NOKIA E72 v1, The Worthy Successor to E71!!

limtayar
post Oct 8 2009, 12:15 PM

25 posts

Taken from the news release;

Nokia E72 Out now for pre-orders | £359

I've also checked the currency rate @ Bank Negara as at 7th October it is 5.4529

So lets do some math here.

£359 x 5.4529 = 1957.5911 doh.gif

It is roughly going to be RM 1958, and this price excludes tax, mark-ups etc.
Which I suspect the price is going to be <RM 2300 , most probably.

Let us all E72-lovers, keep our fingers crossed that the price wouldnt be as much as that.

Since reviews had also mentioned that this phone can be classified as the BlackBerry killer, I doubt that the price should be lesser than RM2k.

Somehow, dont put our hopes high just quite yet while we pray.
limtayar
post Oct 8 2009, 02:21 PM

25 posts

I also have the same thought just like u, as well as many others here.

Just that when I saw the pre-order price for the Nokia E72, I wouldnt wanna assume that the price would be around RM1600-1800 like E71 when it was first launched here in Malaysia. I wouldn't wanna be upset upon knowing, later, that the price for E72 is more than 1600-1800.

To play on the safe side, lets just take a higher value. If it is cheap, then we all untung lah. If it is around 2k++, then it is still around our budget & assumptions.

Shall we take it like that, if this phone is similar to this phone, lets hope for the N900 to be as the same price as N97, since there are not much differences between these 2 phones according to the specs.

Somehow, theres always something special for each Nokia phone.

Fingers crossed brothers, fingers crossed.
limtayar
post Oct 8 2009, 03:11 PM

25 posts

However,

There is also a good news.

The Nokia E72 are also available for pre-orders in the US (saw it on Amazon)

With the selling price of USD 469.

And the current rate as at Oct 8 according to Bank Negara,

Again, lets do the math.

USD 469 x 3.392 = RM 1590.848 (excluding tax,mark-ups,blabla)

With the downfall of the USD currency, (as we are aware, reported news had also said that the USD might be facing a major downfall for the upcoming weeks)

So, after few weeks crossing our fingers, let give them a rest for a while shall we. thumbup.gif

The dream of seeing the <RM2k price for an E72 becoming a reality is getting higher and higher.

Theres at least something for us to cheer about as for now.

Karam Singh Walia melaporkan doh.gif
limtayar
post Oct 9 2009, 11:06 AM

25 posts

Still no news for us in Malaysia
limtayar
post Oct 11 2009, 01:23 AM

25 posts

Aiyo if 3-4 times higher the price should be around RM6-7k, i might just end up buying the E71 + gold plated housing la like that.

Or might as well i buy a ticket for myself to the States, and get the phone at the quoted USD price, still gonna be cheaper than 4xRM1800.

Plus, as far as I know, during my boring economics subject in school last time, every international tradings goods oso uses the USD mahh, if wrong then I must I be sleeping la each time.

Gold plated E71 wah liao like that oso Sultan Brunei for sure will eat his heart out tongue.gif

limtayar
post Oct 13 2009, 08:20 AM

25 posts

Nokia has a really bad waiting game.

I suspect that the E72 will only be available to us somewhere in December.

And most probably the color available will only be in Zodium Black, am hoping for the Topaz Brown to be made available as well.

Hopefully it is worth the wait though.

Can't wait to get a first look at the phone especially the trackpad, read some negative comments bout it, aint sure whether it was true or not.
limtayar
post Oct 13 2009, 02:20 PM

25 posts

"I guess both colours will come. If it is only 1 colour that will be pretty sad dont u think" < Yea I have to agree with you.

But the possibilities of it to be only made available in Zodium Black are quite high though. Just like the previous E71, we couldn't find the Red ones being sold at Nokia also.

Regarding whether to choose AP or Zitron sets, for me, personally (i dont know others here), I don't mind paying extra 100bucks or 2, for Zitron sets.

We need to bear in mind that this is a new phone, and no one has ever reviewed about its compatibilities and reliabilities.

Im saying all these because, 2 of my friends who were unlucky they had some problems with their E71 sets (1 was Zitron, the other 1 was AP), so Mr. AP went to the store again just to find out that he had some troubles with the motherboard something2 (as claimed by the shop), had to replace it for few hundreds bucks. While Mr. Zitron went to Nokia and had it replaced for FREE.

I am too afraid of this kind of problem and dare not to take the risks.

"got the news rm1600 for ap set" < Thanks for providing the info bud. Shall it be sold at this amount, I suspect that the Zitron sets will be sold around 1700-1800. Hopefully.

Added on October 13, 2009, 2:54 pmIn the UK, the E72's release date is expected to be on the 23rd of Nov.

Got this info on www.expansys.com

If only Captain Jack Sparrow does exist and is a Malaysian, wish that he could hijack the ships and bring these phones to our markets. rclxms.gif

Bad bad bad waiting game played by NOKIA.

Guess that NOKIA means = No One Knows Its Arrivals rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by limtayar: Oct 13 2009, 02:54 PM
limtayar
post Oct 14 2009, 07:51 AM

25 posts

Hopefully the source didnt spot and got mistaken by a fake China E72

Added on October 14, 2009, 8:20 amJust be patient smile.gif

It will arrive here when it arrives.

It is like expecting your soon-to-be-borned baby.

You wouldnt want your wife to deliver a pre-mature baby.

Added on October 14, 2009, 4:01 pmReview on the optical touch pad:

Last but not least, I turned the Optical Navi Key on and decided to get used to it. After several minutes of browsing accompanied by trial and error I managed to get the hang out of it: I’ve set the sensitivity up to the highest level, dried my thumbs up, wiped the key with a piece of cloth, and attacked it. It’s so sensitive at times so you have to be careful not to go too fast and click on the wrong stuff. I’m still convinced that within the menu, this key is not that useful. You always aim for an icon and hit the other. But within the browser and after you really master it, you can pretty much get the same kinetic scrolling effect that you have on the N97. During the first use on the first day, I never managed to scroll fast on a web page. But it turns out the trick is to use your entire upper thumb just like sliding it on a fingerprint reader – from top to bottom – and not by only using the tip of your thumb. Once you do that, you can scroll really fast in all directions even diagonally! Just go crazy on it, swipe your thumb left and right, up and down, and you can even halt the fast scrolling by tapping it when needed.

IMO, just like other devices it's only a matter of getting used to the optical touch pad.

"You always aim for an icon and hit the other" - This somehow reminds me to my iPod, which is kinda annoying when it happens especially when you are in hurry.

This post has been edited by limtayar: Oct 14 2009, 04:01 PM
limtayar
post Oct 20 2009, 12:28 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(User61 @ Oct 20 2009, 05:35 AM)
Look forward to a December launch peeps. My hunch is November being the earliest. Why december? nokia.co.id told me so.

Been waiting for this phone since June, makes me wanna buy a non-Nokia to spite them. Huarghh.
Since June? Haha uve come a long way already. Just a lil more patience that is all it takes.

Hopefully the rumors of the e72 to be made available here in MY only in Jan 2010 arent true. Although the possibilities are there.

limtayar
post Oct 20 2009, 03:28 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(lhooipg @ Oct 20 2009, 02:50 PM)
How much will E72 cost?
Ranging from RM1600-1900 most probably (APs & Zitrons)

Btw, thanks Phoenix for the info. Hopefuly the NOKIA personnel gave the right info not another b.s

We need a specific date/month at least from NOKIA. Thats all.
limtayar
post Oct 20 2009, 03:55 PM

25 posts

And also, the color available will most probably be Zodium Black.

Aint sure whether other places might have the Topaz Brown and the other one I couldnt recall its color name.

Am eyeing for the Topaz Brown. But black also looks good.

What is the color u gentle lads here would prefer to choose if they are available in those 3 colors mentions?

Quick question: Does the E71 color, peel off by itself? I mean, for users with sweaty palms surely would jeopardise the color coatings. Anyone?

Added on October 20, 2009, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(teelim @ Oct 20 2009, 03:46 PM)
A few days back, I actually called Nokia (the 1800 number that is shown at the bottom of the Nokia advertisement in the newspaper) asking about the launch date of the E72 and a lady with a funny accent told me "sometime in the 3rd Quarter of the year". Then I told her, "Its the 4th Quarter now" and she kept quiet for about 2 seconds and then told me that she will check with her manager.  doh.gif

about 5 mins later, she said "sometime in November", but cannot confirm on the date or anything. So I really hope that she or her manager is right.  sweat.gif
Lets play on the safe side shall we. It will only be available in December.
Ok NOKIA, u win. NOKIA-1 Customers-0

It makes sense though, that NOKIA purposely delays the E72 launchings. Just to clear the E71s off the shelves for the new 72s to make way. By discontinuing and clearing them off, they can set a price for the 72s without any disturbance by the 71s in the market. While spreading speculations that the 72s' firmwares were unstable, bugs, blablayadayada. Pure PROPAGANDA.

Logically, 72 gets launched, 71 gets cheaper. For people who dont bother, they'd opt for 71 as what they are doing now.

The only problem was, the announcement@lie made by NOKIA regarding its launching date.

This post has been edited by limtayar: Oct 20 2009, 04:18 PM
limtayar
post Oct 21 2009, 08:11 AM

25 posts

Yeahhh 1Belgium babyhh!!
limtayar
post Oct 26 2009, 10:15 AM

25 posts

IMO, it wont go any higher than 2k.

MYR 1600-1900, certainly. Considering the long-wait and all tongue.gif

N-series are the ones which most probably gonna be more than >2k (N900,N97mini etc.)

E72, yet to be another rival in the BB's list for sure, although i am eyeing for a BB due to the bad waiting game played by NOKIA.

limtayar
post Nov 4 2009, 02:12 PM

25 posts

I've already used some of the allocated money to buy this E72.
Damn! doh.gif
limtayar
post Nov 5 2009, 09:21 AM

25 posts

Ah thats one great news at least! thumbup.gif
limtayar
post Nov 6 2009, 09:19 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Tsting @ Nov 6 2009, 11:18 AM)
Someone on another forum mentioned he already purchased an e72

Details:

"Yes I bought the E72 fr one of the boothes located at ground floor, Pertama Complex.
Take the main entrance fr Jln TAR & go straight to the phone selling booth located at the corner farthest fr the main entrance."

Can take a look if anyone is nearby
Yeap they are selling it for RM 1500.
They only have underwater sets.
Available only in Zodium Black.
No Zitrons obviously.
And if you are really interested of buying then only they would show u the phone.

And I suspect that the Zitron sets would cost us not more than <1700. Most probably.

limtayar
post Nov 10 2009, 10:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ijan80 @ Nov 10 2009, 10:37 AM)
probably silver is not for M'sia market....3 colors available are brown (nicer esp. for lady), black n grey (mine)....optical trackpad is good for surfing but need time to get familiar...battery life definitely better than e71...
Is it? I thought that the 72 uses the same battery as the 71 uses? The BP-4L batt right?

Logically, the battery life would be more or less like the E71's. Or is it not?
limtayar
post Nov 10 2009, 11:39 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ijan80 @ Nov 10 2009, 11:16 AM)
better than e71 in term of talk time and standby time...maybe because the latest processor....u can see the comparison here http://www.phonegg.com/compare/25/Nokia-E7...-Nokia-E72.html

thumbup.gif
Ahh alright. doh.gif
Thanks for the info.
limtayar
post Nov 10 2009, 12:56 PM

25 posts

Im wondering whether can i subscribe to the maxis internet mobile something2 (instead of searching for a WiFi service) so that i would get my emails being pushed to the 72 all the time like BB?

Because the monthly fees for BB and the maxis internet mobile are almost the same. cant remember the exact figure. (BB service for 5MB and Maxis Net for 500MB somethg2, the figures are almost the same if im not mistaken)

Can I do that? So lazy to go to maxis and ask, plus need to switch to postpaid right?
limtayar
post Nov 10 2009, 01:59 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Nov 10 2009, 01:02 PM)
u can subscribe to 3g unlimited plan and retrieve emails 24/7, but it will eat up your battery's life..compare to BB service which will push email (like SMS)
O ya lor.
That would be a major turn off right.
I aint sure whether the 72 can auto compress the emails&attachments to 2KB like BB or not.

Well, thanks for the info bro notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by limtayar: Nov 10 2009, 02:00 PM

0.0486sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:09 PM