Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 09:08 AM

3,328 posts

I wanted to get a small camera so I don't need to lug around a DSLR.
I'm also headache choosing between GF1 and EP2.
Now leaning more toward pana due to the focusing speed.

yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 06:33 PM

3,328 posts

ya... got myself a GF1 just now.
I tested the EP1 too but the focus speed is awful.

Ha ha ha, more manuals to read.
yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 09:23 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 19 2009, 08:45 PM)
how much did you get it?? rclxms.gif
RM2999.
Comes with 8G memory card, T-shirt, tripod, spare battery, camera pouch, screen protector, a funny looking fan, a bear doll.
Spare battery and pouch no stock so shop will only give me next week.

This post has been edited by yushin: Dec 19 2009, 09:24 PM
yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 09:43 PM

3,328 posts

I dunno what the pouch looked like too... will post if up a few days later after I got it.

Btw, I paid RM2999 using credit card, no extra charge. smile.gif

I can use the tripod to hold my flash later tongue.gif

Other things... hmm... useless...

This post has been edited by yushin: Dec 19 2009, 09:44 PM
yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 09:48 PM

3,328 posts

Paid one go. They're having a road show in cineleisure, the curve. Go in the front door of cineleisure and u'll see them.

Got Canon, Nikon, Olympus, Panasonic
yushin
post Dec 19 2009, 10:05 PM

3,328 posts

Don't be sad, maybe next month price drop lower. biggrin.gif

I will start looking for the pancake lens + flash. I wonder what flash is compatible with panasonic's system...
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 12:49 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Dec 19 2009, 11:53 PM)
not Panasonic 8 GB SDHC?
Nope, only got a pen drive 8GB SD card.
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 08:50 AM

3,328 posts

Guys, where can I get info on the lens for GF1? Panasonic's site don't have such info.
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 08:11 PM

3,328 posts

Got my 20mm F1.4 pancake lens today... wah... so small...
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 08:25 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 20 2009, 08:19 PM)
how much did you get it? from the curve also?
RM1450 cash. From Subang Parade.
I wonder lens got 2 year warranty or not... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Dec 20 2009, 08:26 PM
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 08:37 PM

3,328 posts

I wanted the EVF and flash. All no stock.
So... wait lor...

One thing I discover, the battery cannot last very long. Must be due to the big screen. EVF should cut down battery drain a lot.

Add a size comparison between Sigma 50mm F1.4 and 20mm F1.7 pancake lens

This post has been edited by yushin: Dec 20 2009, 09:34 PM
yushin
post Dec 20 2009, 11:03 PM

3,328 posts

I hope EVF will cut down on battery drain significantly. Sometime I think 2 battery also not enough.

Dunno the EVF price yet, seems like whole Malaysia is out of stock. I'm asking my friend in china to check the price of EVF there. If Malaysia really hard to get stock, I'll ask him to buy and DHL to me.

yushin
post Dec 21 2009, 12:20 AM

3,328 posts

I think mine only got less than 250 shots plus some flash use and movies before the battery warning start flashing.
yushin
post Jan 14 2010, 02:12 PM

3,328 posts

I just got a FL36R for my GF1. Hope night shooting will improve.
yushin
post Feb 23 2010, 11:27 PM

3,328 posts

Went to midvalley just now and manage to get the evf and filter for the pancake lens.

yushin
post Feb 24 2010, 07:31 AM

3,328 posts

RM660 for the EVF. Key color, Midvalley.
Without the EVF, can't see the LCD screen clearly at morning shooting.

The 46mm filter is for the pancake. RM130... more expensive than at pro1d filter :S

Now I'm looking for the 14-140 travel lens, so hard to find, everywhere no stock...
yushin
post Feb 24 2010, 12:48 PM

3,328 posts

Aiyo... I got chop head liao. I don't really know the price of the 46mm filter. :S

The shop will not get any more business from me.

This is a short review of the EVF for my Pana GF1.

I think all users of GF1 has face this problem before. You see a nice scene in front of you but the sunlight is so strong that you can't thing clearly in the GF1 LCD screen due to reflection, as a result, you shoot "blindly" on the screen and run to a place with shade to review the picture or view it under your shirt. Using the LCD screen extensively for focus and review also drains the battery very quickly. Some long time dslr users also has the habit of putting their eye on the LCD screen automatically (I am one too).

After having enough trouble with blind shooting and battery drain, I decided to look for the optional electronic viewfinder. Panasonic must have made a fantastic product because the accessories for Panasonic GF1 are so hard to find. After 1 month searching, I finally bought one.

The box is quite small, you can put it into your pocket easilly, and lose it.

Panasonic manage to squeeze in so many user manual for major languages in the world.

The electronic viewfinder comes with its own pouch that fits the viewfinder nicely.

The are plastic shapes in the pouch for you to keep the plastic thing on the GF1 when you're using the EVF. It is shaped nicely so you can't place the viewfinder in the pouch the wrong way.

Size comparison between the EVF and the pana 20mm pancake lens.

EVF attached to the flash mounting. The LVF,LCD button switch between displaying the picture on the LCD or EVF. When you press the button, the EVF display same information as the LCD, I feel like its just switching the screen from LCD to a smaller size LCD in the EVF. The image quality does not look as good as the LCD and the color feels washed out, good to use the EVF to check your focus and composition but don't rely it to determine the color rendition.

The viewfinder can be tilted to 90 degrees to aid shooting from low angle.

My overall impression of the EVF.
Pros
1) Small and light to carry. Comes with a nice Lumix pouch for EVF.
2) Insert into the flash mount to use, the pouch has space to store the original plastic that was on the flash mount before the EVF is inserted.
3) Enable composition and review under strong light
4) Saves battery power because the EVF has a lot smaller LCD screen.
5) The EVF can tilt up to 90 degree, useful sometime.

Cons:
1) The LCD color in EVF is pale (washed out, low contrast) compare to the color on the body LCD
2) The rubber at the EVF gather dusts easily. You see the my pictures posted got dusts and hair on the ribber side of the EVF.
3) The price, RM660 for such a small viewfinder? I hope I don't get chop head again. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: Feb 24 2010, 01:46 PM
yushin
post Feb 25 2010, 10:49 AM

3,328 posts

Argh, I lost the front lens cap of my 20mm pancake. Anyone knows where to get a new one and how much is the price?

yushin
post Mar 2 2010, 02:00 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Mar 2 2010, 11:45 AM)
Yeah...any takers pls PM me for details...
Also selling panasonic 14-140 IS lens. taken from Panasonic GH1. great len for travel too!!
Interested in your 14-140. Any special price for GF1 user? biggrin.gif
Already sent you pm.
yushin
post Mar 3 2010, 09:52 PM

3,328 posts

Got my Pana 14-140 from dcsuave05. Thank you!!!
Really nice lens.

My GF1 family is almost complete.

0.0258sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:29 AM