MAS - Suspension, Why do you think it get suspended?

t5t
post Mar 3 2011, 03:48 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(drunkvirus @ Mar 3 2011, 03:15 PM)
I'm kinda like  you! short term + 5-10%!
i've done it with MAS before, last Nov. went in at 1.95 n came out at 2.10 in 3 days...  drool.gif

and looking at its current price, its quite tempting... hoho...
for long term i think it's still a good bargain i suppose...  hmm.gif
I bought at RM2 before the quarter report released last week... And now I am making paper loss...
^^"
Still hope it would rebound soon...
Anyway, the price would not fall sharply like Airasia but of course would not surge as much as Airasia too...
t5t
post Mar 4 2011, 07:15 PM

905 posts

This counter doesn't move much... But even if it falls, it won't fall alot too...
Not like Airasia... But of course when it surges, it won't surge as much as Airasia does!
t5t
post Mar 10 2011, 06:28 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(drunkvirus @ Mar 10 2011, 03:39 PM)
wow~~ MAS rocketing~!!! ^^
Lol... Increased by 2 sen only... Rocketing?
But it is still better than drop...
^^
t5t
post Mar 17 2011, 04:52 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Mar 16 2011, 06:15 PM)
MAS nowadays cheaper than Airasia...lol.
Lol... Profit lower than Airasia, of course price must be lower also...
t5t
post May 17 2011, 10:12 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 17 2011, 01:03 PM)
The price had gone below the strong 1.80 support
I remember when MAS got listed in 1986 the IPO price was 1.80
The price dropped below that price before in 1998/9 in fact to around 1.00. and again in 2001
At the current price of 1.74 it is already a 10 year low.

Looking at the chart there is a possibility that it will breakup again soon.
But I will not touch it... not until it had move way above 1.80.
No doubt that AIRASIA is doing much better. ( HOLD/SELL)
Hi rosdi1,

Your breakup means it will go up or down?
Thanks...
t5t
post May 18 2011, 10:44 AM

905 posts

RM1.69 current low!
Is MAS going to be removed from the 30 blue chips determining KLCI?

rosdi1, any new comments on MAS?
t5t
post May 18 2011, 10:48 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 18 2011, 10:45 AM)
EPF disposing.. Runaway.. Will go down further to 1.5x range..
Because their financial report will not be something nice when released.
Yea...
I have feeling their financial report gonna be real bad this time!
Sigh...
MAS Airline so disappointing!
t5t
post May 24 2011, 05:34 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 24 2011, 02:41 PM)

Added on May 24, 2011, 2:43 pm

This is an ESOS scheme.. not just a direct allocation
I think it good for the CEO to get the ESOS so that he had to slot for it to get the reward....
If he couldn't move the price up he couldn't get anything and the EGM is also together with the AGM...

==========================================================================

Their price is now keep on sliding south.... vmad.gif  rclxub.gif
Is it a good time to enter now, rosdi1?
I think EPF is the one who keeps dumping and causing the price to decline sharply these days!
Any possibility for the price to surge again?
t5t
post May 24 2011, 06:53 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(mletee @ May 24 2011, 05:51 PM)
no more btm price for mas edi..any price can be MAS btm price..@@..i go in at 1.86 also got 20cents gap edi..just 2 months ago i think
I entered at RM1.85 and now planning to lower my average buy price...
But I don't know when EPF will stop dumping their shares...
I wana wait and see MAS quarter report first before deciding my next move...
Anyway, I don't think this company would go bust and am not looking for short term investment too...
t5t
post May 24 2011, 10:42 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 24 2011, 07:14 PM)
EPF had been dumping off shares from MAS, MISC, Maybulk..
These affected companies had then seen their share prices rolling down the road.

MISC had slipped around RM3.. MAS could seen a price range of 1.4x soon as per my prediction.

Added on May 24, 2011, 7:19 pm

MAS should be able to report a better profit if they are able to continue to maintain customer and increase sales at a stable level.
Amongst the very drastically action taken by MAS to cut cost is to restructure their outsourcing plan.

Previously, MAS outsourcing had been a pain in the neck for them, therefore eating up a lot of cost to maintain that outsourcing force. Since this year, MAS had restructured the outsourcing team, and had cut up more than 50% of cost, which will definitely help increase the profit margin.

Currently, we might not be able to see the effects yet, but in a long run, profits should be going good again should things work out correctly.
Thanks Bone for your information.
If the price continue to fall, I will buy to lower my average buy price.
But I just hope it will stop soon and go back up!
t5t
post May 25 2011, 09:54 AM

905 posts

RM1.63...
It seems like going up~
t5t
post May 26 2011, 02:13 AM

905 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD [] (MAS) posted net loss of RM242.34 million in the first quarter ended March 31, 2011 versus net profit of RM310.04 million a year ago due to higher operating expenses mainly due to the increase in fuel costs while other operating income declined.

The national carrier said on Wednesday, May 25 that revenue was RM3.19 billion compared with RM3.30 billion a year ago. Loss per share was 7.25 sen compared with earnings per share of 10.64 sen.

“The group recorded a loss after tax of RM241.7 million (quarter ended March 31, 2010: RM310.6 million profit) after including amongst others, derivative gain of RM64.6 million (quarter ended March 31, 2010: RM56.7 million gain),” it said.

MAS said the group recorded an operating loss for the quarter of RM267.4 million compared to an operating profit of RM137.3 million in 4QFY10 due to higher operating expenses mainly from the increase in fuel cost.

The group recorded a loss after tax of RM241.7 million after including amongst others, derivative gain of RM64.6 million for the quarter as compared to profit after tax of RM226.4 million in previous quarter.

“The 2011 operating profit target for the group is RM300 million to RM600 million. The on time performance target for the company is 84.7% to 87.0%,” it said.

Source: http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business/18...234m-in-1q.html

Added on May 26, 2011, 2:44 amPETALING JAYA: Malaysian Airline System Bhd (MAS) has reaffirmed its operating profit target of RM300 million to RM600 million this year, despite having posted nearly RM250 million net loss in the first quarter.

This reversed a net profit of RM310 million a year ago.

"For sure, high fuel costs have made it much difficult to hit those targets. I must say our targets are not forecasts. The philosophy of targets is that once we set them, we don't change them," MAS group managing director and chief executive officer Tengku Datuk Seri Azmil Zahruddin said.

Tengku Azmil attributed the RM242.34 million net loss in the three months ended March 2011 to rising fuel costs and a stronger ringgit.

Group revenue rose 10 per cent due to a sharp jump in premium-class business, but this was outstripped by a 32 per cent year-on-year surge in fuel costs to RM321 million.

In a media briefing here yesterday, Tengku Azmil said: "Jet fuel prices jumped 42 per cent to US$142 (RM434.52) per barrel from US$96 (RM293.76) per barrel a year ago."

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has warned high oil prices would cut the industry profits by nearly half this year despite the growth in air travel with the economic recovery.

IATA downgraded its industry profit outlook this year to US$8.6 billion (RM26.32 billion) from US$9.1 billion (RM27.85 billion) estimated earlier in December 2010.

"Our overseas business had been hit by a stronger ringgit, which made services more expensive for clients in the US and Europe," Tengku Azmil said.

"We will adapt our strategies to ensure that the targets are met to our best ability, given the tough operating environment we're in."

MAS will remain focused on growth strategies, including updating aircraft and attracting more customers through better services and marke-ting.

It has so far ordered 35 Boeing 737-800, 15 Airbus A330-300 and six Airbus A380-800. Of these, three B737-800s were received in 2010.

Delivery of the A330-300 began last month.

Both the B737-800 and the A330-300 aircraft will serve the growing markets of South Asia, China, North Asia and Australia.

Read more: MAS targets up to RM600m profit despite Q1 loss http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../#ixzz1NOJVGOJa

This post has been edited by t5t: May 26 2011, 02:44 AM
t5t
post May 26 2011, 06:26 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ May 26 2011, 06:01 AM)
Personally, I think MAS is a good counter. At price RM 1.XX is definately worth to collect. Sigh! EPF not need to react so much by dumping like no tommorrow!
Yes... I feel for long term investment should be alright! But EPF dumping is really sickening to this counter!
t5t
post May 26 2011, 09:21 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 26 2011, 08:50 AM)
Look like the strong support is around 1.00.  I hope it will start to reverse at 1.50.
Hmm... It seems like they are trying to maintain the price around RM1.60...
Just don't know who they are...
t5t
post May 27 2011, 09:14 AM

905 posts

Analysts downgrade Malaysia Airlines

OSK Research said MAS's core net loss of RM306.9mil was far worse than its and consensus earnings estimates of RM231mil and RM295mil net profit respectively.

“The airline faces a tough challenge in the form of poor load factors, negative yield growth and higher jet fuel costs.

“We downgrade our earnings to a core net loss of RM94.2mil as we cut capacity on the back of a worse-than-expected blow from soaring jet fuel price. We downgrade its fair value to RM1.10 with our sell' call maintained,” it said.

Source: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...19&sec=business

Most analysts gave "sell" call!
The price going down like crazy already!

By the way, any pro can explain to me the difference between "Profit/(loss) for the period" and "Profit/(loss) attributable to ordinary equity holders of the parent"?

Thank you!

This post has been edited by t5t: May 27 2011, 09:16 AM
t5t
post May 29 2011, 07:10 PM

905 posts

MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BERHAD

Observation from Chart:

Downtrend stock, forming lower high & lower low.

Since Feb 2011, MACD retrace down to negative region.

Unfortunately, RM1.80 support level unable sustain. It further break down the support.

From stochastics %K indicator, MAS definitely at oversold stage, technical rebound will be in place soon.

Let watch closely...

Source: http://stocktalk-quah.blogspot.com/2011/05...1-mas-3786.html
t5t
post May 30 2011, 07:01 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 30 2011, 05:06 PM)
At the close it is still the big brother that is selling and our petty brothers are picking it up... don't look that good still..
I am moving my target down still to 1.25... look like chasing Mirage here... but there must be Oasis somewhere.
Bro rosdi1 planning to enter also?
t5t
post May 31 2011, 09:13 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 31 2011, 09:09 AM)
Today up on technical rebound.. 1.39
Huge Sell Queue at RM1.40~
t5t
post May 31 2011, 09:19 AM

905 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 31 2011, 09:18 AM)
Expect it to go red on 2nd session again..
If KLCI very green and most counters green, then i doubt MAS will end up red~

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:23 amThe next support at RM1.30 & if that failed, the stock may test its all-time low at RM1.00.

Source: http://nexttrade.blogspot.com/2011/05/mas-bites-dust.html

This post has been edited by t5t: May 31 2011, 09:23 AM
t5t
post Jun 1 2011, 08:31 PM

905 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Jun 1 2011, 07:22 PM)
Not hust a bit it had move 5% up.
Yea... rosdi1 enter already?
Tomorrow up again?