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0268sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:22 AM |