NOKIA E72 v1, The Worthy Successor to E71!!

edwin74
post Nov 12 2009, 11:43 AM

148 posts

who bought at what lowest price so far? Avaxx or Zitron? Where?

planning to get one soon
edwin74
post Nov 12 2009, 02:10 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(limtayar @ Nov 12 2009, 02:06 PM)
It seems like now is not the right time to get the 72.

Reading some of the reviews here, there seem to be so many problems with the phone.

Hurmm... icon_question.gif
got bad reviews/problems meh...?

QUOTE(irony @ Nov 12 2009, 01:55 PM)
juz went to gardens yesterday nite, E72 is out retail price is 1670, was wondering if any1 can get cheaper?
wow!... i suppose this is the high end of the price... most e-sellers are selling at 1530-1560... but seriously looking for below 1500 price...
edwin74
post Nov 16 2009, 10:30 PM

148 posts

just got a silver e72.... software seems stable...

keys are fine ... trackpad needs getting usedto...

current main gripe... light leakage at front screen... darno... donno why didnt notice earlier...

DONNO if service centre will /can fix this... will wait for opportune time...

edwin74
post Nov 17 2009, 01:31 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Nov 17 2009, 01:17 PM)
but some users are reporting no problem with Garmin...
for the problematic garmin users... is it installed in the microSD card?

the ori microSD card? class 4 one?

ever tried it on a class 6 version?

what version of garmin? 5.00.50?

maps ok? latest maps?
edwin74
post Nov 17 2009, 03:11 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(User61 @ Nov 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
I would suspect more of the Garmin code being incompatible with FP2? The latest update of XT was a few months ago while the E72 was released about a week ago.
this is also highly possible also... since e52 suffers similar problems with garmin... and e52 is like hardware twins... (similar processor and software versions)
edwin74
post Nov 17 2009, 03:38 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(jackolantern @ Nov 17 2009, 03:36 PM)
only availabe colour rite now is black?
all the retail colors are available... silver, bronze, and black

go check the www.nokia.com.my site... all the colors are there....
edwin74
post Nov 17 2009, 07:47 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(michaelconan @ Nov 17 2009, 06:50 PM)
You should read at this website: S60 3rd edition Feature Pack 2
yep... THE place to read ...

e71/e66/e51 = s60v3 FP1
e72/e52 = s60v3 FP2
XM5800/N97 =s60v5

ALL are S60... symbian
edwin74
post Nov 20 2009, 01:02 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(User61 @ Nov 20 2009, 12:15 PM)
That sounds about right.
LOL... u put your ear next to it to hear it?
edwin74
post Nov 21 2009, 09:33 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Nov 20 2009, 08:22 PM)
any chance anyone got the word fade problem i mentioned?
if u mean the top line : on the same line like the signal and battery indicators..

i think its a software UI feature... not meant to show the full line of text... just to indicate what section you are in...
the corresponding text below it should say the same thing...

edwin74
post Nov 22 2009, 01:40 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Nov 22 2009, 12:30 PM)
zodium black, my personal opinion....
mind sharing wat yr best offer is...how come RRP is RM1670 but can get for RM1580..?
anyone can advise where to get a good case for E72 apart from the one in the box
i'm using grey....

but yeah... accessories for e72 is still scarce... still haven't found a decent screen protector yet a case...

the one given... is ok lah... will use till can find better...

edwin74
post Nov 22 2009, 05:19 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(User61 @ Nov 22 2009, 04:44 PM)
Martin Fields already have a special cut for E72 but it cost RM35+
Waiting for OtterBox to come out with a casing for E72. The one for E71 is awesome but that would rule out most if not all of the leather pouches made for it out there.
where to get martin fields? available now?

otterbox? can be bought in malaysia?
edwin74
post Nov 23 2009, 07:03 PM

148 posts

arghh... was under the illusion the garmin was working...

it worked when not navigating... but today it crashed and burn/hung... several times... when navigating... once the voice kept prompting correctly but the map didnt refresh... and the power saver time-out kept kicking in...

using garmin 5.0.5/ in microsd 8gb class 6. using latest malfreemap...
edwin74
post Nov 24 2009, 12:45 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(happie or sleepie? @ Nov 24 2009, 12:39 AM)
Anyone of your E72 spacebar malfunction? You can only use it after restart your handset.

Anyone?
it happened once when i was attached to comp via USB, and i multiple connect and disconnect... next thing i knew ... the keyboard space got stuck... but a system restart fixed it...

its a bug somewhere...

as noted... hopefully they will release new firmware to address all the loose ends...

feel like xm5800 again... last time when i first got... got to wait for firmware to address problems...
edwin74
post Nov 25 2009, 02:51 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Nov 25 2009, 12:18 PM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_e72-reviews-2831p7.php

> In reply to faleh @ 2009-11-22 12:05 from 0CpU
warning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
asia model of nokia e72 has 192 mgh processor, others models has 600 mhz processor speed!!!
check the cpu speed before you buy an e72!!!!
e72 with 600 mhz processor is amazing!
this is from a commenter... LOL... how can they only make asian models have 192MhZ cpu...

it's more likely the e72 slightly buggy firmware gives a bad reading for the benchmark software...

it's definately the current buggy e72 firmware...
edwin74
post Dec 3 2009, 04:22 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(teelim @ Dec 3 2009, 04:08 PM)
for me it did.
as far as the changelog note on 5.05.06 ... they were all for the xm5800 (s60v5) no changes for s60v3 fp2. So i dont think any garmin update will do anything yet...

0.0503sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:33 PM