Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

davidmak
post Jul 29 2009, 08:57 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 28 2009, 07:13 PM)
Nice one there. f13? that is a very high f-stop value. If i am not mistaken - very small apature?
Also, what flash did you use to fill in the model?
Jayhan bro is a light master you know hehehe... He's a well known strobist from the other forums biggrin.gif Jayhan... nice light setup you have there and good to see you here.

QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ Jul 29 2009, 12:10 AM)
Fully agree. EP-1 as a backup maybe, but no way it is going to fully replace a DSLR. With a lens of f/3.5, you lose the bokeh and control of DOP.
I'm sure it can accommodate better lenses and Olympus is building the Micro Zuiko lens family. This is a new product/family and there's just 2 lens to begin with. Also the Zuiko family has some pretty nice lenses some even rivaling Canon/Nikon's flagship.

But you're right at this moment. F3.5 is not enough for bokeh. Heck some even think F2.8 is not good enough. But I wonder if this can take a Zuiko 14-35mm F2 ED SWD? brows.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jul 29 2009, 09:01 AM
davidmak
post Jul 29 2009, 11:16 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 28 2009, 06:22 PM)
If you want an alternative to the FL-36,

You can always try the Metz 20-C.

No TTL mode, only manual and auto BUT it has a GN of 20 just like the FL-14, and can tilt up to 90 degrees for bounce, like a higher end camera would.
I believe this is better... I copied my post from Lumix LX3 thread. Bought it for my LX3 and TTL works!

For those who are interested with the Metz Mecablitz 36 AF-4 here are some product information:

Product Name/Model: Metz Mecablitz 36 AF-4O <-- O for Olympus/Panasonic FourThirds
Product Page: HERE
Specification: HERE
Place of purchase: KeyColor Midvalley
Price: RM380 (Cash Price)
Promotion: If you buy this in Midvalley, remember the MasterCard and Midvalley Megasale promotion

If you checkout the photo of this Mecablitz 36 AF-4, the hot shoe locking mechanism (right at the bottom) is a screw down lock type. This is the old version. The new version features a quick release locking mechanism. Yes something like Canon 580EX II but this is more plastic and flimsy. Remember to check the pins and to make sure they match the ones on the Lumix LX3 hotshoe.

Also please avoid this model which is considered old. Its the Metz Mecablitz 36 C-2. This one does not feature TTL but can also do automatic flash exposure. It uses auto-thyristor which can be tricky to use and is more like a 90s film technology. This is the product page for the C-2. CLICK HERE

Here are some of the feature tested:

+ TTL totally works!
+ In-flash body TTL indicator works!
+ Flash compensation works! (via in-camera menu)
+ Flash sync tested until 1/125, 1/200 not yet try
+ Automatic fill-in mode depending on setting
+ Vertical flash bounce
+ Pin to pin compatible
+ Fast locking/unlocking mechanism
+ Serviceable via flashing (future proof)
+ Pretty quick recharge. 3fps no problem
+ Recharge after full blast is fast too

- Manual zoom head (no auto)
- No swivel (horizontal)
- Plastic mount
- IR beam not working (only on camera body)

In conclusion this looks to be a nice external flash for the Lumix LX3. The size isn't really big like the EX580 II (LoL!!!) and it fits the camera just nice. Although it is still not balanced but this is the smallest external flash with head bounce I can find.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jul 29 2009, 11:21 AM
davidmak
post Jul 29 2009, 01:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 29 2009, 11:40 AM)
wah, are you saying ZhaoYun's Nikon D700 - Nikkor 24-85 f/2.8-4D, Nikkor 70-200 F/2.8 AF-S
cannot have bokeh and DOP?  whistling.gif

Anyway, E-P1 kitlens have f/2.8 la. I think the 17mm is f/2.8.  brows.gif Does that means E-P1
is equivalent to D700 due to E-P1 having f/2.8 as ZhaoYun's D700????  flex.gif  rclxms.gif  drool.gif

This is E-P1 bokeh with kitlens 17mm f/2.8:
I mean some... some... hehehe biggrin.gif Bokeh depends on subject positioning. A lens at tele and focusing to a close subject with the background far away will also become very blur... Round diaphragms will also give nice bokeh. Optical characteristic will also give out soft focusing which is very pleasing to the eye and dreamy.

The people I know, thinks 2.8 is not blur enough unless you try hard. Like how the picture you show is focused close while background is far far away. Its easy to get a blur background. But the degree of blur is very subjective. Some go to extends of F1.2. You get what I mean?

But bokeh should not be the only thing we should strive for. Not everything must be blur. That is not the only thing in photography. Thats very amateur. Anyone with such a lens can produce such an effect. Proper use of bokeh requires creativity and the use of right equipment. Now that is a difference.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jul 29 2009, 01:13 PM
davidmak
post Jul 29 2009, 04:53 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 29 2009, 01:54 PM)
Walaoyeh. Just now say ZhaoYun's f/2.8 cannot get bokeh. Now you his concern about bokeh is very amateur...  laugh.gif
Cham lor you. Later he come back shoot you liao  sweat.gif

Anyway, the example of bokeh I give is very terrible. Very distracting bokeh.  rclxub.gif
Aiyer bro... you misunderstand me lar... I never attack anyone. Don't be so sensitive. I believe our bro here is very understanding. I DID NOT SAY his F2.8 cannot get bokeh. Depending on personal preference and requirement, 2.8 may not be good enough. Some people wanting even 1.2 and lower (if any).

I'm just saying photography is not about pictures of a single object in the frame with the rest of it wasted into bokeh. Thats just one type of photography. Getting this sort of bokeh is so easy if you have the lens to do the job (one with lower F number).

None of these statement attack anyone. Ooh... maybe you're just flaming a bigger flame. Want me to flag you? hehehehehe....
davidmak
post Aug 2 2009, 10:16 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 2 2009, 08:59 PM)
Guys, need recommendations. External flash, that is preferably, compatible with the Oly E-P1 AND Panny GH1. Got my GH1 well below the atrocious pricetag quoted in Malaysia.

The Metz Mecablitz flash recommended earlier looks good, price/size/performance ratio-wise. I'd like to avoid FL-50 size if I can, but am not totally disregarding it as a possible choice. Panny flashes are just simply too expensive for me.

Sorry for the previous mention of me providing access to E-P1 sample pictures, and not providing them promptly. Something important is happening in my life that I've decided against lingering  in LYN forum as frequent as before. Nevertheless I see that even without these samples, that two prospective buyers have crossed over and purchased it anyway. tongue.gif

Apprecuare the flash recommendations, thank you in advance.
Yes, the Metz Mecablitz 36 is quite widely available and cheap. However, it cannot do swivel.. only vertical bounce. For this reason, one of the members around here suggest the Falcon Eye but availability is scarce. Mecablitz 41 also can swivel but size is big. Falcon Eye is GN30+ with full swivel and bounce. He's still looking for one. Also, I believe its on sale at the garage section. Try a guy named Mitmivec (Garage Sale section). He seem to be able to source a lot of these things.

You can checkout the flash performance over at LX-3 (no other intentions tongue.gif). I wrote a lengthy recommendation and some test pictures over there. Its page 102.
davidmak
post Oct 4 2009, 11:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 3 2009, 01:00 PM)
the retail price for GF1 Lumix 20mm lens is RM1799.

why booked at RM1900?  blink.gif
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 3 2009, 05:37 PM)
yes, RM3299 for GF1 + 14-28mm lens
I was at the Panasonic Eco Life convention at Midvalley Convention Centre this morning and they told me the Lumix GF1 + 20mm F1.7 lens would be RM3299. Something just don't add up here. I was like puzzled because they told me 14-45 kit will not be available. I find it atrocious! How could they not bring in 14-45 kit because thats the basics. If the 20mm costs RM1799, then 3299 for the kit doesn't sound too bad eh?
davidmak
post Oct 5 2009, 08:00 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 5 2009, 12:19 AM)
RM3499 - GF1 + 20mm lens

RM3299 - GF1 + 14-45mm lens
Ah... that sounds more like it. I would prefer the GF1+20mm though. But at the same time the EP-1's (dual lens kit) pricing is pretty attractive now.
davidmak
post Oct 7 2009, 10:45 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 6 2009, 08:23 PM)
Not sure if you know this. There's a Olympus profile for Panasonic camera. You can download it to get Olympus IQ.

How good it is, I'm not sure though.

Can tell where we can get it? Hehehehe...
davidmak
post Nov 2 2009, 10:26 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 2 2009, 10:23 AM)
but the problem is not every lens got IS built in.. sad.gif
I'm sure those longer range ones will have IS. Maybe not the shorter primes like the 45. By the way, there's not much lens at the moment.
davidmak
post Nov 3 2009, 08:09 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 2 2009, 07:31 PM)
hopefully its e-p2 ..and hopefully the price and spec is not dissapointing! tongue.gif rclxms.gif
panasonic lens is quite expensive.. olympus is expensive too but a bit cheaper still.. although not much difference..  cry.gif luckily stilll got the adaptor to use with other type of lens.. therefore, i still prefer build in IS in the body..  nod.gif
Best is to use the adapter and the older lens for now. IS is not everything, a faster lens is more important. However if you have flash, it doesn't really matter anymore.
davidmak
post Nov 17 2009, 07:57 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Nov 17 2009, 05:24 PM)
Yeah,,,same thing happens to LX3.
Now i am using Oly PEN E-P1, happy with on-screen LCD and on PC. both looks great!!

Viva PEN
Best is to use the histogram to gauge general exposure. Then apply exposure compensation. Then it'll get more consistent exposure. Sometimes the LCD display fools your eyes because it is set too bright. Do this a few rounds and you'll know what are the typical settings and you'll learn to compensate.

The truth is there's a reason why most Panasonics are 'underexposed'. They are done deliberately to preserve detail and prevent highlights from being blown out. With this, you get more headroom for photo editing (with Photoshop for example). You can then adjust the brightness, curve, tone, etc. For most people, this is considered a chore and they want usable JPEGs straight out of the camera. For this, the Olympus EP-1 seems to do a great job. JPEGs are great out of the camera with the 'right exposure'. However some people says that it is dangerously close to overblown highlights.
davidmak
post Nov 17 2009, 10:12 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 17 2009, 08:41 PM)
As always, Panasonic stock is on the low side. But dun worry. I'm sure you can get it...
LOL....
Yeah, Panasonic is famous for underexposed. So its not wuahaha fault that his photo underexposed. That's why I ask him to do EV+1. But you're E-P1 is close to overblown. As a matter of fact,
due to lower dynamic range, it will overblown if the scene is very contrasty... and lose all the details...

But overall, both GF1 and E-P1 are great camera... I love small camera with dSLR quality!!!!!!!!  thumbup.gif
Yes, lower dynamic range can also cause blown highlights like what happen to my LX3. Which is why I try not to shoot in the bright expose daylight.
davidmak
post Nov 18 2009, 08:21 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 17 2009, 10:52 PM)
Yeah, have to get polarizer then my friend...
post more pics!!!!!!!!
Yeah a polarizer. But that means I'll need to add some extension tubes in order to fit a standard filter ring.
davidmak
post Nov 18 2009, 10:39 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 18 2009, 09:57 AM)
You can always buy a non-standard polarizer.. there's 40.5mm and 37mm polarizer too  sweat.gif
Mountable on LX3 without the adapter? I've been stepping aback when it require me to put additional fixture on the camera. I prefer it to be as clean as possible. biggrin.gif
davidmak
post Nov 21 2009, 10:10 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Nov 21 2009, 08:37 PM)
today EP2 gathering was splendid!! Nice food. We get to molest the EP2 and get freebies from Oly!!

Will post up some shots later tongue.gif too tired now.
Sorry to ask if this is relevant but is E-30 user welcome too? biggrin.gif
davidmak
post Nov 23 2009, 07:01 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 23 2009, 06:23 PM)
Can anyone tell me how this compares to the LX3? The LX3 has a smaller sensor that only can go up to ISO400 for acceptable IQ while the GF1 can go up to ISO1600 for acceptable IQ. However the LX3 has F2.0-2.8 while the GF1 (for non pancake F1.7) has only F3.5-F5.6 lenses. So in the end What would be the image quality be like? Larger sensor, slower lens OR faster lens smaller sensor?

Can anyone compare say low light performance GF1 F3.5,ISO1600 VS LX3 F2.0, ISO400 since low light situation is one place the IQ difference between LX3 and a DSLR camera dramatically increase.
The LX3 can actually have good image quality even at higher ISOs provided exposure is optimum. If you have an external flash, it'll definitely help out a lot. I've done an ISO comparison with Metz 36 flash and can get acceptable image quality all the way to ISO800.

Regarding apertures, I've always confused myself with the F2-2.8 of LX3. Whether is it effective F2-2.8 for LX3's sensor size (equivalent when compared to 35mm format) or it is actually closer to F3.5, 4 or even higher when compared to 35mm format. Because the LX3's smaller sensor size would be harder to 'make' bokehs than a large sensor size.

However as a general guideline, a larger sensor is the way to go. A larger surface can capture more light than a smaller one. I'm sure everyone knows by now. You'll definitely be able to derive higher shutter speeds. On my LX3, even at F2 @ ISO400, I can only get as much as 1/30sec shutter speed while a proper DSLR with a F2 lens can get upwards of 1/50sec. See the difference? Of course, ignore other conditions for the sake of discussion. Also the resultant shutter depends on a lot of factors like optics, effective aperture, etc.

When it comes to image quality, a lot comes into play. As long as a lens is properly and optimally matched to a sensor, it doesn't really matter what size it should be. We should also talk about resolving power of a lens to a sensor. Obviously with the exception to SNR due to reasons we have previously mentioned above. However, we're talking about LX3 vs the GF1. I think its a no brainer. GF1 for sure.
davidmak
post Nov 26 2009, 02:52 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Updates for Panasonic GF-1 and 5 of its micro four thirds lenses? smile.gif

Source: DPreview

Ah nevermind... already posted. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Nov 26 2009, 02:53 PM
davidmak
post Dec 4 2009, 05:10 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Dec 4 2009, 03:10 PM)
E-P2 is the shadow of E-P1. might drop by PC Fair to check it out! I heard PC Fair have E-P2 for demo, not for sale!! haha!!
I think those desperate buyers don't mind buying the demo set. Hehehehe... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 6 2009, 06:26 PM
davidmak
post Dec 6 2009, 06:26 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys, this morning I read the Star newspaper and saw the Olympus advertisement. The EP-2 is already advertised to be on sale with the price as low as RM3999 (if I'm not mistaken) for the single lens and electronic viewfinder. However, I doubt that there's stock at the moment. I was at the PC Fair and I asked some questions regarding availability.

The first sale would happen sometime in the mid of this month which is around next week or the week after. So be prepared guys. Also, I tried out the EP-2, doesn't seem too much of a difference for me. I think the noise performance may have improved including the AF performance. The electronic viewfinder was a disappointment though. Refresh rate was lousy and I can noise artifacts even in a brightly lit hall.

It won't affect composition though but it'll confuse you because the color accuracy goes down the drain so you don't have a clue what kind of pictures you're taking until after its taken and displayed on the LCD.
davidmak
post Dec 7 2009, 08:51 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dcsuave05 @ Dec 7 2009, 08:48 AM)
Currently the only E-P2 available is the shiny black. The silver version with brown leather grip is only available in Japan market unfortunately.

I am still thinking hard to decide on E-P2. If the production model improves on the AF speed, EVF & lower noise level, I might just sell off my E-P1 and upgrade. Else the E-P1 is fantastic camera!!
I think you're better off keeping the EP-1 unless you really want the EVF. I think the EP-2's upgrade is extremely incremental and doesn't make it a much better camera than the original EP-1. You could spend more on the lenses if you really want image quality upgrades biggrin.gif

0.0427sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:02 AM