Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V15!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory!

niwooe
post Aug 25 2009, 01:42 AM

455 posts

if you find post-processing photos is a waste of time, don't take photos then. =)

to me every photo deserves it's very best quality, and of course please do not include lousy snapshots in that list.

shoot only when neccessary and keep only the best ones. anything with slight flaws, delete it straight away.

always bare in mind to compare your photos with the professionals, unless you just want lousy snapshots.

a thought of a newbie with 5 months old of photography experience.

cheers! =D
niwooe
post Aug 26 2009, 01:53 AM

455 posts

sunnyboy : snapping a picture of the sky without any subject is pointless regardless of how nice the colors you can get, because the image consists of only the sky. Try adding in interesting subjects, for example silhouettes of people. Nice try though smile.gif

Spamming pictures of toys doesn't make the thread any better =)
niwooe
post Aug 26 2009, 11:04 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 26 2009, 03:16 AM)
i would disagree on that part because the sky itself is a subject and it often holds beautiful colors and cloud formations, and mind you no 2 cloud formations are alike.

knowing the time and the light and where to stand and all, you could capture beautiful glowing dark clouds with rays shining through - why not?

shooting photos of the sky is as what they say "the sky is the limit" biggrin.gif

now the problem with sunnyboy's photo was that it wasn't carefully composed, hence there's some distractions at the bottom.
yes the sky itself is already a beautiful subject, but the image won't work if it consists only the sky innit? no matter how you look at it, it's just sky, or a beautiful sky, or beautiful sky with nice light rays.

But, adding an extra subject to it makes a difference (or at least it does to me not neccessary that you have to agree with me smile.gif )

sorry for the lousy photo, just to give an example. =)

Added on August 26, 2009, 3:18 am

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 26 2009, 03:16 AM)

if you notice the photos in this thread, most of them have nice, if not AWESOME bokeh but composition wise................... sweat.gif and yet there are still admirers. smile.gif

awesome bokeh doesnt make a lousy composed photo good right? smile.gif I said this because I hope to see good photos in this thread instead of "spam" ones, that said I 'm not saying that I produce good photos but at least I do not simply spam it in a thread.

cheers goldfries! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(noob4life @ Aug 26 2009, 09:38 AM)
I beg your pardon ? That sounds like you just said his photos " dont make the thread any better".

that's exactly what I said =)

This post has been edited by niwooe: Aug 26 2009, 11:07 AM
niwooe
post Aug 26 2009, 11:37 AM

455 posts

well I believe that sunnyboy has all the tips that he wants through our conversation innit? smile.gif

great shots from the flickr there valho.

goldfries: perhaps you have to consider why did I said his is pointless, try compare his and yours, his looks rather like a simple snapshot of the sky without any effort, which is why it seems pointless to take shots like that. Composed shots are well, judged in a different perception.

don't find my words different again this time, I'm still saying the same maybe my english is not that good which is why it seemed different already.

reason why I said all these at the 1st place? I read an article about plain sky shots in PhotoMalaysia.com. maybe I'm just brainwashed already, haha!

that said, I get to learn some stuff on sky shots as well, you just changed my preference again. thx!

cheers! =)
niwooe
post Aug 26 2009, 12:27 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 26 2009, 11:58 AM)
ok, the problem was how you said it............
see, it looked like you're generalizing it. smile.gif that's why you also got the same response from digiboy and valho.

we all thought that you're generalizing.

compare that to this...........

"sunnyboy, your shot look like some snap shot. perhaps you could find a sky of more dramatic lighting or consider adding some other things into the picture to make the composition more interesting, like say silhouettes of people or buildings."

at least we'll know you're referring to his photos. biggrin.gif
hahaha! well said goldfries, my England not very good mah tongue.gif

Cheers! biggrin.gif
niwooe
post Aug 26 2009, 10:28 PM

455 posts

TechnoDude: I would advice you to delete your HDR pictures that you posted here and the ones in your PC. and make the effort to compose better photos on HDR.

it's an eyesore =)
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 11:55 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Aug 27 2009, 10:00 AM)
my first HDR when i was still using Canon

i dunno why some of you say it's hard to do HDR
it's not good either so it's not hard

niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 03:12 PM

455 posts

was referring to yours nairud =)

not that I can shoot good HDRs either, but saying that you don't understand why people say it's hard to shoot HDR it's kinda awkward when yours aint that good, or it didn't work as a HDR photo.

How I define good? simply google search and you can see good ones from there.

for example.

via www.frederiksamuel.com

I've read goldfries's blogpost before I started photography, it's a very good tutorial for starters, easy to understand and it's useful.

cheers! biggrin.gif
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 04:35 PM

455 posts

I do know that it was your 1st time making a HDR image. Thing is, it didnt work at all and you said you don't understand why people say it's hard to take one.

I guess some people just can't take criticism properly whistling.gif

and some people are just too stupid to assume things whistling.gif

This post has been edited by niwooe: Aug 27 2009, 04:35 PM
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 04:42 PM

455 posts

and god knows who started it =)

It's all up to personal preference, I'm not here to flame whatsoever but I just hope to seek more knowledge on photography here, and not people trying to act like they know everything or those who can't accept teeny weeny bit of criticism.

cheers! and techno, compose more good shots before even touching HDR. It's not as easy as people say. =)
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 04:56 PM

455 posts

no problem, I'm not a sifu to teach people also. =)
plus, I'm just a junior member surrounded by senior members, and mods in this thread.

and I just noticed that. biggrin.gif

niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 04:58 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 27 2009, 04:49 PM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
uh? rolleyes.gif

Added on August 27, 2009, 5:08 pmfantagero: for noisy or grainy photos, convert them into B&W, it works better. at least for me =)

sorry for using your photo, just a reference.

cheers!

This post has been edited by niwooe: Aug 27 2009, 05:08 PM
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 05:54 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(stephen5577 @ Aug 27 2009, 05:15 PM)
Anyone mind to explain how to process HDR pictures? Need 3 pictures of diff exposures? Thank You in advance~
and again, ask your best friend Google to explain that to you. I believe that most of us asked him too. =)

Lion's Poop anyone? tongue.gif

Added on August 27, 2009, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 27 2009, 05:51 PM)
how about your HDR photo dude ?
Since your knowledge is quite good and know how-to define good photo, i'm keen to see tat...  biggrin.gif
sorry man I don't shoot HDRs, because I suck in it =)

and compared to the HDR photo example I posted and the ones by our members, well it's obvious and easy to define a good HDR isn't it? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by niwooe: Aug 27 2009, 06:07 PM
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 06:10 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 27 2009, 06:01 PM)
using Canon TSE 70-300mm f4-5.6L tongue.gif

hope i didnt overcooked it.
my laptop monitor tends to underexpose
would be even better if you fix the horizon of the photo. Looks pretty good to me. biggrin.gif
and I almost got tricked by your lens. TSE huh? haha!

Added on August 27, 2009, 6:10 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 27 2009, 06:03 PM)

ahh now that's a fine example of HDR. smile.gif
agreed.

This post has been edited by niwooe: Aug 27 2009, 06:10 PM
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 06:25 PM

455 posts

good one, was it another shot or you adjusted it?

btw I fixed it for you before you reposted that image, anyway.

sorry I PP-ed your photos again.
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 06:27 PM

455 posts

Techno : HDR are the ones posted by Vincent, refer to the 3rd image, that's a great example.

as for the Rhino Photos those are Tilt-Shifted photos, which can be done using a Tilt-Shift Lens.

The cheaper solution is to use Lens Blur in photoshop.
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 06:51 PM

455 posts

Tilt Shift and HDR are some of the interesting PP effects that you could easily apply in your photos by using Photoshop.

but bare in mind, don't overuse it.

You'll need good images to start with in order to achieve a good PP.

Malaysia Harmony. Girl on the left a bit soft my bad.
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 06:57 PM

455 posts

He offers 4 days of INTENSE training brows.gif
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 10:22 PM

455 posts

the second one is good, but could be better =)
niwooe
post Aug 27 2009, 10:55 PM

455 posts

I'm gonna be honest here.

I'm not a sifu so I don't know biggrin.gif

maybe you could take the shot during sunset. but that's gonna be hard since you're in plane. biggrin.gif

cheers!

0.1764sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:15 AM