NOKIA E72 v1, The Worthy Successor to E71!!

mbek
post Dec 2 2009, 09:06 PM

54 posts

try find GarminMobileXT_5_00_60_S60_TW.exe
this will help u resolve hang/crash problem.. hopefully.
just need a little tweak to change from TAIWAN language to english
mbek
post Dec 3 2009, 10:23 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(teelim @ Dec 3 2009, 03:42 PM)
the one from the taiwan website? check "about" when you run garmin, its still 5.00.50
mine 5.00.60

QUOTE(emusmax @ Dec 3 2009, 03:51 PM)
how bout navigating on it? no crash?
so far NO.

QUOTE(piju @ Dec 3 2009, 07:25 PM)
mine shows 5.00.60, not 5.00.50
me too

try download from here... my Garmin
mbek
post Dec 4 2009, 10:40 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(teelim @ Dec 4 2009, 09:27 AM)
thx... but still the same for. no change  sweat.gif
welcome.

no change what? still 5.00.50 or still crash?

u'r using malsing or malfree?
mbek
post Dec 9 2009, 02:36 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Dec 8 2009, 10:16 PM)
Hi guys, i found something interesting. Previously i had installed garmin mobile XT v5.00.50 in nokia e72. as i mentioned, it hang after few minutes.

i had changed the garmin map from 3D-mode to other mode. Seem like working fine now (refer to won't crash or hang when open garmin and play around). Seem like garmin v5.00.50 unable to run 3D-mode in Nokia e72. i'll test it tomorrow by using driving mode (drive car).

you may change the garmin setting to test it out. i shall revert the result tomorrow. Refer below step to change the setting.

Start Garmin->tools->settings->map->orientation->north up.
sorry late reply...lil bit bz for the past few day...

just tested my E72 with garmin 5.00.60 (TW) for long distance nav this morning.. from shah alam till putrajaya...

before this just try short distance nav... no problem at all.

but for long distance.... the map hang/does not functioning after 5> min... BUT the voice and directional nav still functioning as normal.

i think what jackyap84 said about 3D thing can be true... i just change to north up orientation... but not tested yet... will update to u all latter
mbek
post Dec 9 2009, 04:54 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(User61 @ Dec 9 2009, 03:26 PM)
Why are you guys using the 3D mode? It's the most confusing mode of all. It's practically unusable for me.
hahah... it's by default... i always play with default 1st(hehehehehe)... if doesn't work or everything is OK... only after that i start tweaking and changing what eve it can... hehehehe
mbek
post Dec 9 2009, 08:02 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Dec 9 2009, 07:49 PM)
...And the battery life can really last 1 week?
for average usage... YES it can last 1 week...

mbek
post Dec 12 2009, 10:11 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 12 2009, 09:57 PM)
just check with all the E72 here, how long the batt can last after the full charge? mine can only last for 1 day. i normally use for text (50+-), phone call (1 hour+-), then wifi (10 minutes), take photo (5+-), can only last me 1 day...hmp...like not very good ler...anyone can post here about your average usage and how long batt last?
mine for normal usage... can last for 1 week... but with GPS another story...
mbek
post Dec 13 2009, 05:32 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Dec 12 2009, 10:48 PM)
1 week?normal usage as in how?wa...then my batt got problem or what ler?hmp... mad.gif
average 3/4 min and 3/4 time daily phone call.
a lot of SMS
WIFI(almost all the time... ) for facebook, youtube, email etc...
GPS 2/3 time
camera...
etc..etc..

try to turn off unused Bluetooth, WIFI Scanning & unused apps. i think scanning for WIFI & GPS coverage use a lot of battery....
mbek
post Dec 16 2009, 12:29 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Dec 16 2009, 12:19 PM)
which is more stunning-silver or black?
brown....hehehehehe
mbek
post Dec 23 2009, 12:46 AM

54 posts

2morro holiday.... yea yea... going back to pagoh... can test garmin for long distance journey... plan to find asam pedas melaka on da way back home... hehehhee.... yea..yea... cuti ...cuti...

*anyone facing problem key in 'U' on Opera Mobile 10 Beta adress bar? i can't key in 'U'... always '*' came out... event with or without pressing shift key.

This post has been edited by mbek: Dec 23 2009, 12:47 AM
mbek
post Dec 30 2009, 10:39 AM

54 posts

testing my Garmin Mobile XT for long journey last weekend..... everything was fine using 2D orientation & track up.
the only problem.. for 1st about 1 hour.. the Garmin auto shutdown itself.. need to start back and it never happen again....

QUOTE(desmand @ Dec 29 2009, 03:21 AM)
Let me explain my experiences on the first batch of E72
1) Never encounter this, where did u heard from?
2) Only happened once, space bar doesn't work. After that never happen.
3) Yes.
4) You can always go NCC and ask them to get it fix. FOC of coz.
5) No such problem.  Noise cancelling does its job.
6) No such issue also. To PC or bluetooth handsfree no problem at all.
7) Not really, u google and check the review on it.

For issue 2 and 3 just wait for the next firmware to be release.
my xperience with E72...

1)never happen.
2)never
3)yes
4)perfectly
5)no problem
6)working fine
7)ermm.... like e72 more than e71... hehehe
mbek
post Dec 30 2009, 01:17 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(michaelconan @ Dec 30 2009, 11:22 AM)
which version of garmin u r using a?
5.00.60 (taiwan tweak) + malfreemaps

QUOTE(shacxz @ Dec 30 2009, 11:47 AM)
so far i'm just facing problem with
1. garmin issues + i can't enter '7' when entering new/update coordinate.. it keep on entering 'V' instead of '7'
2. In Opera 10 Browser u cannot use 'U' it only uses *

QUOTE(desmand @ Dec 30 2009, 12:12 PM)
Quite surprise to see a whole long list of problems...where did they get their phone from?
Optical NeviKey works perfectly on me, how abt u guys?

I think we need to update FP, with tips/tricks and some configuration setup + wanna share with you guys list of software & games!!
tongue.gif
tips & trick
1. for garmin issues, try to use 2D orientation + SpotOn.
2. opera mini much faster/lighter compare to opera mobile..much better than build in nokia browser...
3. close unwanted apps to maximize battery life...

software+games
1. Opera (mini@mobile)
2. facebook for E71/E72
3. garmin mobile XT
4. SpotOn
5. TickTacToe
6. putty (my work related)
7. screenshot
8. youtube

mbek
post Dec 30 2009, 01:52 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Dec 30 2009, 01:48 PM)
so my SpotOn trick work eh? for the garmin issue? or u guys still need to chg to 2d to prevent ur garmin from auto shutdown?
combination of both... change to 2D & ur spotOn apps...

but i'll try change with 3D + ur spotOn apps...

btw, ur spotOn apps really help to keep monitor light on.
mbek
post Dec 30 2009, 10:07 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(arrie @ Dec 30 2009, 02:58 PM)
try opera mobile beta 2, it fix U key problem thumbup.gif

Added on December 30, 2009, 2:59 pm

try opera mobile 10 beta 2, it fix U key problem thumbup.gif
mine already opera mobile 10 beta 2... the problem still exist...

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Dec 30 2009, 09:52 PM)
what is the different with opera mobile and opera mini? which 1 is for mobile phone use?
mobile with extra/advanced features... like tab etc..
mini more light version without tab features...
both for mobile phone....

This post has been edited by mbek: Dec 30 2009, 10:10 PM
mbek
post Jan 1 2010, 05:00 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(wormyx @ Jan 1 2010, 10:47 AM)
what is a spot-on software ? whats the use for ?
spoton will let ur phone light keep on. or other word... keep on wake up.

e72 will go on stand by/sleep mode when idle to minimize battery usage... we'r thinking/guessing that this features that make garmin hang/crash.

This post has been edited by mbek: Jan 1 2010, 05:01 PM
mbek
post Jan 2 2010, 02:06 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Jan 2 2010, 01:57 PM)
My E72-1 was sent to the Nokia phone hospital for the fourth time via my retailer! I gave up going to the Sunway Nokia Centre as they just reinstalled the firmware and the problems remained. Went to Amcorp mall centre and they were of no help.

Main problem is that I couldn't get my email settings right in the phone. When set up Yahoo mail through the so-called easy email menu, the user settings in my Yahoo account came up as my Hotmail settings and it was reversed in my Hotmail settings! When selected the option to send and receive emails, darn phone kept asking for my password when I had already input when setting up both accounts. Sunway Nokia guy couldn't explain why. Called up Nokia hotline at 1300-88-1600 and an American speaking lady kept saying "I understand" (understand what, very annoying) but told me to set up through Nokia Messenging Client (what's dat animal?). When I keyed in memos in my calender my phone kept connecting to my email Yahoo and Hotmail accounts! Also camera won't auto focus. Rectangular frame remained white most of the time. So pics sucked bigtime in quality. Aiyah, Nokia stressing me out. I swear that this will be my last Nokia phone, man!
sorry to hear that... is that ori or AP set?
mbek
post Jan 4 2010, 03:45 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(drake88 @ Jan 4 2010, 03:43 PM)
so far nobody encounter bad quality call?

meaning to say the another person cannot listen properly.. n kinda laggy
not for me ...so far... everything goes fine...
mbek
post Jan 6 2010, 04:27 PM

54 posts

nexus one..... USD529 =~ RM1812

i need this android ...... how much the price in s'pore????
mbek
post Jan 10 2010, 12:28 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(desmand @ Jan 9 2010, 02:50 AM)
Just installed the *ahem* version of Ovi Maps, works great.
Gonna use it to replace the Garmin.
QUOTE(dimpleeee @ Jan 10 2010, 12:13 AM)
erm i found some websites which i can sign the apps but it failed..erm mind tell me the site or any cert signer to intro? O.O thanks~~~~~ sad.gif  sad.gif
may be this will help u..

http://www.symbian-guru.com/welcome/2009/0...plications.html

**thanxs desmand for the info & link... will test it 2morro... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by mbek: Jan 10 2010, 12:29 AM
mbek
post Jan 10 2010, 12:35 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(miow @ Jan 10 2010, 12:33 AM)
im new user, is that unsigned software?
yup... u need to self signed

Added on January 10, 2010, 12:37 am
QUOTE(dimpleeee @ Jan 10 2010, 12:33 AM)
thanks! ..one more thing...E72 is pre-fp1 or fp1 or fp2?
i just get the fp1... heheheehehe

This post has been edited by mbek: Jan 10 2010, 12:37 AM

0.0648sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:06 PM