125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

The Razer Thread V8

igor87
post Jun 17 2009, 12:56 AM

586 posts

Both the Mambas I've used had no protruding battery covers. They were both fine, no draggy feeling at all. Must have been a unit specific problem (with Everdying's review unit), not a design flaw.

All newer Mambas come with the Teflon O-ring, so there shouldn't be any chatter of sensor dragging along the pad anymore. I've heard that the teflon rings do wear out easily. But for me I've received 2 extra O-rings from Razer (one from the US, one from Singapore), so that's not a problem. BTW I only requested for 1, the fact that they sent 2 is a mystery even to me.

I'm mostly using it at 2000DPI, I don't get any jittering cursors at all. Depends on how you hold it, and the surface you use it on I guess. Whatever it is, I have no regrets buying it. Best mouse I've owned.

This post has been edited by igor87: Jun 17 2009, 12:57 AM
H3LLKEEPER
post Jun 17 2009, 04:12 AM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

of cuz the best mouse la igot it cost 400+bucks,how can it not be a best mouse(until the next one shows up)
@everdying,how you get samples for you to do review just curious hmm.gif
TSEverdying
post Jun 17 2009, 10:39 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 17 2009, 12:56 AM)
Both the Mambas I've used had no protruding battery covers. They were both fine, no draggy feeling at all. Must have been a unit specific problem (with Everdying's review unit), not a design flaw.

All newer Mambas come with the Teflon O-ring, so there shouldn't be any chatter of sensor dragging along the pad anymore. I've heard that the teflon rings do wear out easily. But for me I've received 2 extra O-rings from Razer (one from the US, one from Singapore), so that's not a problem. BTW I only requested for 1, the fact that they sent 2 is a mystery even to me.

I'm mostly using it at 2000DPI, I don't get any jittering cursors at all. Depends on how you hold it, and the surface you use it on I guess. Whatever it is, I have no regrets buying it. Best mouse I've owned.
try to take a closer look at your battery cover in good light.
i can clearly see the corner edges of the battery cover hardly like 0.5mm higher.
if on a hard pad u dont really feel the drag caused, but go on a cloth pad then its noticeable.
i could probably try to bend it in, but better still if they could recess it like how the top part of the battery cover is like.
which makes me wonder why they didnt.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 17 2009, 10:51 AM
igor87
post Jun 17 2009, 11:56 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 17 2009, 10:39 AM)
try to take a closer look at your battery cover in good light.
i can clearly see the corner edges of the battery cover hardly like 0.5mm higher.
if on a hard pad u dont really feel the drag caused, but go on a cloth pad then its noticeable.
i could probably try to bend it in, but better still if they could recess it like how the top part of the battery cover is like.
which makes me wonder why they didnt.
Looked at it again, the bottom part of the battery cover on my unit sits completely flush with the bottom surface of the mouse. And I've tried it on my Goliathus Control Ed, no extra drag.
They shaped the battery cover with that slanted recess so that it could be placed and removed from its pedestal dock with ease.

BTW @ Everdying does your review unit have any French words on the packaging and manual/guide? Because mine does, and I distinctly remember my first unit didn't.
TSEverdying
post Jun 17 2009, 12:12 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 17 2009, 11:56 AM)
Looked at it again, the bottom part of the battery cover on my unit sits completely flush with the bottom surface of the mouse. And I've tried it on my Goliathus Control Ed, no extra drag.
They shaped the battery cover with that slanted recess so that it could be placed and removed from its pedestal dock with ease.

BTW @ Everdying does your review unit have any French words on the packaging and manual/guide? Because mine does, and I distinctly remember my first unit didn't.
yes i obviously know the recess edge is so it can sit in the dock.
what i said was to recess to lower edge also.

i guess a picture is easier to see.

the circled area pops up just a little bit, same on the other side.
thats where i feel the slight drag from.
so meaning the battery cover isnt exactly flat, and can be easily solved by either using stronger material or recessing the whole lower edge by a little or by having thicker mouse feet.
and yes it has stupid language manuals too.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 17 2009, 12:13 PM
igor87
post Jun 17 2009, 12:35 PM

586 posts

Yeah I got what you mean the first time.
My Mamba has no such problems though. Even when I run my finger up through the bottom edges of the battery cover, I don't feel any indentation.

They must have though of this problem when designing it. If they were to recess the bottom half too, it would be just a little harder to remove from the dock, as it would have to be moved vertically up first (clearing the bottom recess), before you can pull it towards you in a natural manner. And they obviously thought that their manufacturing methods were capable of meeting the required dimensional tolerances. I guess one or two specimens didn't.

This post has been edited by igor87: Jun 17 2009, 12:41 PM
TSEverdying
post Jun 17 2009, 12:45 PM

30,730 posts

if u actually see properly, the dock clearly goes past the bottom of the battery cover.
so any bottom recess wont make any difference cept for smoothness of mouse.
or perhaps your tolerance of feel isnt that great.

and pls dont tell me about their manufacturing tolerances etc.
fyi, even the mighty Death Adder had complains on drag issues, and in which razer issued extra feet.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jun 17 2009, 12:50 PM
blacktrix
post Jun 17 2009, 02:10 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

No new Mamba for me. Didn't need it. Hotel no WiFi, and was going to meetings so much, I hardly have time to game.
Now waiting for my flight back to KL in about an hours time.
SuBryN3
post Jun 17 2009, 03:01 PM

M o J o J o J o
1,216 posts

yo blacktrix bro, have a safe trip home...post ur razer gear in here la instead in razer facebook haha tongue.gif
MeToo
post Jun 17 2009, 03:03 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Jun 17 2009, 04:12 AM)
of cuz the best mouse la igot it cost 400+bucks,how can it not be a best mouse(until the next one shows up)
@everdying,how you get samples for you to do review just curious hmm.gif
Whoever claims most expensive have to be the best wor?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 17 2009, 12:45 PM)
and pls dont tell me about their manufacturing tolerances etc.
fyi, even the mighty Death Adder had complains on drag issues, and in which razer issued extra feet.
Bro, the DA comes with extra feet meh?! Or this was for the first few batches only?
espada90
post Jun 17 2009, 03:17 PM

566 posts

does it come with extra feet? my DA dun hav
H3LLKEEPER
post Jun 17 2009, 03:29 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

actualy u have tp buy that feet from everglide haha..
it does not come together mine dun even have sticker sad.gif
espada90
post Jun 17 2009, 03:44 PM

566 posts

lolz...i bought for my fren a salmosa...even tat hav a sticker..
mine was bulk packing so of course no sticker...XD
H3LLKEEPER
post Jun 17 2009, 03:52 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

mine is not bulk packing oso..haha becz my dad wont let me buy bulk packing becuz no warranty
micdy
post Jun 17 2009, 04:08 PM

406 posts

Lolz... I am a little bit disappointed that the Mamba's Razer Logo is not lighted like the DA... It would make it even nicer with the pulsating logo... wub.gif
H3LLKEEPER
post Jun 17 2009, 04:12 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

dude wanna trade my DA for your mamba???LOL!!!
hahahaha
micdy
post Jun 17 2009, 04:13 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Jun 17 2009, 04:12 PM)
dude wanna trade my DA for your mamba???LOL!!!
hahahaha
I ald got a DA and... No I dun have a Mamba... The price and the packaging are sickening... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by micdy: Jun 17 2009, 04:14 PM
H3LLKEEPER
post Jun 17 2009, 04:29 PM

Winning Is Everything!
4,532 posts

packaging is sickening oni cuz 20 USD can buy myself a mousepad or something insted a jewel case
choyster
post Jun 17 2009, 05:45 PM

1,802 posts

hey guys is the mic of the carcharias suppose to be loose? mine is like too loose till it wont stay in its place after i've adjusted it
Vincent_Lam
post Jun 17 2009, 05:46 PM

366 posts

Many people like to say its because of the Mamba's packaging that it costs so expensive...

it might be true, but i believe its more on the hardware on the mouse..

the jewel case is slightly overrated, but its still very nice

125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:35 AM