Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

ZhaoYun
post Jul 29 2009, 12:10 AM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 26 2009, 10:17 PM)
nothing can beat a pure breed DSLR.

but the PEN can almost give most DSLR a run for its money.

so keep ur DSLR for serious shoots.
use PEN for everything else!

Added on July 26, 2009, 10:17 pm

exactly!
it's more towards rangefinder style photography. =)
Fully agree. EP-1 as a backup maybe, but no way it is going to fully replace a DSLR. With a lens of f/3.5, you lose the bokeh and control of DOP.
ZhaoYun
post Jul 29 2009, 10:13 AM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 29 2009, 09:37 AM)
woah?!
u must be kidding rite?

U can mount anything from m42 to M mount to even F mount lense on this little thinggamajiggy!

Therefore i dun recall ANY of the said mounts restrict their lense to f3.5....
There's Noctilux 50 f/0.95...
There's Nokton 50 f/1.1...
There's Summilux 50 f/1.4
There's Nikkor Ai-S 50 f/1.2...
There's Summilux 24 f/1.4...
and so on and so forth...

so...thats not a limiting factor at all...

It can be a DSLR replacement. if u dun mind the lack of speed and optical view finder. =)

I m sure u already are aware of this yes?
Since u urself are a d700 user... brows.gif
Not kidding, I would never replace my D700 with EP-1, take it as a backup, definitely. Maybe I should be more detail in my statement, I am referring to the KIT LENS which come with this camera, it has a f/3.5-5.6, right ? :-)

0.0394sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:33 PM