CPU fan speed at 5000RPM

TSatleeyoung
post Jun 15 2009, 07:06 PM, updated 17y ago

164 posts

I recently bought a Phenom II x3 720BE proc and a Biostar TA790GX 128M mobo.
After the installation, I found out that the proc fan is getting noisy.
so I checked, and it is running at 5000RPM with Sys temp at 41C and CPU temp at 38C
My questions are :
1) is it supposed to be normal? i mean for a pII proc to run at 5000 RPM at those temp.
2) if this is normal, how am i going to solve it =)
do i need a new HST fan? any recommendation?

p/s: another new discovery, the fan turns quiet when aircond is switched on. the fan speed drops to around 3000 rpm.
Thanks for ur help !

This post has been edited by atleeyoung: Jun 15 2009, 07:13 PM
XiuKeong
post Jun 15 2009, 07:24 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

QUOTE(atleeyoung @ Jun 15 2009, 07:06 PM)
I recently bought a Phenom II x3 720BE proc and a Biostar TA790GX 128M mobo.
After the installation, I found out that the proc fan is getting noisy.
so I checked, and it is running at 5000RPM with Sys temp at 41C and CPU temp at 38C
My questions are :
1) is it supposed to be normal? i mean for a pII proc to run at 5000 RPM at those temp.
2) if this is normal, how am i going to solve it =)
    do i need a new HST fan? any recommendation?

p/s: another new discovery, the fan turns quiet when aircond is switched on. the fan speed drops to around 3000 rpm.
Thanks for ur help !
My 7750BE fan is running at full speed also.
Your fan is running according to the pc temp smile.gif
TSatleeyoung
post Jun 15 2009, 07:45 PM

164 posts

just feel a bit strange about it...since my old proc X2 3800+ only runs at 3000rpm with the same temp
cyewe
post Jun 19 2009, 07:20 PM

kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai
1,100 posts

ue cool n quiet
xxxcube
post Jun 23 2009, 11:42 AM

18 posts

you can change your speed settings at the bios. by default, it will go to 100% above 40C, well, mine does before i changed it anyway. your bios has different settings based on your proc. phenom ii heats up faster than a x2.

This post has been edited by xxxcube: Jun 23 2009, 11:43 AM
keeting89
post Jun 26 2009, 02:05 AM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

my cm 12cm fans juz run on 1500++ rpm only..
possible to force it to run faster??
hiroki04030
post Jun 26 2009, 04:33 PM

Retired Member
995 posts

no way force a fan to run faster.
TS: use and enable Cool n Quiet. the fan will be slower because of the PWM. when temp is high, turn faster to cool it down, when temp is loww, turn slower. Note that if u overclock it will also run hotter. if the problem still occur, disable ACC in bios and enable cool n quiet. Install the amd cool n quiet driver if u r using xp or older.
keeting89
post Jun 26 2009, 05:08 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

i disable the Fan control in the bios d.. but the fan juz run about 1150+/-zz

michaelgbcmel
post Jul 3 2009, 11:00 PM

124 posts

ts wanna to unlocked it is it???
successful?
overclockalbert
post Jul 20 2009, 11:05 PM

1,058 posts

so now already can control the fan speed?
why not just grab 3rd party fan controller.
easy can set what ever speed you want
lcs87
post Jul 20 2009, 11:22 PM

281 posts

i own a phenom x3 8450, and guess wat last time it spin like 5k idle and when load it goes up to maybe 6k...and i chg into 3rd party cooler and nvr regret since then
AlexLee277
post Aug 9 2009, 06:40 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

may i know what kind of casing u are using?
cause some casing got bad airflow while some casing got superb airflow
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 10 2009, 07:50 PM

4,809 posts

im closing this thread.
TS, i think your question has already been answered smile.gif

if there is anything, PM me